Monday, November 30, 2015

"Velicious: Part Two" Release Day Blitz + GIVEAWAY

8:00:00 AM
Velicious Blog Tour Banner
VELICIOUS PART TWO
Publication Date: December 7th, 2015
Genres: Paranormal Romance
* Velicious Part Two cannot be read as a stand alone.
 
 
amazon

payhip button001
 
Justice Labelle has lost too much in this war of monster and men, and it needs to stop now. After her run in with Erin, which left her lying in a hospital bed, black and bloody blue, Justice is no longer going to sit by and simply accept the twisted hand, that has been dealt. Especially since she now has superhuman powers, all thanks to her being a Doll. Her one and only passion– To get through College and practice law at a top tier firm, is fading from her grasp and its all because of Calvin, Dante, Vampyres and the Government. In fact the government has more secrets than kids have candy… And they’re all just as deadly as the enemies they hunt. But you know what? Justice has come up with her own master plan and heaven help the Vampyre, monster or human that gets in her way!  
add to goodreads[5]
002
 
Promo VelPrt2

Amazon: US| UK|CAN

 

PROMO CODE:

PROMOVELTWO2DAYS

 

VELICIOUS PART ONE FREE!

PROMO CODE:

PROMOVELONE15

CLICK HERE TO RECEIVE YOUR COPY

giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway
   
Image13
Shelique Lize is an awesome mother of two beautiful baby girls, and a wife to the luckiest man on the planet. It took her five years to write Velicious Part One but once her first daughter was born, she decided to revisit the world that she had created. Falling in love with her characters all over again, she wanted to finish their story. Velicious Part Two was written in half the time.
Shelique loves anything to do with the paranormal world. She’s a proud Canadian but dislikes winter. She prefers watching the snow falling beautifully from inside a warm home. The movie Grease is her all time favorite movie. She thinks everyone should still watch Disney movies. Sailor Moon is her favorite anime. Currently she likes to listen to The Weeknd and Lana Del Rey, and she’s pretty open to every other genre of music.
Shelique likes to surround herself with positivity and she enjoys a good meditation. Photography, a Shopaholic, and she’s an Aries.
   

WEBSITEGOODREADS DIAMONDARES

 
Image14

Thursday, November 26, 2015

"Starlight" Excerpt

11:40:00 AM

26470531

Book: Starlight

Author: William Stacey

Page Count: 530

Publisher: Bastard Sword Press

Release Date: August 20, 2015

Synopsis: A secret power. The revival of magic. An ancient evil stirs. 

Twenty-year-old university dropout Cassie Rogan has returned to her small British Columbia home. Tortured by an accident that killed her parents, she drifts, failing life at every turn. When an impossibly localized lightning storm hits the surrounding forest, Cassie discovers her supernatural side. 

After centuries of atrophy, the forces of magic are flowing back into our world, and Cassie can wield arcane powers. Her life seems destined to turn around, until the downside of magic brings everything to a screeching halt. Horrifying mythical beasts now prowl the northern wilderness—including the Basilisk—an enormous eight-legged lizard that can turn its prey to stone. 

Recruited by a secretive agency, Cassie must quickly master her powers to protect mankind. As she develops her skills, a dark power secretly watches from the shadows. The Fae Seelie (a.k.a. the Dark Elves)—humanity's ancient enemy—have returned to settle the score. 

Excerpt
Breathless with anticipation, her pulse racing, Cassie stood with the others in two tightly packed lines facing the entrance to the Jump Tube. Clyde stood next to her, rubbing himself against her leg, shivering and whining in fear. Paco never used a leash, so only Cassie’s reassuring presence kept the dog in place. If he bolted, this mission was going to be over before it began. Reaching down, she stroked his head, telling him everything was going to be all right—telling herself the same.
All of the remaining members of Task Force Devil were with her, a total of twelve soldiers led by Buck and Alex. Cassie stood just behind Elizabeth, so close she was breathing down her neck, as was Clara behind Cassie. She felt like a sardine—or, dressed in battle armor, like a turtle-sardine. Every time she moved, the bottom of the armor caught the skin of her abdomen and pinched it against her belt. Wearing all this kit sucked; being hot and uncomfortable sucked; having to pee sucked. But it was almost time to move. Their GPNVGs lenses were flipped up, but Dr. Simmons had warned them it would be dark when they arrived. No one knew what to expect on the other side, but the Jump Tube always opened in the exact same spot, and no one, including Dr. Simmons, could say why.
Am I really about to travel to another world? Cassie exhaled heavily and rolled her shoulders. It couldn’t possibly be worse than flying.
From her position, she strained to see what was going on. She could just see over Elizabeth’s shoulder, but she was too short to see past the soldier standing in front of Elizabeth. Something was going on. She could hear it, feel it. Energy arced and crackled in front of them as the technicians activated the Gateway Machine. Ahead of her, the Jump Tube now crackled with bolts of electricity, literally snapping in the air. She could smell the ozone burning. God, it’s hot here.
“Get ready,” Buck yelled from up front. “The field is almost strong enough.”
Clyde whined louder, agitated, rubbing so hard against Cassie she thought he might knock her out of line. Clara put her hands on the back of Cassie’s shoulders and told her to do the same to Elizabeth. All down the line, each soldier reached up and grabbed the shoulders of the person in front of them. When Elizabeth touched the shoulders of the soldier in front of her, Cassie saw she held her rosary beads in one hand. She had been praying.
At that moment, the tube flared up, illuminating the cavern in a rapturous blue glow. Just for a second, Cassie saw past the soldiers in front of her. The end of the tube showed the briefest glimmer of a dark jungle with stars shining down from a night sky—and two moons!
This is real. This is happening.
“Move, move, move!” yelled Buck as he ran forward into the Jump Tube. At the same time, all of the soldiers, like a single entity, surged forward. Alex, in the rear, made sure everyone was moving. Elizabeth, not hesitating at all, rushed forward with the others. Surprising herself, Cassie followed right along, glued to Elizabeth’s back. Clyde ran right beside her.
Oh shit, oh shit! This is way worse than flying.
Moments later, she was within the Jump Tube, feeling both exhilarated and terrified. The air throbbed with electrical current and mana—so much mana. Then she realized Elizabeth and the other soldiers in front of her were gone, and she was at the edge of the tube, an alien world opening up before her. Clyde leaped forward, jumping into the darkness, but Cassie hesitated, suddenly frozen with terror, unable to go through with it. Clara, her hands on Cassie’s shoulders, shoved her. Cassie tumbled forward.
Into another world.


Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Books I'm Thankful For

5:42:00 PM
I am so thankful for books. Seriously. Reading helps me keep my sanity. When I really just don't want to be a part of this world, or I want to get loss in another world and be someone else, anyone but who I am, a read. Reading has shaped who I am today.


5. Lux and Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Theses series are funny with badass, sarcastic female characters. When I read these books, I am so happy. I wish I could be strong yet funny as hell like Alex and Katy.


4. The Princess Diaries Series and Avalon High by Meg Cabot
Meg Cabot's books really helped me out while growing up. They taught me it is okay to be different and you don't need to change who you are. I always reread these books if I ever feel like I'm not sure who I am.


3. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
Even though I just discovered this book this year, it has a special place in my heart. I don't know what it is about this story, but it makes me so emotional, and sometimes I need that. Sometimes I need to feel human. Sometimes I need to read something that has a lot of hurt in it but ends up alright in the end because that is what gives me hope.


2. Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan
I am so thankful I discovered these books because if I hadn't I would not be the avid reader I am today. These books taught me to love reading and that there are worlds out there that although they might not be real, reading about them makes them feel real.


1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
This is probably one everyone's list, but it deserves to be. Rowling created a world that makes everyone feel at home, a place where being different wins in the end. This series is my rock and time and time again I come back to it. This series makes me feel special in ways I cannot explain. This series brings about emotions that sometimes I don't have. Whenever I read these books, I feel normal, human. And the magic, oh the magic. This book takes to a better, magical place. I cannot tell you how much I wish magic were real. To have that energy flow through you would be incredible. 

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

"Placebo Junkies" Review

4:50:00 PM

25278470

Book: Placebo Junkies

Author: J.C. Carleson

Format: ARC

Page Count: 302 (Final Hardcover)

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Reads

My Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Meet Audie: Professional lab rat. Guinea pig. Serial human test subject. For Audie and her friends, “volunteering” for pharmaceutical drug trials means a quick fix and easy cash.
Sure, there’s the occasional nasty side effect, but Audie’s got things under control. If Monday’s pill causes a rash, Tuesday’s ointment usually clears it right up. Wednesday’s injection soothes the sting from Tuesday’s “cure,” and Thursday’s procedure makes her forget all about Wednesday’s headache. By the time Friday rolls around, there’s plenty of cash in hand and perhaps even a slot in a government-funded psilocybin study, because WEEKEND!

But the best fix of all is her boyfriend, Dylan, whose terminal illness just makes them even more compatible. He’s turning eighteen soon, so Audie is saving up to make it an unforgettable birthday. That means more drug trials than ever before, but Dylan is worth it.
No pain, no gain, Audie tells herself as the pills wear away at her body and mind. No pain, no gain, she repeats as her grip on reality starts to slide….

     This book... what can I say about this book. This book was way much more than I expected. I expected a lighthearted contemporary, but boy oh boy did I get more than that. I got a book that although was filled with those lighthearted moments, was so much more involved and darker than I imagined. When reading the beginning, this book seemed like one where the main character was just trying to get her message our there in a humorous way with a lot of sarcasm. She did that for the most part, but at one point in the book the dynamic and writing shifts to something much more and I really liked that.
     The writing in this book had two styles, and I really enjoyed both of those styles. Part of it is this humorous sarcasm that takes jabs at everything in life, yet at the same time tries to find the good in everything. But then you have this entire other dynamic that is twisted and almost depressing, yet really captivating because it has a lot to say.
      The plot is unlike anything I have read and is a lot different than I expected. This book made me do a lot of self-reflecting in ways that quite frankly made me uncomfortable, but in a good way. I mean, there are so many times in this book where I was kind of mindf**ked and I had to put the book aside and just think. This book really makes you question reality.
      Audie the main character... She is so unique and twisted and has a lot going on in her mind, which just makes her all the more interesting. Every time you think you understand her and have a grip on her mentality, she surprises you.
      I'm not going to go into much more detail because that would be spoiling the book and I honestly think this is something you want to go into knowing and expecting nothing so that when the end comes you can kind of sit there in shock and contemplate everything. I will probably however be filming a book review which I will have spoilers near the end, so if you do want to be spoiled, which I think you should avoid, you'll know where to find them.

     [Real talk though, you guys should read this book. I think it deserves a lot more attention because it truly has some important messages that I think we can all take away from, especially on mental health. All the writing is pretty damn good.]

*If you are uncomfortable with swearing, this might not be the book for you.

I would like to thank Penguin Random House for mailing me a copy of this book for review. I really appreciated the opportunity! 



Saturday, November 21, 2015

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Hunger Games Moments

10:00:00 AM
I'm not really that big of a fan of The Hunger Games, but I decided to do this anyway.


5. I volunteer as tribute (movie)
The way that Jennifer Lawrence does this scene is just so funny to me. I mean, just look at her facial expressions.


4. Any Rue moment (book and movie)
I really liked Rue. That's that.


3. Any Gale moment (book and movie)
I ship him with Katniss, so that's my reasoning.


2. Peeta trying to kill Katniss (book and movie)
When I first read it in the book, I was kinda startled, but when I saw it in movies, it was so funny. I know, I'm a terrible human being.


1. Katniss shooting the dome in Catching Fire (movie)
Probably the only badass moment of hers that I liked and appreciated.

Sunday, November 15, 2015

"Earth's End" by Elise Kova Cover Reveal + GIVEAWAY

12:15:00 PM
So back a few months ago, me and the other members of the of the "Four Corners of the Bookshelf" read "Air Awakens" by Elise Kova. We all had different thoughts on the book, but overall we all liked it. Well since then, the second book has come out (almost) and now it is time for the cover release of the third book which comes out February 11th, 2016! I haven't read the second book yet but I plan on doing so soon. Anyway, drum roll please...

Can I just say how incredibily amazing that cover is? The color, the detail, all of it is perfect. 

Synopsis: A woman awoken in air, a soldier forged by fire, a weapon risen from blood.

Vhalla Yarl has made it to the warfront in the North. Forged by blood and fire, she has steeled her heart for the final battle of the Solaris Empire’s conquest. The choices before Vhalla are no longer servitude or freedom, they are servitude or death. The stakes have never been higher as the Emperor maintains his iron grip on her fate, holding everything Vhalla still has left to lose in the balance.


Air Awakens Links



Fire Falling Pre-Order Links (Comes out November 19th, 2015)




About the Author
View More: http://radred.pass.us/joseph-wedding-2015-jpeg
Elise Kova has always had a passion for storytelling. She wrote her first novella, a high-fantasy, in sixth grade. Over the years she’s honed her love of literature with everything from fantasy to romance, science fiction to mystery, and whatever else catches her eye.

Elise lives in Saint Petersburg, Florida, where she’s currently working on the next installment in her debut YA fantasy series: Air Awakens. She enjoys video games, anime, table-top role playing games, and many other forms of “geekdom.” She loves talking with fans on Twitter (@EliseKova) and Facebook. Visit her website, EliseKova.com, for news and extras about her books!


GIVEAWAY
Elise Kova will be raffling off an Air Awakens Swag Bag! This will include:
  • Air Awakens “Shatter the Sky” Canvas Bag
  • Silver Wing Earrings
  • Signed Paperback of Air Awakens OR Fire Falling
  • Signed Air Awakens Postcard
  • Signed Air Awakens, Fire Falling, and Earth’s End Bookmark Set
swag bag giveaway cover reveal

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Earth's End 2

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random