Friday, February 24, 2017

Friday Reads: 2/24/2017

11:56:00 AM

FRIDAY READS: 2/24/2017

      So I've actually read quite a bit this week because I didn't go to research and I didn't do that much school-wise. It was sooo nice having time to myself. Anyway, I'm not going to talk about what I read this week, but rather what I am reading today and this weekend.

Image result for around the way girl a memoir

     Today I finished listening to "Around the Way Girl" by Taraji P. Henson on audiobook. It was good but not great. I really appreciated how she talked about her struggles being a black woman not just in the film industry but in life in general. There were some things that I felt like could have been left out, but overall I enjoyed it and her personality.

Image result for king's cage

      Today I plan on finishing "King's Cage" by Victoria Aveyard too, but we'll see if that happens. I do not like this book. I do not like this series. Unhonestly. I only liked the first book. Everything since then has been downhill. I honestly don't know why I'm still reading this damn series. I guess because a part of me still wants to see what happens, but damnnit this shit is annoying af and like I don't care for like 90% of the shit going on. 



      So what are you guys reading today and this weekend? Have you read either of the books I talked about? If so, what are your thoughts? Does the Red Queen series annoy you as much as it does me? Tell me all about it down below in the comments. 

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Black Girl Love: "Everything, Everything" Movie Trailer Reaction Post

9:30:00 AM

"EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING" MOVIE TRAILER REACTION POST

      So yesterday (Tuesday) I was just minding my own business, scrolling through Twitter, when I saw Nicola Yoon had retweeted the first trailer for "Everything, Everything". I immediately stopped what I was doing to watch the trailer, which if you haven't watched it WATCH IT NOW DOWN BELOWWW. LIKE NOOOWWWWW. WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE WATCH IT!!!



      I'll be the first to admit, I was not the biggest fan of the book as I had a lot of issues with it, which you can read about here. Nevertheless, I still thought the book was cute and I really enjoyed the fact that the main character was a multicultural black girl like myself. 



      That being said I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE TRAILER!!! It gave me so much life and all the feels and oh my gosh I watched it three times in a row yesterdaay and twice today because I just cannot get enough of it. I don't know what it is about it, but it just makes me feel so good and happy inside and I love Amandla Stenberg as Mandy. Although physically she is not exactly what I pictured, she is perfect for the role. I love how she is portraying this character and just seeing a black girl up on the big screen like this fills me with so much joy.



      As for Olly, I'll admit, I wasn't really a fan of him in the book as he was highly unrealistic, but damn in this movie form he is actually pretty damn swoonworthy. I like Nick Robinson as Olly because they way he is portraying the character really makes him seem like he truly loves Mandy. Like hot damn, the way he smiles at Amandla has me feeling all kinds of joy.



      I guess the reason why I really love this trailer and why I think I will love the movie more than the book is just how us black girls are finally being represented and in such a good, happy-feeling light. It isn't often that we get casted in such contemporary roles like this one. When Olly tells Mandy that she is beautiful in the trailer, my heart just swelled because that is not something that gets said a lot towards black girls. I really hope this will make more black girls feel worthy and show that they are capable of being loved. 



      That's all I've got to say without going off to the point of writing a full-blown thesis. I'm probably going to go watch this trailer again even though I should be studing for a biology exam.



      What did you guys think of the trailer? Did you love it as much as I did? Will you go see the movie? And have you read the book before? If yes, did you like it, and do you think you'll like the movie more? Tell me all your thoughts and fangirl out with me down below in the comments. 

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Quick Lil' "Wintersong" by S. Jae-Jones Review

9:30:00 AM

24763621

Book: Wintersong

Author: S. Jae-Jones

Publisher: St. Griffins Teen

Release Date: February 7, 2017

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell.

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

      This is going to be a really quick lil' review because I honestly don't have a lot to say because I'm not entirely sure how I feel about this book.



      Let me start off by saying this is one of the most unique books I've read in a while, which I appreciated. That being said, this book was weird af and I didn't understand half the shit going on in it. It was very... weird. Yeah, weird. I didn't particularly connect with any of the characters and the romance was just really unhealthy and creepy to me and made no sense. Like seriously this girl goes from taking her sister's place and thinking of the Goblin King in a negative light to constantly wanting to have sex with him and be the apple of his eye. She becomes quite needy and their whole dynamic is just off to me.



      As a violinist, I kind of appreciated the music aspect that was stitched throughout the entire novel, but it just seemed overexcessive at times and even though I know music, I feel like those who aren't musically talented wouldn't understand the terms and language being used.



      Damn this more than I thought I had to say... So overall, I thought it was alright, but it didn't blow me away. It left me with a weird feeling.


Monday, February 6, 2017

I Got a Book + Swag

3:11:00 PM

      I'm going to keep this really brief since for the first time in forever I have time to take a nap. Quirk Books was kind enough to send me a copy of "Geekerella" and a matching candle! I want to thank them for the cool swag and book. You can see what the stuff looks like down below and watch a hella quick video of me explaining what the book is about.






Friday, February 3, 2017

FRIDAY READS: 2/3/2017

9:00:00 AM

FRIDAY READS: 2/3/2017

      It's 6:45 am EST and I have to go to work, but I wanted to make a post really quickly, so let's get this over with.

13054604

      I'm currently reading "The Secret History" by Donna Tartt, and even though I'm only 42 pages in, it's really interesting. It's unlike anything I've ever read. I love the messages the book is sending, the philosophy discussed, and I'm a sucker for Greek and Roman history, so I love when the characters get into this stuff, even though I don't know half of the shit they are talking about. I fele like I'm learning from this book. At the same time, I can't wait to see what actually happens because the book opens with a murder in the future, so like of course I want to know how they ended up in that situation.



      What are you guys reading? Tell me down below in the comments.

Thursday, February 2, 2017

JANUARY 2017 WRAP UP

9:00:00 AM

JANUARY 2017 WRAP UP

      I don't have a lot of time to write this because there are a slew of other things I should be doing right now, but Imma make this quick. This year did not start off great reading-wise. I am hella busy with school, research, my job, extracurriculars, etc. so I don't get a lot of reading done. Now don't get me wrong, I read like 30 minutes every night before I go to sleep, but that's not enough time to really make a dent through anything. Also I didn't listen to any audiobooks this month because I needed a break. So without further ado, the 3 books I read this month.

23168821  25613472  24763621

      None of these books blew me away. "Wintersong" was okay, but like I'm still trying to decide whether or not I liked it or not because it was a weird book. Like hella weird, unlike anything I've ever read before, which I guess it's a good thing that it is unique and it was truly in a world of its own, but like still, IDK what to think at this point. The other two books... yeah, no, just no. 



      How was January for you guys? Hopefully you had a much more successful month than I did.

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random