Friday, June 23, 2017

Friday Reads: 6/23/2017

7:29:00 PM

FRIDAY READS: 6/23/2017

      So I haven't been reading these past two weeks because I have been incredibly busy despite it being summer. My research is really picking up and the project is starting to get into full gear, so I have no time to read at work like I used to. What little time I do have at work I've been using to study for the MCAT. Even though I'm not taking it until January, it's better to start prepping sooner rather than later, especially since it is 7.5 HOURS LONG AND OVER LIKE 8 TOPICS!!! So by the time I get home from work, I am wrecked and just do not have the mental capacity or drive to read.


30658022

      I've decided to give reading a go today. I'm picking up "Always and Forever, Laura Jean", the third book in the "To All the Boys I've Loved Before" trilogy (series? who knows at this point because it was only supposed to be a duology". I loved the first book when I initially read it, though if I were to read it at this stage in my life I probably would not like it nearly as much. I was not that much of a fan of the second book, which you can read my review here if you want to know my thoughts on it. Honestly, I don't think I will be much of a fan of this third book either, but I need some light contemporary to fill my summer days and lift my daunting future off my shoulders.


What are you guys reading this weekend? Have you read any of the "To All the Boys I've Loved Before" books, specically the third book? If so, what were your thoughts? Tell me down below in the comments!

Sunday, June 18, 2017

I Need Some Time to Think/Changes on the Way

2:28:00 PM
   
 

    Hey you guys. So I wanted to make a quick post explaining my absence and my future hiatus. Right now I am at a point in my life where I am deciding where to put my time and effort into things. The things I once loved I don't love as much anymore and things I didn't know I would love I now love. I'm also at a point in my schooling where I really have to put my energy into looking towards the future.


      Now what does that have to do with this blog? I started off this blog as a purely book blog, a place where I could discuss my thoughts on books and bookish things because at the time I started this blog, books were almost all I had and encompassed a huge part of my life. I have now progressed through my life, and while I still love books, they are not as big as a love as they used to be. So, this summer I'm going to be rethinking this blog and what I want it to be. I will of course still talk about books because books are something that will never go away in my life, but I want to be able to discuss other things like movies, tv shows, pop culture, and general stuff going on in my life.



      I want to thank everyone who has stuck with me so far. You are part of the reason why I haven't just fully given up on this blog. I hope that you will continue to stick with me as I discover my new niche on this blog. If you aren't here for that, that's completely okay. I thank you for your time and I wish you nothing but the best in your blogish endavours.

Sunday, June 11, 2017

GlassesShop.com: Glasses Review and Promo Code

12:16:00 PM

      Hey you guys! So this post isn't within the normal stuff I usually post, but I just had to share this with you guys. 

     I was contacted by a representative from GlassesShop.com, an eyeglasses online shop about receiving and reviewing a free pair of eyeglasses. I was a little hesitant because a) I already have glasses, b) I'm not a fashion blog nor do I have a sense of style, and c) I didn't see the connection to my book blog. But then I realized, that most of you readers probably have prescription eyeglasses or use some sort of reading glasses. And even if you don't, you might be like me and want some sunglasses to read outside with during these nice summer months. So I asked them about sending me some prescription sunglasses and they sent them with no sweat! I just had to give them my prescription and pupillary distance. Above is a picture of me wearing the prescription sunglasses and below are some more pictures.



      I love these sunglasses! You guys have no idea how long it has been since I have worn sunglasses since I have prescription eyeglasses that I usually wear. These aren't too dark and I love the style. I was a little hesitant getting these because I usually like thicker frames, but I'm really happy with these. The great thing about GlassesShop.com is that they have a ton of styles to choose from, multitudes of different lens types, a cool tool you can use to see how the glasses might look on you, and your glasses come with a free case and cleaning cloth!

      As a gift to you guys, I have a code to share with you guys for you to get 50% off eyeglasses or sunglasses with free lens (sale frames excluded)! That code is GSHOT50. And even more exciting, is GlassesShop.com offers one free pair of glasses per customer and prescription for those getting their first pair with code FIRSTFREE!


      So whether you are in need of some new prescription eyeglasses, want to give prescription sunglasses a try like me, need reading glasses because of all the summer reading you're about to do, or just want some nice looking glasses to look great in your bookstagram pictures, GlassesShop.com has options for you. Their options are cheap and perfect for introverts like us who don't like going physically shopping.



Disclaimer: I was not paid to make this post. I only received a free pair of prescription sunglasses in exchange for an honest review and promotion of their website.

Friday, June 2, 2017

Friday Reads: 6/2/2017

7:44:00 PM

FRIDAY READS: 6/2/2017

      Looking back into my archives, the last time I did a Friday Reads was February 22nd or something like that. Am I surprised? No. Am I sorry? No. Good, now that we have that addressed, let's move on, shall we?



     So with my summer research internship, I've had a surprising amount of time to do reading which will be evident when I put up my May Wrap Up. So much reading, that I have surprised my reading goald of 50 books! Granted, most of what I read were single graphic novel issues, but damnit those count!



    This week (might have been the end of last week), I started "Into the Light" and it is quite the interesting read. For those of you who are unaware, my greatest bookish love before I was introducted to YA novels is mystery/thriller. I've been enjoying those since I was like eight. 

27309432


     "Into the Light" basically surrounds this cray cray religious cult set in Alaska with three POVs, one from a guy in the cult, another from a girl who has been abducted into the cult but has no memory so she doesn't know she is in the cult (also, did I mention the guy told her she is her husband and she just believed him with no further explanation or demand for photos??? Like, she's fucking this guy thinking he's her husband despite having no memories of him...), and finally our third POV is from a journal investigator in Detroit (which lol if the author thinks they are acurately portraying Detroit). 



     I'm quite enjoying this book. It is not without its faults, but it is so interesting. Like all I want to know is what is going to happen. Will Sara (the girl with no memories) gain her memories back and escape the cult? Why her? How is this cult functioning the way it is? I've got a lot of questions that need answers. 


     
     So what are you guys readin today or this weekend? Got any good recommendations? I've been so out of the bookish loop that I have no idea what's good that out or what the new releases are.

Monday, May 22, 2017

February, March, April 2017 Mini-Wrap Up

9:30:00 AM

FEBRUARY, MARCH, & APRIL 2017 MINI-WRAP UP

February
I read a lot of graphic novels in February, and all exclusively on February 16th, which was a Thursday. I have no idea why I read so many graphic novels that day or how I even had the time to do all that reading. I mut have skipped all of my classes that day...

33790316 34094240 33836740 34312582 30983255 31752495 32033450 32612120 32933014 29430742

I really do love the "Saga" and "Giant Days" series. If I had to pick one, I would probably say I love 'Giant Days" more though because I can relate to them so much as a college student and I just love their journies of self-discovery and friendship. I don't even really like the new Spider-Man series that much, so I'm not sure why I'm still reading it. I guess mainly because I feel compelled to see it through to the end. As for "Around the Way Girl", I listened to it on audiobook and thought it was alright. I love Taraji P. Henson, but her book was eh.

March
I didn't do a lot of reading at all in March. Like at all...

30724132 60931 34396913

I was sent an ARC of "Geekerella" for an honest review by Quirk Books and quite enjoyed it. It was a sweet, concise, contemporary read. As for "Kindred", the only reason I read that book was for class, and believe me when I say if I didn't have to read it for class, I would have DNFed that sucker one chapter in.

April

27431992

Yeah... So I only read one book in April and it was for my god-awful sociology class. I hated that class with a burning passion. However, I really enjoyed this book which I so did not expect since my professor was a quack. There were many insights and interesting stories in this book.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, that's how the last few months of reading have been for me. Hopefully you guys had more fruitful months of reading and enjoyed what you read. Real talk though, you should give "Giant Days" a chance.

Sunday, May 21, 2017

Mini "A Court of Wings and Ruin" Spoiler-Free Review

12:15:00 PM

23766634

Book: A Court of Wings and Ruin

Author: Sarah J. Maas

My Rating: ★★★ 3/4 (3.75 Stars)

Synopsis: Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places. 

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all. 

      I'm going to keep this review because a) I don't have that much I want to say and b) I'm still getting back into the swing of blogging.


     Overall, I really did like this book, but I will be the first to admit that it was not excellent, no where near the level of "A Court of Mist and Fury". Pretty sure the second book will always be my favorite in the series. That second book was just pure perfection to me.


     This book... I don't know, something just felt like it was lacking. It all felt rather rushed and wrapped together perfectly in a little bow by the end. The conflict was not nearly as big as I thought it would be. I think overall the plot was what was lacking for me. I did appreciate the action scenes though. Those battles were intense a.f.


     That being said, the characters definitely made this book. Feyre and Rhysand... my god I love them so much. Individually they are great characters, and together they are just perfection. They love each other so much and will do anything for each other and their people.


    I honestly don't know how I feel about the fact that this is the end of Feyre and Rhysand's stories (supposedly the rest of the series follows other characters). I've grown so attached to them, and while I do like the other characters, I don't feel like their story was fully flushed out because as I said earlier, I feel like it was rushed. Despite this, I will of course finish the series and am really interested to see who tells the rest of the stories. Almost all of the other main/close side characters, with the exception of Tamlin, grew on me and I like them a lot too, so I would be okay with reading their stories.


     Overall, I did really enjoy this book. I devoured it at lightning speed. The characters gave me so many feelings and I fell in love with them all over again. However, it definitely was not without it's flaws and did not live up to my expectations.

Saturday, May 20, 2017

So I've been M.I.A.... Reading and Life Update

2:48:00 PM
    
 So I've been M.I.A... Reading and Life Update

     *awkward lil' wave* Hey you guys. So it's been some time since I've written a post. Like I'm not even going to go look up when the last time I wrote a post was because I'm sure I won't like what I find. I've been hiatus as I kind of warned you guys, but it definitely lasted a lot longer than I intended. However, I'm not going to apologize or make up execuses. I needed it.


     This last semester of college was very taxing on my mental health. My anxiety and depression was probably the most intense it has ever been. And it was all due to one class. One stupid class. Amazing how everything else in your life can be amazing but one thing throws you a curveball and skews your entire perspective. That's what happened to me. Other things kind of added to this feeling, but it was definitely my organic chemistry class that was the cherry on the top.


      I didn't have the will to wake up and go to class or hang out with my friends, much less read or write on this blog. Exams have come and gone and those consumed me. They didn't go as I had planned, so that had me down in the dirt for a little while, so I decided to take a mental health break. I've been limiting my time on the Internet, especially social media, and I'm so glad I did. I needed that break.

Anyone watch the season 3 premiere of Rick and Morty? I love that show and can't wait for the rest of the season.

     Now I'm back and my mental health is improved. Still not great, but definitely a lot better. I realized that I shouldn't let one class make me feel like shit and I also remembered that as important as school is, it should not define you. Grades are not who you are, especially just one grade.


    I haven't fully gotten back into the swing of reading, but I'm making baby steps. I've read "A Court of Wings and Ruin", which I will have a spoiler-free review up soon. I loved it, but I will be the first to admit that it was not excellent, it was problematic, and definitely was not my favorite in the series.


     This past week I started my summer research internship. It's just a continuation of the research I've been doing this past year, but the job is full-time, so I'm working 40 hours a week. The great thing about my research is a lot of it is waiting around because there are certain experiments and processes that take time, so I've had plenty of time to read. During this time, I've really gotten into graphic novels. The two series I've been reading this past week are "Giant Days" and "Lumberjanes". I started "Giant Days" months ago and it is one of my favorite graphic novel series. "Lumberjanes" is new to me, but I already love it.


      I'm going to try to make more blog posts and read more this summer, but I make no promises. This summer is all about my mental health, and I refuse to force myself to do things that I know I will not enjoy or that do not benefit me. So as much as I love to read and write, I will be the first to admit there are times when I just can't pick up a book or write a blog post because I don't want to.


     If you're still reading this, thank you. I sincerely hope things are going better for you than they have been for me.


My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random