Friday, July 29, 2016

Friday Reads: 7/29/2

9:59:00 AM

FRIDAY READS: 7/29/2016

     These past couple of weeks have been great reading weeks for me. I haven't had school or summer programs or anything important, so I've actually been able to get some reading done which feels so good.



      This week alone I've been chugging through books. I went to my local library for the first time in forever to get physical books (usually I just get ebooks online from them). 

A photo posted by Sierra the Nerdgirl (@nerdgirlreview93) on

      I've already finished "Saga" volumes 1 & 2, and will definitely be finishing the third volume before the day is out. I plan on going back to my library next week to get the rest of the volumes.



      Besides that, I am also currently reading "Snow Like Ashes" for the Cover 2 Cover Book Club's July Book.



      I tried picking this up during the Booktubeathon, but it just wasn't cutting it for me, so I put it down and now I am picking it back up. At the time this post went up, I am about 25% in, and it still isn't really drawing me in. The writing style is eh and the worldbuilding could be interesting but I feel like the information we are getting is choppy and cluttered and not enough background. To be honest, I can't even tell you most of the characters' names or the names of different Providences because there is too much information just being nonchalantly thrown out. I'm hoping it will get better, but I'm not holding my breath.



What are you guys reading this weekend? Have you read Saga and/or Snow Like Ashes? If so, what are your thoughts?

Thursday, July 28, 2016

"More Happy Than Not" Review

10:00:00 AM

19542841

Book: More Happy Than Not

Author: Adam Silvera

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: In the months after his father's suicide, it's been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again--but he's still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he's slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely. 

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron's crew notices, and they're not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can't deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can't stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute's revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is. 

Why does happiness have to be so hard?


      I read this book for the "Make-Me-Read-It" Readathon after having it on my TBR list before it even came out. I decided to pick it up because I'm currently (or by the time this review is up, I will have read) "History is All You Left Me", also by Adam Silvera. "History is All You Left Me" blew me away so I thought the chances of "More Happy Than Not" would do that too.



      The first 2/3 of this book was really really rough. I found myself not really enjoying the book. I was bored, and quite honestly, the style of writing and characters were a put of for me. In general, I am not a fan of male POVs because I really can't identify with them. It's just strange reading them. And this was no exception, in fact it was worse. I have two brothers that are teens, so I'm well aware of how guys interact with one another, but with this book, it just felt unreal. The way the guys interacted was just so hyper-masculine. I realize this might have been done on purpose, but it just didn't sit well with me.



      The final 1/3, that's a completely different story. It's almost like the entire atmosphere of the book changed. I loved how much emotion there was and the twists that I didn't see coming. I really wish the rest of the book was like the last third.



      Aaron, our main character, well... what can I say?... He had issues and did a lot of self-projecting. It made me so sad that he found it really hard to accept who he is. He made it seem like who he was wasn't meant to be, and that saddened me. I also really hate how he let his friends treat him like shit and behave the way they did. He really needs new friends. I'm glad towards the end he started to sort things out, but I just wish he had realized he was only human sooner.


Monday, July 25, 2016

Why I DNFed "Since You've Been Gone"

10:00:00 AM

18189606

Book: Since You've Been Gone

Author: Morgan Matson

My Rating: DNFed

Synopsis: It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um... 

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane's list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait...what? 

      This is another one of those books that everyone and their mother loves but I was really hesitant to pick up because I didn't think it was quite for me. Young adult contemporary has to be especially good to draw me in and not annoy the hell out of me. I have to love the relationship and the characters. That just did not happen with this book.



      Nothing about this book made me want to keep reading it. I was not a fan of the main character. Despite our shared social anxiety, nothing about her really made me care about her, if that makes sense. She was...boring. And the main love interest, I didn't care for him either. Nothing made me want to ship them. While the whole idea of the list seemed interesting, it just fell flat for me.



      I wish I could have liked it enough to continue reading it, but I just didn't want to push myself through it.


Saturday, July 23, 2016

Friday, July 22, 2016

"The Raven Boys" Lil' Review

10:00:00 AM

17675462

Book: The Raven Boys

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Format: Audiobook

My Rating:  ★★★

Synopsis: Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can't entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn't believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she's not so sure anymore. 

      I don't really have much to say about this book to be honest. I'd been holding off reading this book forever because I wasn't sure how I would feel about it. To be honest, the main reason why I wouldn't pick up this book is because a girl I went to high school with whom I hated a lot loved this book, so I wanted nothing to do with it by association. I'd also read her other series "Shiver" and was not remotely a fan. However, my friend Temecka from Library of Tomes absolutely LOVES "The Raven Boys" with all of her heart. I decided it was time to give it a go.



      In all honesty, I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it. In reality I didn't really even like the book. I was just bored the entire time I read it. I didn't feel anything for any of the characters and the plot didn't even remotely captivate me. Overall, I was not impressed and will not be continuing the series.


Thursday, July 21, 2016

The Diverse Books Tag

10:00:00 AM
The Diverse Books Tag

This tag was created by Naz, who wants everyone to read more diverse books.
Naz also has a master list of these tags. Y'all should check it out because there are links to loads of awesome book-lists.

The Rules
1. Credit the original creator, Read Diverse Books.
2. The Diverse Books Tag is a bit like a scavenger hunt. I will task you to find a book that fits a specific criteria and you will have to show us a book you have read or want to read.
3. If you can't think of a book that fits the specific category, then I encourage you to go look for one. A quick Google search will provide you with many books that will fit the bill. (Also, Goodreads lists are your friends.) Find one you are genuinely interested in reading and move on to the next tag. 

 Everyone can do this tag, even people who don’t own or haven’t read any books that fit the descriptions below. So there’s no excuse! The purpose of the tag is to promote the kinds of books that may not get a lot of attention in the book blogging community. 

1. Find a book starring a lesbian character

9375
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

Now, I've never actually read the book, but I have seen the movie. 

2. Find a book with a Muslim protagonist

Ms. Marvel

Ever since I've heard about this book, I've wanted to read it. I haven't gotten around to it yet, but it's gonna happen.

3. Find a book set in Latin America

IndianaJonesAndTheSevenVeils.jpg
Indiana Jones and the Seven Veils

Once again, this is one of those things where I've watched some of the Indiana Jones movies, but I haven't read the books.

4. Find a book about a person with a disability

25014114
History is All You Left Met

This is about a boy with OCD. Now some people might not consider OCD a disability, but it is.

5. Find a sci-fi or fantasy book with a POC protagonist

27264155
Outsiders

This is a fantasy-ish book with a black female main character.

6. Find a book set in (or about) any country in Africa

199831
Hair Story

This book starts off in Africa and then progresses into the United States. I still haven't finished this book because I didn't bring it with me to my summer program and I haven't gotten around to picking it back up.

7. Find a book written by an Indigenous or Native author

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian 

This was my 8th grade history teacher's favorite book and I still haven't gotten around to reading it. I feel kinda ashamed that I haven't read it yet since it is about my people.

8. Find a book set in South Asia 

4214
Life of Pi

I almost read this book in 11th grade during high school, but my friend convinced me to watch "The Little Mermaid" with her instead, so I forgot about the book and haven't picked it up since then.

9. Find a book starring a transgender character or about transgender issues

18144031
Redefining Realness

I absolutely love Janet Mock and believe she is such a great voice for the transgender community so I really do need to pick up her book.


I tag:
Temecka @ Library of Tomes
Gealdine @Corraling Books






Wednesday, July 20, 2016

I Made a Thing for Booktubeathon

9:29:00 PM
So this is a little different, but for those of you who don't know, in addition to being a book blogger, I am also a booktuber. Currently, I am participating in booktubeathon, though I'm doing a rather shitty job at the moment. Anyway, I made this video that I quite like, and I'd thought I would share it with you all. Hope you like it!


Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Recent Additions to My Wishlist

10:00:00 AM

TOP 5 RECENT ADDITIONS TO MY WISHLIST

      So I might totally be interpreting this topic wrong, but I'm going to write this as the Top 5 most recent books that I have added to my TBR. Onwards!

5. Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

22297294

I played tennis in high school and I like tennis, so I kinda want to read this book not only because of the tennis aspect, but the contemporary. People have said this book is good, but my and young adult fight sometimes, especially contemporary young adult, so we shall see how this goes or if I even read this.

4. King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard

30226723

I really liked "Red Queen", but honestly, I was not a fan of "Glass Sword". It really dawned on my how much of a copycat this book was and I wasn't a fan of the direction the books was headed. However, I have become invested in the series, so I am compelled to read it.

3. Dark Descendant by Jenna Black

8562565

Honestly, I have no idea what this book is about, but a friend told me she liked it and it has Greek mythology, which I love, so we shall see how this goes.

2. The Nightmare Charade by Mindee Arnett

23168765

This is the third book in "The Nightmare Affair". I believe this is the last book in the trilogy, but I'm not sure. I enjoyed the other books, so I'm continuing the series.

1. The Upside of Unrequitted by Becky Albertalli

30653853

I have no idea what this book is about, but it looks good.

Monday, July 18, 2016

"Make-Me-Read-It" Readathon WRAP UP

10:00:00 AM

"MAKE-ME-READ-IT" READATHON WRAP UP

      Welp, I did a pretty shitty job of updating you guys on my reading after Day 2, but I'm not even remotely sorry. I totally forgot that I was supposed to be updating you all. I didn't stop reading though, so I'm pretty proud of myself for that.



     This readathon could have been a lot better, but it could have also been a lot worse. Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with the amount of reading I got done. Onwards to the wrap up!

17675462      18189606      19542841      25111004
                2.75 Stars                         DNFed                          3 Stars                            5 Stars

      I'm not going to go into details on what I thought, I'll leave that for my actual reviews and monthly wrap up, but I think it's clear that November 9 was my favorite and I was not a fan of Since You've Been Gone.

For those of you who participated in the readathon, how did you do? Hopefully a lot better than me.

Sunday, July 17, 2016

Cover 2 Cover Book Club

2:55:00 PM

COVER 2 COVER BOOK CLUB

      So if you guys have been reading my recent posts, you have heard me bring up the "Cover 2 Cover Book Club", but I have yet to officially inform you guys what it actually is. So that's exactly what this post is going to do.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What is it?



We're still working through the kinks, but basically this is a book club that covers just about any genre ranging from young adult to fantasy in which the members vote for what we read. (Gonna be honest, there will probably be a nice chunk of young adult, but that's not all we will read.) Our group is located on Goodreads, which you can find the link to it here. We will use Goodreads for chapter discussions, announcements, and polls.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Book Twitter Chats



We will be using Twitter as an outlet to discuss the books when we are all finished reading them. The hashtag is #cover2coverBC and the official twitter for our club is @Cover_2_CoverBC. Also be sure to follow me (@nerdgirl_review) and Temecka (@libraryoftomes) on Twitter so you can get updates and info from us.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Non-Book Specific Twitter Chats



In addition to having Twitter chats about the books we are reading, we will host Twitter chats that aren't particularly on specific books. We will talk about bookish things and get to know each other. Our goal is to have these twice a month on specific themes. We're still in the process of deciding a hashtag for this, so when we've decided I'll update this post and let you guys know.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
About Your Hosts

Temecka


Temecka's name is pronounced with a long e. She is just a girl with a love for the fictional world, and an unhealthy book buying problem. She is an avid reader, and has loved the written word for as long as she can remember. She's always loved reading the written word, and also writing it as well (kind of obvious isn't it since she is a blogger?). She writes for her school newspaper and is a freelancer with aspirations of becoming a writer some day at The New York Times.

----------------------------------------------
Sierra


About me...hmm... I'm always terrible at describing myself. Well, I am a college student majoring in Biology, Pre-Med. Despite being incredibly science oriented, I absolutely love reading and writing still, and am a writer for my school newspaper. In addition to becoming an orthopedic surgeon, I hope to also be involved in journalism and/or the publishing business because they truly are my passions as well. Uhm... I really love music and Netflix too. Tumblr's pretty lit too.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      If you have any questions about the book club, don't hesitate to contact me or Temecka. We are currently reading "Snow Like Ashes", so it would be great if you guys would join us!

Friday, July 15, 2016

Friday Reads: 7/15/2016

12:14:00 PM

   FRIDAY READS: 7/15/2016   

      I'm finally back home for the rest of the summer which means I can read more! Yay!!!



      My summer medical program is finally done so the summer is mine again. Now, I say I plan on reading more, but we shall see if that actually happens. For instance, I said I was going to read an entire book yesterday, but that didn't actually happen.



      I'm currently trying to tackle my "Make-Me-Read-It" Readathon TBR, and I am failing pretty miserably to be honest. Right now I am reading "More Happy Than Not" by Adam Silvera.

19542841
 
      Honestly, I'm not really enjoying this as much as I thought I would. I'm not really a fan of the characters and they way they interact is just really not natural to me. The entire situation just doesn't seem realistic, which I know it might not necessarily is supposed to be, but it's really tripping me up. I'm halfway done and I plan on finishing the rest today. Hopefully I like it. I'm definitely enjoying "History is All You Left Me" infinitely more than "More Happy Than Not" which I briefly put aside for this readathon.



     So what are you guys reading this weekend? Have you read "More Happy Than Not" before and if so, thoughts?

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random