Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Borrowed Books I've Read

10:00:00 AM
I really should do these more often since I'm not reading much lately, but alas, I'm lazy, busy, and not having my books with me makes it hard to think of which books to use.

5. Never Fade (The Darkest Minds #2)
16150830
I borrowed this book from my best friend Neesha because I had read the first book on the Kindle and then discovered through one of our crazy conversations that she actually owned the series, so she let me borrow the book.

4. Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)
13104080
Haha once again I borrowed this from my friend Neesha. It's interesting I had read the first bookand told her to read it, so she went and read the first book, and then bought the second book and read it before even I did. 

3. Percy Jackson Series
3165162
So I borrowed the Percy Jackson and the Olympian series as a small little child from my school's library and absolutely loved it. Strange to think that the series has spanned from when I was in elementary school to the end of high school...

2. World After (Angelfall #2)
17849112
Based off of #5 and #4, you can probably guess the circumstances surrounding how I borrowed this book yet again from my best friend Neesha.

*Side note, I love my friend Neesha for letting me borrow books from her all the time. If books are crack then she is my dealer.*

1. Harry Potter
700059
This series is my life. It started my life for reading when I moved to a new town when I was little, opened up a library account, and checked out the first book to the series. I checked out all the books from the series from the same library as the came out.

Saturday, September 19, 2015

"I'll Give You the Sun" Quick Review

10:08:00 AM

20820994

Book: I'll Give You the Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 371

Publisher: Dial Books

My Rating: ★★★★1/2

Synopsis: Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

      I read this book for the Four Corners of the Bookshelf book of the month so I'm not going to talk too much about it because you can hear my thoughts in the video. Overall I really enjoyed it. In the beginning I was not a fan at all. I didn't really like the plot, I hated each of the twins because there was aspects about them that I just didn't like, but then I really started enjoying it, and I realized why I had my issues with it. I have a twin brother, thus me and my twin brother are kinda like Jude and Noah in the book. We are not close at all, though we used to be. Matter of fact I haven't talk to my brother at all since we both left for college. Reading this book was kinda of like reading about my life because there were aspects and events that literally reflected mine. I could identify so much with this book because I saw parts of myself and parts of my brother in Jude and Noah. I think being a twin, there is so much pressure to be better than the other, to be almost identical, and to just fit everyone's ideas of what twins are like. There were so many emotional situations in the book that I really felt for. Now while me and my twin aren't as petty as the twins in the book, we certainly have our issues.
      I also believe that a lot of the situations in this book, actually the entire main problem, could have been avoided if everyone had just told the truth. Honesty is so important, and in the end being honest is the easiest way to go about your life. Everything just works out better if people tell the truth and communicate how they really feel.
      One thing that I loved so much about this book was how everything from beginning to end, from Noah's POV to Jude's POV was connected. I thought Jandy Nelson did a brilliant job interweaving everything together.


Thursday, September 10, 2015

Four Corners of the Bookshelf September Book: I'll Give You the Sun

5:17:00 PM

I'll Give You the Sun cover
This September in honor of #SadSeptember the #4CornersBC will be reading I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I'm quite interested to read this because it is about a girl and her twin brother and the relationship they have. This really hits home to me because I myself am a teenage girl with a twin brother and our relationship isn't quite what it used to be.
If you’d like to join in on the read-along, pick up a copy and head on over to our Goodreads group or use the #4CornersBC hashtag on Twitter. We’ll be finishing up the week on Saturday the 19th of September with our live Hangout at 8 am EST time (12 GMT, 1 pm UK time).

We’re also hosting a competition!!!

Art plays a big part of the story, or so I’ve been told…I haven’t read it yet! As such, we want all you artistic folks out there to share with us your creativity.
If you’re reading and are suddenly inspired by a passage, act on that inspiration! It could be anything – a sketch, hand-lettering a quote, a painting, a sculpture… Hell, even macaroni art would be awesome! Share it on Twitter or in the Goodreads group and we’ll feature it in the chat.
We’re also accepting any art inspired by Air Awakens, our August book! I know the author, Elise Kova, would LOVE to see fan art for her book, so you’re making her happy too. 

We’ll then choose one lucky winner to receive a preorder of our November book: Soundless by Richelle Mead.

If Book Depository ships to your country, you’re eligible!!! All entries need to be in by Friday, 18th September at 1pm UK time…so basically 24 hours before the chat starts.


Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. 

Sunday, September 6, 2015

"Lost in Geeklandia" Mini-Review

12:01:00 PM

26199162

Book: Lost in Geeklandia

Author: EJ Russell

Format: ARC

Publisher: Entangled: Select Contemporary

My Rating: 

Synopsis: She has 30 days to turn her enemy into her boyfriend...

Introverted computer engineer Charlie Forrester has coded an algorithm for love, a nearly flawless matchmaking program. But then she's challenged to prove its accuracy - on herself. With her dream job on the line, Charlie has thirty days to forge a romantic relationship with her "perfect" match...her ex-friend and now-nemesis, Daniel Shawn. Since her dating experience is expressed in binary, she'll need more than flirting lessons and a wardrobe overhaul to pull it off.

After falling victim to the same online matchmaking con he was investigating, reporter Daniel Shawn's professional reputation went up in flames. Now he suspects someone has rebooted the scam, and he's determined to expose the fraud and rebuild his career. Unfortunately, his efforts to get back in the game get sidetracked by Charlie and her adorable geekitude, even though she seems to know a little too much about digital dating for Daniel's comfort.

And when fake romance crosses into real chemistry, Charlie's formula for love might just be the perfect formula for disaster...

      This is the second book I have read since started college. So, going in, I had high hopes because I wanted to enjoy reading. Who doesn't want to enjoy reading? Well this did not hit the bar at all. The concept seemed really good but the execution was SOO bad. There is not a single redeeming quality to this book for me. I hated the characters, I hated the "romance", I hated the plot, I hated the portrayal of what a "geek" is like and how they supposedly behave and think. I hated how the entire situation came about  because in no world is it legal for your boss to make you date someone. This book was just awful to me. I almost DNFed it but it was such a short book I finished I would finish it just to say I finished it. This book was such a waste of my time.

Saturday, September 5, 2015

TALKTIME #7: Why I Don't Show My Follower Count

12:41:00 PM

TALKTIME #7: WHY I DON'T SHOW MY FOLLOWER COUNT

     It has been quite awhile since I have done a talktime. I really should do it more often so you guys get a steady stream of content every week, even if I'm not reading. This week I'm talking about something I have been meaning to post about for quite some time: follower count.

     You may or may not have noticed, but I don't have counters for the number of followers I have via email, bloglovin, etc. (the only exception being Google+ Followers cause I don't know how to make that go away). The reason why I don't show the number of followers I have is because it is not important to me. So many blogs place so much emphasis on how many followers they have and keep trying to find ways to gain followers. I guess to them, the more followers they have the more accomplished they are and the bigger the blog. I'm not concerned with trying to perceive myself as a big blog or gain followers. Yeah it would be nice to have a large amount of followers, but I'm not going to out of my way to gain; if you want to follow my blog, cool, if not, that's cool too. 

     A lot of people tend to be envious of those with large amounts of followers to. They show off their follower counters to show they are better than such an such or to make followers follow them because they are "popular". To me, the blog is all about the content. I make posts that I enjoy and if people like my posts, yay! I do not and will never cater my blog towards my followers. This blog is personal to me and something that I enjoy doing. Focusing on the followers to me would make this experience far less enjoyable.

What do you think? What is your policy towards follower counts? Do you do it, if so, why or why not?

Friday, September 4, 2015

Friday Reads: September 4, 2015

12:06:00 PM
I always tell myself I am going to do this every week but then I end up forgetting it. Oh well. So I don't really have anything planned out to read. I am so swamped with the college life that I have barely read anything since I got here. I haven't read anything at all this week. However it is Labor Day Weekend here in the United States which means no school Monday. When I'm not catching up on studies, I think I will try to find something to read.

"Superstition" by Lucy Fenton Blog Tour + GIVEAWAY

8:30:00 AM







Book: Superstition

Author: Lucy Fention

Release Date: 08/03/2015

Synopsis: What happens when your childhood nightmares of being bitten by strange creatures in a dark wood aren’t just dreams?

Sixteen-year-old Arden St. John’s life takes a strange turn when she finds an unusual animal injured near her new house on the south east coast of Australia. When she takes it to the local vet, a terrible truth is inadvertently exposed to her. 

She discovers a secret underworld, where witches are commonplace and trolls masquerade as queen bees, terrorising the other students with impunity. A world where vampires traffic in the lives of children, draining their bodies once they reach maturity. Where adults auction their own children to extend their lives.

Arden finds out she’s one of those kids, her life traded by the mother she never knew. Now she’s caught up in this ancient and corrupt economy operating just below the surface of modern society. She’s a hot commodity, and it’s only a matter of time before the vampire who bought her comes to claim his prize. 

But Arden’s not going down without a fight.




Excerpt
The further into the bush she went, the more anxious Arden felt. If something happened to me, how long would it be before Dad noticed? I could be dead for days before someone found me, Arden thought, unhappily. The compulsion to turn around and seek out others grew stronger and her footsteps slowed. 

And then through the trees, she saw something. Curiosity overcoming her disquiet, at first she thought it was a rocky outcrop and moved towards it, trying to see what was veiled by the leaves of the trees. The flash of sunlight whitened out her vision as she stepped out of the shade into the clearing. Blinded, she waited for her eyes to adjust. Squinting, the blurred shapes gradually resolved into the ruins of a stone building. The roof was gone and the walls stuck up like the blunt teeth of a fallen giant. Arden walked around what had once been a large structure that had been left to crumble back into the earth. It was built on a headland, the view of the ocean clear on the far side. A lone gum tree clung to the edge of the cliff, roots visible where the earth had crumbled away. Dead, its bare branches stood out starkly white against the dark clouds forming over the ocean. There was a storm coming in, but it was still a way out to sea. Catching sight of a marking on the stone, she moved towards it to examine it more closely. It was weathered almost flat, but tracing the rough gritty surface with her finger, she made out the distinctive shape of a convict arrow.  

Amazed, she walked in through a doorway, trying to work out what type of building it had been. There had been a large central room with many tiny rooms opening from it. They were small, storerooms perhaps? Exploring deeper into the ruins, there was a room that had been more protected at the rear and the purpose became apparent. The stubbed remains of bars were still embedded in the stone in one section and in the corner of the room were cross hatched markings on the walls, counting off the days. She was standing in a convict gaol.

About the Author
L. C. Fenton lives in Sydney, Australia with her husband and two children. In addition to her cake- making business, she works as a freelance copywriter and pens occasional articles for various online magazines. 
Not being one of those people who had a burning desire to be anything in particular, L. C. worked her way alphabetically backwards through the available degrees at Sydney University. 
Surprisingly, given the amount of fun she had at school, L.C. finally managed to graduate with a completely unemployable degree in Philosophy. A Law degree soon followed, however, simply to make it possible for some organization to hire her. 
After ten soul-destroying years wandering aimlessly in the corporate wilderness, L. C. threw it all in and reassessed. Deciding to bring the "one day I will write a book" idea to the present, she started and hasn't stopped. As a huge fan of the romance genre, she writes the kinds of books that she enjoys to read. 
In her spare time, L. C. Fenton...actually she has no spare time. She sleeps or reads copious amounts of romance novels instead of sleeping.

Author Links:


a Rafflecopter giveaway
Organized By:

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

"The Foxglove Killings" Review

9:30:00 AM

23848582

Book: The Foxglove Killings

Author: Tara Kelling

Format: ARC

Page Count: 320 (Final Hardcover)

Publisher: Entangled Teen

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Gramps always said that when the crickets were quiet, something bad was coming. And the crickets have been as silent as the dead. It started with the murdered deer in the playground with the unmistakable purple of a foxglove in its mouth. But in the dying boondock town of Emerald Cove, life goes on.

I work at Gramps's diner, and the cakes―the entitled rich kids who vacation here―make our lives hell. My best friend, Alex Pace, is the one person who gets me. Only Alex has changed. He's almost like a stranger now. I can't figure it out...or why I'm having distinctly more-than-friend feelings for him. Ones I shouldn't be having.

Then one of the cakes disappears.

When she turns up murdered, a foxglove in her mouth, a rumor goes around that Alex was the last person seen with her—and everyone but me believes it. Well, everyone except my worst enemy, Jenika Shaw. When Alex goes missing, it's up to us to prove his innocence and uncover the true killer. But the truth will shatter everything I've ever known about myself — and Alex.

      I don't even know what to really say about this book. I have such conflicting emotions about this book, more leaning towards negative than positive. It was definitely not what I expected it to be. At times it seemed to connect more with the personal relationships going on in the book and their petty drama than the actual killings going on. For instance, all that nonsense with Nora and Alex just irked me. It seemed really irrelevant, and the entire "friendzone" situation is one that bothers me intensely in YA books. Speaking of Nora, the main character, I did not like her. I thought she was naive, spineless, and pretty damn selfish. She spent so much time trying to be a detective when she really wasn't even that good at being one.
   
      On to the good stuff, which although I can't think of a lot, it is there. In the beginning, I almost put down this book because it really didn't interest me. It seemed slow and I was waiting for a plot to happen, which sometimes it felt like the central plot wasn't even the main plot. But that is besides the point. Once I got drawn into the book, I couldn't stop reading it, which is a good thing because that is what all thrillers or mysteries should strive for. In addition to that, when the killer was finally revealed, I was totally in shock. I had guessed everyone except who it really was. Now, I still don't quite understand what their motives were and what the hell was wrong with them because the excuses made just don't make sense to me.

      Overall it was an alright book. In all honesty, in the end it just left me wondering what the hell I had just read.

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random