Wednesday, March 30, 2016

GOOD CHANGES ON THE WAY

10:00:00 AM
So this isn't a bookish post or anything like that, but I thought I should tell you guys because it is important and will effect this blog in the near future. Drumroll please....



I AM CHANGING MY MAJOR!!! I know you guys are probably wondering why you should care, but it is important. I was a Biomedical Engineering, Pre-Med major, but now I am just Biology, Pre-Med. This decision was really hard to make, but ultimately, it was one I am happy I made.



Being an engineering major was killing me. There were classes I had to take that I could give two fucks about, I was stressing and depressed all the time, and most importantly, I wasn't happy. It took me a little while, but I realized that my happiness is more important than anything else in the world.



So, now I am a biology major, still pre-med. I will be able to take classes in genetics, medicine, etc, and areas that really just interest me more than Biomedical Engineering dead. Also, and this is the thing I am happiest about, I will have time to take more arts and humanities classes!!!



Not having any creative classes this semester killed me. I realized that as much as I love science, I love arts and humanities just as much. I'm thinking of minoring in creative writing, religion, I don't know, something that I really love and am passionate about.



So how does this affect y'all? Well starting next school year, I'll have more time to read, blog, and basically do all the things I love doing. I will be able to start living a litter more. One step at a time though. I still have about a month left of this school year, so I've got to finish it out. I don't know what I'm doing and whether or not I will have time to really read, but it will definitely still be better than the hell I've been through.

Friday, March 25, 2016

Friday Reads: 3/25/2016

11:54:00 AM
Thank the universe it's Friday. I don't think I could take another day of having to do school. This week was quite on my blog because I was just so busy and didn't have the time to write up and schedule posts. I plan on doing some post writing this weekend, but whether or not that will actually happen is another story.


     This week I didn't really get any reading done. I think I read a bit on Monday and that was it. So, on to what I am "currently" reading.

9418191

      I am currently reading "Mr. Monster" by Dan Wells, the sequel to "I Am Not a Serial Killer". Truth be told, I actually didn't really like the first book that much. It was pretty bad. But it was bad in an entertaining way, for the most part. Honestly, I think the main character is dumb as hell and the author doesn't really know what he is talking about when it comes to serial killers, but nevertheless I feel compelled to finish reading this series.

*Okay, lowkey the only reason why I even picked up the first book is because I bought the fourth book from book outlet without knowing it was the fourth book, so I'm trying to make my way to it.*

I know this was a pretty shitty Friday Reads, but I'm currently between events and I am really hungry right now, so I'm writing this out of the blue.

What are you guys reading this fine day? Are you guys enjoying whatever you're reading? How was your week? I hope it was way better than mine.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

TOP 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Fictional Items I Want

10:00:00 AM

TOP 5 FICTIONAL ITEMS I WANT

      Boy if I could list all the fictional items I wanted, it would be a novel in itself. Fictional items are the best because they are so much better than the mundane shit we currently have. Onwards!

5. Wand



Real talk, who doesn't want a wand? We all want to be badass wizards and witches that can make shit happen with the flick of the wrist. It was always disappointing wielding a stick and learning that it is in fact just a normal stick that can't blow up your enemies. (Not that I would use my magic for evil like that... I'm a good person.... a third of the time.)

5. Wings



I know this probably doesn't count, but I really really want to fly, which is ironic coming from a girl who hates swinging from a swingset. I read so many Maximum Ride books and books with angels that I really wouldn't mind getting my hand on a pair. I feel like being in control of wings like that would be totally amazing. It would also let me fly away from the haters.

 3. Pen that turns into a Sword



If any of you have read the Percy Jackson series or Heroes of Olympus, you know Percy has a pen that can turn into a fucking sword. Now I don't know about you, but I think that is really really cool. I don't know what the hell I would do with it, but wouldn't it be nice to just turn a pen into a sword if someone was pissing you off?

2. Bottomless Bag



I need a bag in my life that is basically a bottomless pit. I love bags and I feel like they never have enough space. Now if I had a bag that was basically a bottomless pit or connected to my room, that would open up so many possibilities. I could whip out any book I owned if I got bored or more importantly, I could get food.

1. An All Seeing Crystal Ball



Basically I am extremely nosy and what to know everything about everything about everyone. Not knowing stuff gives me anxiety, and I feel like this crystal ball could either really help me out or cause some problems. Either way, I want it.

 What do you guys think? Are there any items on my list that you could totally seeing yourself having?

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

TALKTIME #16: Why I'm Cutting Back on Blog Tours

10:00:00 AM

TALKTIME #16: WHY I'M CUTTING BACK ON BLOG TOURS

      It has been more than a week since I have done one of these, and for that dear readers, I am sorry. I know I promised to do these at least once every week, but school you guys.... *shakes head* ...school.


  
      Anyhoo.... on to the topic of the day. Blog/Book tours. In the style that I know best, this is going to start with a narrative story. (Sorry not even remotely sorry). So when I was just starting off my blog, I was full of energy and ready to dive in the book blogging community. I thought, my blog will float solely on reviews, and people will love it, and everything will be amazing. (Yeah I was quite delusional. Probably the stress of senior year effing me up.) Time slowly passed and things were just not happening for me. I was getting like zero views, no comments, followers, etc. etc. Well this made me hella sad. I don't quite remember how, but one thing led to another and I was recommended joining blog tours to get more viewers. I figured, what the hell, what's the worse that can happen?


      A lot Dean, a lot could go wrong. It got to the point that blog tours were consuming my blog and most of the reviews I were posting were from ARCs for blog tours. This helped with views, but it really didn't help with comments/followers and all that jazz. I thought blog tours would be a good way to fill up space on my blog when I couldn't really post anything original, which at the time, was A LOT because I was basic as hell when it came to blogging.


      I wasn't pleased with the content on my blog so I started drawing back on blog tours and doing more original reviews and posts, and my blog was better because of it. I started becoming more picky on what blog tours I posted and whether or not I was really passionate about, and the reception of them on my blog was better.


      What am I saying? Basically blog tours are fillers that really aren't best for my blog anymore. At the time, they were a good way to fill up space and for me to discover new books and ARCS, but not that is not as important anymore. The image that my blog presents is more important to me, especially content wise. I don't really care that much about the numbers, but what I'm putting out there. Now I'm not saying that blog tours are bad and are just fillers. But they're just not for me anymore. From this point on, I will be refraining from doing blog tours unless I am truly interested in the books. There are a couple that I have already signed up for so you'll see them appear on this blog at some point, but after that, I really just want more original content on my blog. (Now whether that original content is going to take the form of reviews is yet to be seen because of you know, school.)


What do you guys think of blog tours? Are you a fan? Do you think they are fillers too? Do you genuinely love doing them? I want to hear all about it down below.

Sunday, March 6, 2016

"Me Before You" Review

1:22:00 PM

15507958

Book: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Meyes

My Rating: ★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn't know is she's about to lose her job or that knowing what's coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he's going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn't know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they're going to change the other for all time. 

      I'm going to be completely honest. The only reason why I picked up this book was because I saw the trailer and the trailer made me have feels. Me being me, I was like "Well damn, now I have to read the book because I want to watch the movie." So, I walked my happy ass around the corner to my college's bookstore and bought the book with the highest of expectations. This book has such a high rating on Goodreads and everyone was like "it's going to make you cry". Me being the soulless person I am, I was like "bring it on".



      Needless to say, I was disappointed. This book did not give me any feels. I didn't feel like shipping Louisa and Will. Frankly, Louisa annoyed the hell out of me. She was sooooo dumb. There were times were I wished I could pop into the book and strangle her. Then Will, I mean frankly, there was nothing particularly special about him and as awful as it sounds, I would have just let him commit medical suicide whenever the hell he wanted. He clearly was having a shit time, and it is his choice to do what he whatever the hell he wants to do.



      The writing wasn't really that special to me either. It felt very typical of a romance novel. And the plot, well everything could be seen a mile away. Maybe I'm just hard to impress and contemporary just isn't doing it for me anymore. But this book didn't blow me away. Nothing particularly good start happening until about 60% in the book, but even then, I was bored. The ending was the only part where I got a lil' emotional, even then it wasn't nearly as much emotion as it could have been.



      To be frank, I think the only reason why a lot of people love this book is because of the hype. I bought into the hype when I damn well shouldn't have. Needless to say, I'm still going to watch the movie. I hope the movie is better than the book, as sad as that sounds.



Friday, March 4, 2016

Friday Reads: 3/4/2016

12:19:00 PM
It's FRIDAYYYY!!! My midterms (for the most part) are over, I have no classes, and my spring break is starting. I finally have time to just wind down, take a chill pill, and enjoy life. If I could, I would totally jump five years into the future just so I wouldn't be in college. I'd be in medical school, but I have a feeling I'll enjoy that more than college right now. Anyway, with this break, I'm planning on reading some before my friend, Neesha comes down to visit me.


On a side note, I placed an order from BookOutlet, which I shouldn't have done, but I wanted to try more adult, nonfiction books so I got three. Who knows when I'll actually get to them, considering my ever growing amount of unread books in my dorm.

Currently Reading:

17347634

      I am 80% in this book and I WILL FINISH IT TODAY!!! To be honest, this isn't nearly as good as I thought it would be. Nothing really interested me until I hit like the 60% mark, even then, I'm still pretty bored. The writing style and plot are nothing particularly special. Not really sure why people think this book is amazing. Maybe the ending will blow my mind and make me ugly cry (doubt it cause I have no soul). I like the dynamics between Will and Louisa at times, but other times I just want to roll my eyes. And Louisa, my goodness she is so daft. 

What are you guys currently reading? And to those of you that have read "Me Before" You", what are your thoughts on it?

Thursday, March 3, 2016

February 2016 Wrap-Up

10:00:00 AM

     So this was not one of my best reading months. I've had so much school work and shit that I haven't had a lot of time to read. I also spent a huge chunk of time trying to jug through "Crown of Midnight" so I didn't read as much as I probably could of to be honest. I also lowered my Goodreads goal from 100 to 50 cause there is no way in hell that I will be able to read 100 books this year. Shit, I'll be lucky if I read 50.

Books I Read
     I read a total of 2 books this month... Yeah, that's pretty sad. Probably the worst reading month I've ever had in the history of me being a reader.

23492288   
                                             (Review)★★★1/2                    ★★1/2
   
      Out of the two books I read, "Hiddent Bodies" was the best, and I didn't even like it that much. It wasn't nearly as good as "You". Honestly, "You" could have been a standalone. "Crown of Midnight" by default was my least favorite. It was just so bad. I liked "Throne of Glass" and this was just so bad compared to it. I shouldn't have trusted my gut and not read this series. Now I know better. I will not be continuing this series.

My Blog Posts
      
      Just like last month, I had 13 blog posts which is certainly a lot better than the amount of books I read. I really enjoy doing discussion posts because it's great interacting with you guys and just putting my thoughts out there in the universe. 

My Favorite Post: "Finishing All the Books in the Series" was definitely my favorite post. Not just because it was fun to write, but I enjoyed discussing my habit with you all in the comments. 

Virtual Hugs


      This month, my virtual hug goes to Temecka from Library of Tomes. I'm so glad to call her my friend. It's great to have someone to text from the book blog community and I love buddy reading with her. Talking about books with her makes them all the more enjoyable. 95% sure I would have hated "Crown of Midnight" a lot more if I hadn't read it with her.

Personal

      February was a rough month. College got back into full swing and it just wrecked me. As I am writing this post, it is midterms week and I am brain dead. There is so much information that I have been forced to learn within this month and it is killing me. I am a biomedical engineering major with a concentration in biomaterials on the premed track. I have no humanities in my schedule. Every day for me is filled with hard sciences and labs. While I enjoy science a lot and labs are really cool, it can be pretty exhausting not having any creative classes or being involved in the humanities. 


     On the bright side, I have been writing a lot more for my school's newspaper, so I do have a little bit of time in which my creative, writing side gets to come out. I write for the arts and entertainment section, so it's nice not having to focus on really heavy things. In addition to writing, I've found myself watching tv more and knitting. To me, knitting while watching tv is basically a way for me to destress and kind of ground myself. It doesn't always work, but it's a start. 

     Starting Friday I have my spring break, which I desperately need. I'm not going to lie and say I'm going to read a bunch because that is not going to happen. Most of my friends are staying on campus with me during break and my best friend, Neesha, who came down for Thanksgiving break is coming down again, so we're planning on actually enjoying our break and getting out in the city.

     It's strange to think that my first year of college is almost done. I'm glad it is almost done though. It just means I'm closer to a more meaningful future in which I get to do what I want to do. Whenever I'm feeling down or straight up want to drop out of school, I think about how cool it's going to be as an orthopedic surgeon. I want to perform surgery and set bones and be a medical badass.




So how did your month go? I hope you read more than me and had a better personal month. Tell me all about it in the comments.

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random