Friday, February 26, 2016

Friday Reads: 2/26/2016

10:00:00 AM
I am so glad it's Friday, you have no idea. It was just one of those weeks where I just waned it to be over. At the same time, I'm freaking out cause I have midterms next week. Thankfully, after midterms I have spring break, so I'll finally be able to do a lot more reading. I say that, but I'll probably end up spending a good chunk of time watching Netflix, especially if my best friend comes to visit me because I'm staying here at college for break.



Reading wise, I didn't get a lot done this week. Just a little bit of reading between and during classes. Today I plan on reading more.

Currently Reading:

1716716617347634

      I know, I am still in the process of reading "Crown of Midnight". This book is taking me forever to read- mainly because I don't like it. I will be finishing it today though. I am making myself finish it. I have like 100 pages left and I am going to power read the hell out of them. Honestly, this book is such a huge disappointment. I can't think of a single aspect of this book that I love. The first one was such a great book and this is a piece of shit. I should have trusted my gut and never started this series. In all honestly, I don't think I will be continuing this series. It just isn't interesting me enough to want to read three or four books, however many more there are in the series. 



     I started "Me Before You" because I saw that trailer for the movie and knew that I had to read the book before watching the movie. I am not emotional person. Some might call me a bit heartless. That trailer fucking destroyed me though. I felt so many emotions, and it's been awhile since something has filled me with emotions like that. So far I am about a third of the way in the book and it is just eh. There is nothing really special going on to me right now. I think the dynamic between Will and Louisa is interesting, but it's not doing anything to my heart right now. Like, I don't ship it with every fiber of my body. I am only a third of the way in though so there is still time for a lot to change. A lot of people say the book is sad, which I can see where they are coming from, but I don't think the book is going to have the same effect on me as the trailer did. I can't see myself crying over this. Who know, I might end up a fucking hot mess. 


What about you guys? What are you all reading? Read anything good this week? Please tell me all about it down below. 

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 BEST Love Interests

10:00:00 AM

TOP 5 WORST LOVE INTERESTS

      Love interests.... oh love interests. Hahahahahha. When I find a love interest I like, I get invested. Like really really really invested. Like it's probably not healthy. But I don't even give a fuck cause I'm just a crazy fangirl. So, I'm going to take a twist on this and basically talk about characters I love to love.


5. Harry Potter from Harry Potter



I was a sucker for Harry Potter growing up. Like, I was lowkey convinced I was going to marry him until I was like 12 and realized that wasn't going to happen unfortunately because I wasn't actually in the Harry Potter universe.

4. Percy Jackson/Leo Valdez/Nico de Angelo from Heroes of Olympus



These are my babies. I love them. Like a lot. Percy was my first baby but then Leo and Nico grew on me. Now they aren't really "love" interests, but I love them.

3. Ridge from Maybe Someday.





*sighs heavily* *sighs even more* God this man is absolute perfection. Okay, maybe not absolute perfection cause he does have some issues and doesn't always think straight, but he is an amazing love interest. He is sweet, loves music, and is just an overall solid love interest.

2. Daemon from the Lux Series





Daemon, oh Daemon. From the first time I read about him, I loved him. He is cocky, sarcastic, hot, and an annoying little shit, everything I look for in a main love interest. The way he went to the end of the world for Katy and just everything about him makes him so loveable.

1. Aiden St. Delphi from the Covenant Series




Although he is from one of Jennifer L. Armentrout's lesser known series, I love him a lottt. He is the definition of everything I look for in a lot interest. He is loyal, smart, strong, hot as hell, has badass Greek superpowers, and puts up with sarcastic shits like myself. Originally my love for him wasn't really that strong, but the more I read about him and the way he treated Alex and how he literally went to Hell for her, I knew he was the one. And hot damn, the novella in his perspective pulled at all of my heart strings. He is so patient and just without a doubt the best love interest ever.

As you can see, I'm pretty passionate about love interests. What about you guys? Who are your fave love interests? Are you as passionate about them as I am? Tell me all about them in the comments. 

Friday, February 19, 2016

Friday Reads: 2/18/2016

10:00:00 AM
I don't think time has ever gone by so quickly in my life. I get you not, yesterday was just Monday. There is no way in hell tomorrow is Saturday. Don't get me wrong. I like the fact that life here at college is zooming on by pretty damn quickly cause that just means I'm closer to being out of college, but damn I feel like maybe I should be cherishing my young years a little younger. Like, shit, somehow I'm already an adult. Like, when did that happen??? Anyhoo... on to my Friday Reads.

Currently Reading:

17167166

     If I weren't buddy reading this with Temecka, I would have DNFed this sucker a long ass time ago. I'm just so annoyed and disappointed. Celeana is not a badass assassin, she is a fucking prissy. And don't even get me started on this whole romance thing and Chaol and Dorian and all that bullshit. I don't give a fuck. This is precisely why young adult is pissing me off to the point of almost swearing it off entirely. And honestly, this book is so damn slow. There is no good plot and the characters just do not interest me at all. And this is all very disappointing because I quite like "Throne of Glass". I'm starting to wish I had gone with my better instincts and avoided this series all together like I swore I would.



    So what are you guys reading today/this weekend? Hopefully it's loads better than what I am reading. Tell me in the comments down below.

Thursday, February 18, 2016

TALKTIME #15: Finishing all the books in the series

10:00:00 AM

TALKTIME #15: Finishing All the Books in the Series

      You know, doing all these discussions posts make me realize that I have a lot of bookish issues that I seriously need to examine. Like my habits are starting to make me look a tad bit crazy.


      I told you all in an earlier discussion post, (which I will leave a link to that HERE) that I've got a strange habit when it comes to owning all the books in a series. I generally only buy the first physical book in the series. Well the habit doesn't end there. I have a confession to make:

Hi, my name is Sierra, and I tend to not read all of the books in a series.


      I know, the horror! You're probably like, 'why would you do such a thing?' Why do I start a series and not finish it. Well I have commitment and attention issues. It takes a lot for me to continue a series after reading a book. It's a serious problem. I could love the book with all of my heart, matter of fact it could be the best book I read that year, but it will be hard for me to read the next book in the series right after reading the first book.


      Let me provide an example. Last year I bought "I Hunt Killers" by Barry Lyga from Book Outlet and read it. I loved it. I loved everything about it. And I wanted to read the second book, but I still haven't read it. I have read a slew of books between that book and now, but I still haven't gotten around to reading the next book. Why you might ask? Series are just so draining. Being in the same world with the same characters can sometimes be really nice. For example, the Lux and Covenant series are my babies and I love those worlds to death. But damn they are so big. I could read a slew of standalones in the time it takes to read those series.


      When I was younger, if you had asked me whether I preferred series or standalones, I would have said series, I had a much better attention span and I really enjoyed being in the worlds of the books I read, such as Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. But now. getting through series is such a challenge and it really shouldn't be. There literally is no difference between reading a standalone novel and a book in a series; they are both books. But just knowing it's connected to another book and that I have to continue to the next book to get the final resolution can be a huge turn off for me.

      So you might as, 'why even start the series in the first place? Why not just read standalones?' Well because I am delusional. I always think I will start a series and finish it, but then I end up not finishing it. Now there are some series that I have start and have no intention of finishing because I didn't like the first book or I was content with how the first book ended. But there are quite a few books that I still want to read.


      So what about you guys? Do you always guys always finish the series you start? Comment down below. 

Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Best Suggested Books You Love

10:00:00 AM

TOP 5 BEST SUGGESTED BOOKS YOU LOVE

5. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

16143347

My friend from high school, Hannah, suggested this book to me one day while we were sitting around in Orchestra. I decided to pick it up and it was actually pretty good.

4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

9361589

Hannah also gave me this book for my birthday one year because she really liked it and oh my god I am so glad she gave it to me. This book has amazing writing and and aura I have never read anything like it before.

3. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

13455782

This book wasn't personally suggested to me, but Whitney from Whitty Books in Booktube is always raving about this book. I decided to pick it up and I absolutely loved the first two books. The writing was so beautiful.

2. Angelfall by Susan Ee

15863832

My best friend in the whole wide world Neesha suggested this book to me. I had been contemplating buying it since it was only like $5 on Amazon, and her recommendation made me do it. I absolutely fell in love with it and Raffe and I'm so glad she suggested it.

1. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Mathhew Quick

13477676

I honestly would not have read this book if it weren't recommended to me by Temecka from The Library of Tomes. This book was always in the shelf at Barnes and Noble and each time I read the description I didn't want to read. However, after talking to Temecka for a little bit, she recommend this book to me for a readathon. I decided to pick it up and I absolutely loveeeed it. This book is so good and I have a review up for it that I love. This book has such a great message and I loved just about everything about it. 

Monday, February 15, 2016

"Hidden Bodies" Review

10:00:00 AM

23492288

Book: Hidden Bodies (You #2)

Author: Caroline Kepnes

Page Count: 448

Format: ARC

Publisher: Atria

My Rating: ★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: In the compulsively readable follow-up to her widely acclaimed debut novel, You, Caroline Kepnes weaves a tale that Booklist calls “the love child of Holden Caulfield and Patrick Bateman.”

Hidden Bodies marks the return of a voice that Stephen King described as original and hypnotic, and through the divisive and charmingly sociopathic character of Joe Goldberg, Kepnes satirizes and dissects our culture, blending suspense with scathing wit.

Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Now he’s heading west to Los Angeles, the city of second chances, determined to put his past behind him.

In Hollywood, Joe blends in effortlessly with the other young upstarts. He eats guac, works in a bookstore, and flirts with a journalist neighbor. But while others seem fixated on their own reflections, Joe can’t stop looking over his shoulder. The problem with hidden bodies is that they don’t always stay that way. They re-emerge, like dark thoughts, multiplying and threatening to destroy what Joe wants most: truelove. And when he finds it in a darkened room in Soho House, he’s more desperate than ever to keep his secrets buried. He doesn’t want to hurt his new girlfriend—he wants to be with her forever. But if she ever finds out what he’s done, he may not have a choice...

      Storytime! Back in August before I started college, I picked up "You". It was a bit slow and when I actually got to college, I put it down and didn't pick it up until this month. When I picked it back up again, I was able to power through it and I loved it, despite it's incredibly fucked up nature that makes me question the author's sanity and personal life.



     Anyway, when I was done with the book, I wanted to read the second book right away because I wanted to know what was going to happen since I felt like "You" honestly could have been a standalone. So, I requested "Hidden Bodies" on Netgalley and within five minutes I was approved which made me hella happy.



     Now the actual book... I liked it, but not nearly as much as "You". Don't get me wrong. It was defintely fucked up and made me question humanity in general, but I felt like it was lacking in something. It didn't have the same vibes as the first book. The writing didn't feel the same and the plot definitely wasn't as interesting. In the first book, the entire plot was centered around Beck. With this book, I thought it was going to be centered around one thing, but then it ended up being entirely about the fucked up nature of Hollywood, which honestly, wasn't that interesting to me.



     To top it off, Joe just didn't feel the same as he did in the first book. There was a shift in his personality and just the way he behaved. Granted, he was still incredibly twisted and needs a therapist, but just not to the same effect as the first book.



     Overall, it was okay. It didn't blow me away like the first book did. There was still a lot of sickness to it and was certainly different than most books and captivated me in the way, but just not to the degree I wanted.



Thank you Netgalley for providing a copy for review.

Friday, February 12, 2016

Friday Reads: 2/11/2016

10:00:00 AM
How is it already Friday???? Like I swear yesterday was Monday and I was flipping shit over the stressful week I just had. My mind is just blown over how fast time passes here in college. It is unbelievable. Everything is so fast paced. I feel like next to no time has passed.

Because of how fast time is here and how busy I am, I have revised my Goodreads goal from 100 to 50. I don't want to force myself to cram in a lot of books to try to reach a goal I probably shouldn't have. I want to read, but I also need to dedicate my time to school. I think I can get pass 50, but for now it's gonna be 50.

Currently Reading:

23492288 17167166

       I am currently in the process of reading two books. I finished "You" and it was pretty damn fantastic. So, naturally I wanted to read the second book. I requested the second book and within five minutes it was in my hands, which made me really happy because that is the quickest turnaround time I have ever gotten when requesting a book. "Hidden Bodies" is as equally if not more fucked up as "Hidden Bodies". I feel like a lot happened within the first two chapters but now it has kinda slowed down to a crawl and a lot of shit I don't care about and isn't a part of the main plot is happening.

      

      In addition to "Hidden Bodies", I am currently buddy reading "Crown of Midnight" with Temecka from "Library of Tomes" over the course of this month. I'm about 25% done with it, and I like it, but I feel like it could be better. Things seem to be slower and the book seems to have a completely different tone to it. Even the writing seems different. I don't know, maybe I'm just overanalyzing it, but there is an element missing from it that the first book had that made me love it.


So what are you guys currently in the process of reading? Got any bookish plans for the weekend? Tell me all about them in the comments. I'm all ears.


Thursday, February 11, 2016

TALKTIME #14: Owning All the Books in a Series

10:00:00 AM

TALKTIME #14: Owning All the Books in a Series

      What I'm about to tell you, is weird, and I acknowledge that. Y'all are probably going to be like 'what??????'. But I'm going to tell you anyway. This post is going to be about my book buying habit when it comes to owning all the books in a series. So prepare yourself...

I'm probably overreacting, but what can I say, I'm one for dramatics. 


      So let's say I buy the physical first book in a series, and I like it. I like it a whole lot. This book is golden and it has filled a void in my soul that I didn't know existed. I finish the book and I need to read the second one. I need to know what happens next in the series. Am I going to go buy the next physical book in the series? Nope.


      Yeah... I will buy the first book in the series, but then I will get the Kindle edition or go to the library for the rest of the series until I have completed finished the series. Why you may ask? Because I have issues. We are going to use "Shatter Me" for example. I bought the first book cause everyone and their mother said it was fantastic. I read it. I loved it. But I did not buy the second book. Or the third. My best friend Neesha had the rest of the books in the series so I borrowed them from her. I read the second book. I really loved it. More than the first book actually. I read the third book. I did not love it. I barely liked it. So did I go out and buy the second book since I liked it? Nope. I only have the first book.


      For me, I usually only buy the physical book of a series as a reminder of the series, especially if I liked it. There are so many series where I only own the first book because it is the only book in the series I really want to own. Most of the time, I don't see myself reading the entire series again, but I want a keepsake of the series in the form of the first book. I want a reminder of my shelf that I read the series and for the most part liked it. Some examples: Shatter Me, Angelfall, The Da Vinci Code, Vampire Academy, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (yeah, I know that isn't the first book, fight me) the list goes on and on. There are some exceptions to this though. 


       There are two series where I own all the books to the series. In fact I bought the entire series before I had even read the first book. Yeah I was really off my rocker. Here's the kicker. They are both from the same author.


       Who is this author that Sierra somehow managed to break her book buying habit for? None other than...

Jennifer L. Armentrout
      
      Why you might ask? Well one day I was in Barnes & Noble and I had a gift card. I saw "The Lux Series" and I decided, what the hell, let's buy the collector's editions (this is even before the last book came out). I bought them and I loved them. Then when the last book came out, I bought that before I had even read it. CRAZY I KNOW!!! No other author had ever had the effect on me, but I just couldn't stop myself. 


      I soon discovered she wrote a Greek mythology series, the "Covenant Series" and on a whim I bought the entire series on Amazon. Hey, the books were only like $6 per book, so I though, why not? I even bought the novellas, and I NEVER buy novellas. Boy oh boy was I glad that I bought the entire series because I consumed them. After I read it I let my best friend Neesha read it. She consumed that too and for awhile it was all we could talk about.


      Basically, for the most part I only own the first book in the series I read. I don't know, I just feel weird owning the entire series, especially if I don't particularly like some of the books in the series. But this year I'm going to try to change that a bit. I want to own more series (despite my shelves telling me 'no Sierra, you don't have space'). I'm hoping that I come across more series that make me want to impulsively buy their entirety. I want to fall in love with series again like I did with "Lux" and "Covenant". ('No you don't,' says my bank account) 

   
So what do you guys think of my strange habit? Do you guys find yourself having similar book buying habits? I want to hear all about it in the comments. 

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random