Friday, July 31, 2015

"Like Candy" Little Review

2:24:00 PM

23976054

Book: Like Candy

Author: Debra Doxer

Format: ARC

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Revenge is sweet, just like candy.

Candy Seaborne knows she’s badass. She takes after her father, an assassin and possibly a spy, although he won’t admit to either. She idolizes him. Her dream is to follow in his footsteps. But first, she has to finish high school.

Biding her time, waiting for real life to begin, Candy craves drama and isn’t above manufacturing some. If you’re a classmate who wronged her or a boyfriend who cheated, watch your back. She’s no pushover, and revenge may be her favorite pastime. 

Jonah Bryson is the senior class heartthrob who breaks all the stereotypes. He’s a jock, but he isn’t the typical player. He’s moody and antisocial. No girl has gotten anywhere with him since his last girlfriend broke his heart.

Candy sees Jonah as a challenge and the perfect distraction. But she may be in over her head because unlike everyone else, Jonah isn’t buying her tough act. He sees the lost, lonely girl inside. He sees too much. When he looks at her that way, she wants to let her guard down and be vulnerable. But that’s the last thing she should do because her father’s world is spilling over into hers, and life is about to get real much sooner than Candy expected.

      I'm not really sure what to say for this review. I really liked it and enjoyed it, but I had my problems with it. The main one being the plot. At times, it seemed like there was no plot and the story was heading nowhere. Then something would happen, and I would get excited but it wouldn't go anywhere. I think it was because the plot was almost divided. It had the potential to be a cute contemporary, and then it ha the potential to be a spy book. For the most part it was a cute contemporary, I really liked the interactions between Candy and Jonah. They were both separately intriguing characters, and together a great pair. I really shipped them until some events occurred... The contemporary aspect seemed to derail towards the end of the book, and I wasn't a fan of this aspect. I think the book alone should have focused on the contemporary aspect. Forget the spy stuff and the sketchy stuff her dad does. Scratch that out and give me the chemistry between these two characters.

      One thing I really respected and appreciated was how the author raised awareness for CREST (Scleroderma). Most young adult books focus on pretty mainstream diseases or cancer and I think it is cool that she highlighted something not very popular and something she herself has.

[Side note: Isn't the cover gorgeous???]


Thank you Netgalley for providing me a copy of this book.

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Release the Kraken PR GIVEAWAY

10:00:00 AM
Release The Kraken PR is giving away TEN book publicity hours to one lucky author! The hours include a brainstorming session over Skype and execution of a customized marketing plan for your book or author brand. The winner will be selected and announced on Release The Kraken website and social media on Aug. 1! Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

TALKTIME #6: You Don't Have to Read

1:18:00 PM
TALKTIME #6: You Don't Have to Read


      So this summer, I had these grand plans in my head that I would read a crap ton of books since I have no life and I don't really do anything. Well that didn't happen. I mean, I am still reading, just not quite as much as I anticipated. Anyway, during this month of July, my reading was a bit slow. I went without picking up a book many days at a time. I opted for Netfix, Youtube, and Vine over reading. And I began feeling really bad. I started thinking about pressuring myself to read. Then a thought crossed my mind. Why am I forcing myself ?
 
      You do not have to read. You don't owe yourself or anyone the act or reading. Reading is something you should enjoy and want to do. This community is supposed to be based on the passion of reading, and if you are forcing yourself to read it, you're not really passionate about it. I know sometimes it feels like you have to read that book on your shelf that has been there for months or the superhyped book. Guess what. You don't have to read. There are people all over the world who live normal, functioning lives that don't read anywhere as much as we do.

      If you want to read. Read. If you don't want to read. Don't. You are in charge of your life. You get to choose how you spend your time and how you enjoy. If you want to binge watch Netflix instead of read, go for it. No one is making you read. You are putting pressure on yourself to read when you don't have to. Being a reader doesn't mean you have to read all the time. If you choose what to read and when to read it without any outside or internal pressure, I promise you that'll you'll be way happier.

      What do you guys think? Do you often pressure yourself to read? Do you feel bad if you don't read? I want to hear your thoughts.

Monday, July 27, 2015

"They Call Me the Alexandra Gastone" Review

5:15:00 PM

25218070

Book: They Call Me Alexandra Gastone

Author: TA Maclagan

Format: ARC

Publisher: Full Fathom Five Digital

Synopsis: When your life is a lie, how do you know what’s real?

Alexandra Gastone has a simple plan: graduate high school, get into Princeton, work for the CIA, and serve her great nation. 

She was told the plan back when her name was Milena Rokva, back before the real Alexandra and her family were killed in a car crash.

Milena was trained to be a sleeper agent by Perun, a clandestine organization from her true homeland of Olissa. There, Milena learned everything she needed to infiltrate the life of CIA analyst Albert Gastone, Alexandra’s grandfather, and the ranks of America’s top intelligence agency.

For seven years, “Alexandra” has been on standby and life’s been good. Grandpa Albert loves her, and her strategically chosen boyfriend, Grant, is amazing.

But things are about to change. Perun no longer needs her at the CIA in five years’ time. They need her active now.

Between her cover as a high school girl—juggling a homecoming dance, history reports, and an increasingly suspicious boyfriend—and her mission in this high-stakes spy game, the boundaries of her two lives are beginning to blur.

Will she stay true to the country she barely remembers, or has her loyalty shattered along with her identity?

I was not a fan of this book which is a shame because I was really looking forward to reading it, especially because of the high Goodreads rating. I neither liked it nor straight out hated it. The plot was extremely predictable and I didn't find myself interested to see what happened. Nothing about the writing style or narration was special or popped out at me. Sometimes I found myself skimming parts that were quite unimportant and frankly could have been omitted. I was not a fan of the main character. I found her to be quite naive and annoying at times. My largest problem with the book was how unrealistic it was. I didn't feel like any of it could take place in real life.

Saturday, July 25, 2015

"The Wrath & the Dawn" Review

3:15:00 PM

23654535

Book: The Wrath & the Dawn

Author: Renee Ahdieh

Format: Ebook

Page Count: 416

Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

My Rating: ★★

Synopsis: A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

      There is a deep sadness in my heart after reading this book. I was so pumped for this book. The hype around this book was enormous and it was one of my most anticipated reads for this year. I love fairy tell retellings and was especially interested in this one because I love A Thousand and One Nights. I had only heard great reviews for this book, so I figured I would love it. Oh how wrong I was.

      I did not like this book. Like at all. In any aspect. The plot was not captivating to me. I had to force myself to read it which is something I never want to do. A lot of the time I found myself bored or uninterested in what was going on. I read the first 60% in depth but after a while I was just so done that I skimmed the last half of the book. There were several side plots going on during the book that I just skipped over because I could care less what was happening with them. When I reached the end of the book, I didn't even care what happened.

      I did not like the characters, except Ralal. I thought Shahrzad was dumb, naive, and annoying. Nothing about Khalid made me soon or care about him. I did not give a single care about their ship.

      I will definitely not be continuing this series which is such a bummer. I'm also really glad I only borrowed this from my library and didn't buy the hardcover from Amazon like I originally was going to. That would have been a huge waste of my money.

Thursday, July 23, 2015

GUEST POST: TAG QUESTIONS WITH MY BESTIE NEESHA

2:22:00 PM
#2
So I asked my friend Neesha to do the same questions I did for "The Help Me" Tag. Onward!  (See previous post for more info on this tag)

1. You have a test tomorrow, but instead of studying you’ve been reading. Which fictional character do you call to help you cram for this test?
Hmm.. it has to be a guy so I can look at him. I'm going to go with David from Rebel Belle cause he is really smart and I like his style.
*yeah right I'm not gonna study*

2. Payday is still 2 weeks away, but you are broke. Which rich character do you ask for money to help you out?
Cyrian from The Chronicles of Nick cause he is the richest character I know.
*I just want money*

3. There is a burglar in your house, which character to you call to help you beat up the burglar?
Raffe probably from Angelfall cause he can kick some hardcore ass.
*speechless*


4. There is a spider/snake/something else that really scares you in your house. Which character do you call to get rid of it for you?
Penryn from Angelfall cause she is pretty badass.
*yasss bitch yass*

5. You’ve had a really bad week, which character do you call to cheer you up?
It has to be someone really funny... it's a hard one... I'm gonna go with Caleb from The Chronicles of Nick even though he is a raising dick. He always made me laugh though.
*insert laughing*

6. There is a zombie apocalypse going on, which character can totally handle him/herself in this apocalypse? Pick the character that would give you the highest survival chances.
Raffe from Angelfall for Round 2. He's got this.
*my body needs a hero come and safe me*

7. Your house caught on fire, you need a place to stay. Which character’s house do you want to stay in?
Why is my house of fire? Why are you asking me such questions? *suggestive eyebrow wiggle* Uhm...Probably Caleb's house. I can get frisky with him while I'm there...
*enough said*

8. Because your house caught on fire, you obviously don’t have any clothes. Which character do you want to borrow clothes from?
I don't think anybody's clothes would fit me. All these characters are so skinny... Whose clothes... wait I know who, Sam from Incarnate. He was a girl once or a few times.
*doesn't have to put clothes*

9. You’ve been wrongly accused of something, which character can weasel him/herself out of any bad situation and can certainly help you get out of this pickle. 
I know who! Virgil from The Chronicles of Nick.
*yeah*

10. You just broke up with your boyfriend/girlfriend, which character do you call to be your rebound. 
Oh I need to look through all of my books to make sure.Why you got to do me like this?... I'm going with Kenji from Shatter Me. I want him to be my boyfriend. He is so great.
*he's my rebound*

As you can see my friend Neesha really likes Nicki Minaj. If you would like to see her social media, you can find her on Tumblr here

The Help Me Book Tag

10:00:00 AM

This tag was created by BookGeekMovieFreak on Youtube. Click here to see her original video. Shannon from Adventures of a Teenage Bookworm tagged the book blogger community in order to spread this tag in the blogger community. 

The Questions:

1. You have a test tomorrow, but instead of studying you’ve been reading. Which fictional character do you call to help you cram for this test?
I would want Hermione Granger from Harry Potter to help me out. That girl is a genius and I'm sure she would help me study my butt off. Also if she could get her hands on the time turner for me, that would be great.
*Hermione knocking out my homework*

2. Payday is still 2 weeks away, but you are broke. Which rich character do you ask for money to help you out?
I would want Warner from Shatter Me to hit me up with some money. That boy doesn't need that money and I'm sure if I could muster up a power out of thin air he would take some interest in me.

*I would want to be like Storm cause she is a badass and my idol*

3. There is a burglar in your house, which character to you call to help you beat up the burglar?
I would want Aiden from the Covenant Series from Jennifer L. Armentrout to beat the shit out of that burglar. He is a badass, a great fighter, and very protective so I know he has my back.

*That burglar better leave or else...*

4. There is a spider/snake/something else that really scares you in your house. Which character do you call to get rid of it for you?
I would want Daemon from The Lux Series to get rid of that spider. Daemon is so protective, even over the little things, so I know if that spider scared me, it would be dead in a heartbeat.

*I like to think Daemon would be shirtless when he is killing that spider*

5. You’ve had a really bad week, which character do you call to cheer you up?
I would want Kenji from Shatter Me to cheer me up. He is such a funny and sassy character that you can really rely on despite seeming like a character just there for humor.

*I like to think Kenji is a funny muffin like Dyan O'Brien*

6. There is a zombie apocalypse going on, which character can totally handle him/herself in this apocalypse? Pick the character that would give you the highest survival chances.
Raffe would be the man I want. Raffe went through the angel apocalypse, I'm sure he can handle the zombie one.
*As long as he is funny like Gabriel, we're good*

7. Your house caught on fire, you need a place to stay. Which character’s house do you want to stay in?
This isn't a character's house so much as a place. I would want to stay at Hogwarts. Hogwarts would be the perfect place to stay. Who knows, maybe I'll become a permanent resident.

*I mean, come on, this place is perfect*

8. Because your house caught on fire, you obviously don’t have any clothes. Which character do you want to borrow clothes from?
I would borrow clothes from Rose from The Vampire Diaries simply because I want to look like a badass.
*I hope the dagger comes included*

9. You’ve been wrongly accused of something, which character can weasel him/herself out of any bad situation and can certainly help you get out of this pickle. 
I would want Harry Potter to get me out of the situation because all he would have to say is "I'm The Chosen One, I killed Voldemort" and I'm home free.

*I just hope no one slaps him*
10. You just broke up with your boyfriend/girlfriend, which character do you call to be your rebound. 
Cal from Red Queen can take me. I'm an a-ok with him being my rebound guy. He's hot and can bend fire. Good enough in my book.
*Who knows, maybe he'll end up with a hot scar*

So I tag EVERYONE. If you want to do this tag, go for it. The Internet is yours to do what you want, within reason of course.

*All GIFs are from giphy.com They did not sponsor this post or any of that jazz*

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

The Book Fangirling Blog Award

3:29:00 PM

I was nominated by The Reading Armchair for The Book Fangirling Blog Award. Thank you so much!

So, the rules for this award are:
  • Create a post to accept your award.
  • Add the blog award button into your post and put it on the side of your blog as a widget.
  • Answer the questions I have above.
  • Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers who you think also deserve this award.
  • Come up with your own 5 questions for your nominees.
  • Link to me your post so I can see your answers.
The Reading Armchair's Questions:

1. How did you come up with the name of your blog?
It was actually rather simple. I thought "I'm a nerd, I'm a girl, and I'll be posting reviews. Smash it all together and you get, The Nerdgirl Review".

2. Do you really like a book that everybody else hates?
Hmmm not really. A lot of people seem to not like Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard but I like it.

3. For which author you're a complete fangirl?
It's a tie between Meg Cabot and Jennifer L. Armentrout. I have loved Meg Cabot since I was little when I first read The Princess Diaries but at the same time Jennifer L. Armentrout's young adult books are addicting. 

4. Which book you can't wait to be published?
I'm really excited for the sequel to Red Queen, Glass Sword. There are so many things I want to happen. 

5. Which book would you reread any time?
I could reread any of the Harry Potter books any time. I love that series so much and it has played a huge part in my life. It really got me into reading and becoming a fangirl. I enjoy reading those books so much that rereading them is still a pleasure every time.

My Questions:
  1. What is the first book you can remember reading?
  2. What are your bookish reading habits?
  3. What is your favorite thing about the book community?
  4. What book would you erase from your memory and pretend you didn't read?
  5. Which fictional universe would you like to be a part of?
My Nominees:

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

1:55:00 PM
I haven't done Top 5 Wednesday in a few weeks because none of the topics really appealed me, but I'm back. Check out other people's responses here on the Goodreads page.

Top 5 Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series

5. Kenji from Shatter Me
Kenji is such an amazing side character. From the Shatter Me series, he is so funny and sassy, yet really intelligent and a great leader. He knows exactly what to say and is a great person to go to for advice. I would love to see a backstory from him or even just a continuation from the events in Ignite Me.

4. Nico de Angelo and Leo Valdez from Heroes of Olympus
So technically Nico and Leo have their own point of view chapters in the books, but I want more from them. These two guys are my precious babies and I love them so much. I want them to have their own books and to just be happy, especially Nico cause my baby has been through so much.

3. Phoenix from The Violet Eden Series (Embrace)
I want a side series from him in two timelines. I want to see what he was like before he met Violet and became a Fallen Angel and then I want to see what it is like being her Guardian Angel because that has to be interesting for him of all people.

2. Raffe from Angelfall
Okay the three books in the Penryn and the End of Days series was not enough for me. I wanted more backstory. I want a series with Raffe that explains how the Angels came to Earth, the Apocalypse, and all that jazz. I need that world to be developed more. 

1. Basically all of the side characters from Harry Potter
I have so many questions on the side characters from Harry Potter. I want to know what it was like for them before Harry Potter, during Harry Potter, and how they were after all the events happened. I'm talking Hermione, Hagrid, all of the Weasleys, Dumbledore, Filch, Snape, Voldemort, the Malfoys, etc. I just want to know everything about everyone.

What do you guys think? Who are some characters you would like to have a side story? 

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

TALKTIME #5: DNFing Books is OK

2:57:00 PM
TALKTIME #5: DNFing Books is OK


     So for this talktime I decided to discuss DNFing books. When I first became an avid reader, I always finished the books I started. I believed that finishing a book is the most important thing of the reading experience. Not finishing a book was like in-completing the experience. It also felt like an insult to the author. The author spent so much time and energy writing a book. I felt like I owed the author a chance to read their book from start to finish.
      
      I had that mentality until this year. I was reading a book that was just so awful that I didn't want to continue it. I dragged along the book, willing myself to continue, telling myself that I had to finish the book. I was finally about twenty percent in the book before I couldn't take it anymore. I removed the book from my device and it felt so liberating.
  
     At first, I couldn't believe what I had done. For an instance, I felt horrible. But a few days passed and I felt better. Over the course of those days I realized that I did not have to finish a book. While reading a book from start to finish is a part of the experience, some experiences don't need to completed. As for the authors, I realized I didn't owe them a damn thing. I, the reader, willingly picked up the book and decided to read it. 
   
      Now when it comes to advanced reader's copies, I have a little bit of a different policy. If I don't like the book but it is still bearable, I will read the book from beginning to end, even if I really don't want to finish it or if it is boring as hell. However, if I read a book that I really, really don't like, borderline hate, or if I have issues with what is being discussed in the book or I don't agree with the author, I will try to read to at least fifty percent before I DNF it. In any case, if I read a book for review and I DNF it, I always give the author, publisher, whoever a reason why I did not finish the book and my thoughts on it to the point I read.

      In any case, it took me a long time to realize this, but reading should be an experience you enjoy. Don't force yourself to read something if you really don't want to read it. You don't owe anyone anything. If you want to read, read, if you don't, don't.

What do you guys think? Are you okay with DNFing books? Or do you always finish a book? I want to hear your opinions.   

Friday, July 17, 2015

Friday Reads: July 7, 2015

5:43:00 PM
I haven't done a Friday reads in months. Just like the Throwback Thursday meme I did yesterday, I hope to get back into the habit of doing this.

Currently I started and finished "No Kissing Allowed" by Melissa West today. It was an ARC I was sent for review from Entangled Embrace. I'm not going to say much until I put up the review but I really enjoyed this New Adult novel. It was fast paced and fun to read. I read it in like three hours.

18698371
(Ignore the cover. It is not a good representation of this book)

Synopsis:


 No kissing. No touching. And definitely no falling in love...
Armed with her besties, an embarrassing number of shots, and her list of 10 Wild Things To Do Before Adulthood, recent grad Cameron Lawson is partying it up before she starts her dream job at New York's biggest ad agency. Her last task? Hook up with a random guy. And while it's so not her style, the super-sexy guy sitting next to her is definitely game. No names. No details. 

At least, that was the plan.

On her first day of work, Cameron discovers her hook-up is none other than Aidan Truitt—her new boss's boss. Talk about failing the “no fraternizing with coworkers” policy on an epic level. Especially when Aidan makes it clear their one night was only the beginning. Falling for him could cost her everything, but sometimes the only way to get what you want is by breaking a few rules...


For the rest of this weekend I plan starting my required reading for college orientation, "Whistling Vivaldi" by Claude Steele. It should be an interesting read. It is about stereotypes.

9662130
Synopsis:
Claude M. Steele, who has been called “one of the few great social psychologists,” offers a vivid first-person account of the research that supports his groundbreaking conclusions on stereotypes and identity. He sheds new light on American social phenomena from racial and gender gaps in test scores to the belief in the superior athletic prowess of black men, and lays out a plan for mitigating these “stereotype threats” and reshaping American identities.

What are you guys reading this weekend?

"The Lemorian Crest" by Hannah L. Clark Cover Reveal

9:00:00 AM
The Lemorian Crest (Cobbogoth #2)
Release Date: July 2015

Summary from Goodreads:

After being raised from infancy in Boston, Mass., Noria (a.k.a Norah Lukens) has no idea what to expect upon entering New Cobbogoth, where she never would have guessed that paths of light can make you vanish; doors can lead to realms both near and far; myths and legends are actual history; a mere kiss can seal two souls as one; and, of course, a stone is never “just a stone.” Her Uncle Jack’s stories never could have prepared her for the magical and dangerous place her native realm is turning out to be.



When the Gihara’s promises begin to crumble, her best friend and soul-mate Jamus (a.k.a. James Riley) is in more danger than ever. Then when his father Lylend abandons her to search for an ancient relic called The Lemorian Crest and she is taken captive by the very people she’s risked everything to save, Noria begins to lose faith in the Cobbogothian gods and the mission they sent her home to accomplish.

Only when a series of new friendships and loyalties are forged in the most peculiar of places, does Noria dare hope again. Hope for Jamus’ safety, for their future together, and for the survival of the entire Cobbogothian race.

Book 1: Uncovering Cobbogoth was published in 2014 by Cedar Fort Publishing.

First book in the series:
(Cover linked to Goodreads)

About the Author
Hannah L. Clark lives with her husband and two children in the Rocky Mountains. She has always known she would be a storyteller. In 2006 she graduated from Utah Valley University with a bachelor's degree in English and immediately began writing her first novel.

Uncovering Cobbogoth was Clark's first book in the seven book Cobbogoth series based on her mythological brain-child, The Legend of the Cobbogothians. It was released in May 2014 through Cedar Fort Publishing. Book 2 in the series, The Lemorian Crest will be released in Summer 2015.

Clark loves running, mythology, singing while playing the guitar, herbal tea, escaping into imaginary worlds, and being with her peeps. Like her heroine Norah, she also kind of believes that trees might have souls, but must clarify that she has never actually hugged a tree. The closest she has ever come to that kind of bizarre behavior was the time she hugged the pillars outside Harry Potter Land. Which, all things considered, is not bizarre at all if you take into account how exquisitely happy she was to finally be there. ;-)

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Throwback Thursday: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

1:10:00 PM


 13047090

So it has been a realllyy long time since I have done a Throwback
Thursday, but I'm trying to get back into the habit of doing it.



Book: Onyx (Lux 2)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Format: Ebook

Page Count: 366

Publisher: Entangled Teen

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that's possible. Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

      So this time last year I finished the second book in The Lux Series, Onyx. If you guys are unaware, I absolutely love The Lux Series. I love the characters, I love the sarcasm, I love the plot, I love everything about it. After I read this book in the series, I went out and bought the bind up collector's editions so I could read all of the books up to Opposition, which wasn't out at the time. Not only did I like the books, but it started my love for Jennifer L. Armentrout. I really loved the writing and humor in this series, so because of that I read her Covenant series, which I loved as well.
      On to this book specifically, I can remember this book giving me several mini heart attacks. Like the Thanksgiving scene... ajdifatantatiishkut. The sexual tension between Katy and Daemon did things to my heart. My love for Daemon grew even more because he is this hot, cocky, sarcastic alien who is so protective and loving towards Katy that it makes my heart melt. I really like Katy because I feel like I can identify with her, but at the same time there were moments when she annoyed the hell out of me with her stupidity.
       Blake... my hatred towards that little shit began the moment he entered the book. I never liked him and I was satisfied with the fate he had later in the series. I do appreciate the fact that he brought out the jealousy of Daemon, but besides that he was a nuisance.

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

"Crank" Mini-Review: The Big Ole NOPE

10:00:00 AM

270730

Book: Crank

Author: Ellen Hopkins

Format: Ebook

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

My Rating: 

Synopsis: In Crank, Ellen Hopkins chronicles the turbulent and often disturbing relationship between Kristina, a character based on her own daughter, and the "monster," the highly addictive drug crystal meth, or "crank." Kristina is introduced to the drug while visiting her largely absent and ne'er-do-well father. While under the influence of the monster, Kristina discovers her sexy alter-ego, Bree: "there is no perfect daughter, / no gifted high school junior, / no Kristina Georgia Snow. / There is only Bree." Bree will do all the things good girl Kristina won't, including attracting the attention of dangerous boys who can provide her with a steady flow of crank.

    Let me make things very clear: I hate verse. Knowing that, I had a feeling I wasn't going to like any of Ellen Hopkins's book despite everyone loving it. That being said, I picked this up because I needed a book written in verse for #CRAMATHON and this seemed like a good option. NOPE.
     I found myself not caring. I didn't care about the main character and her situation. Probably because I have zero empathy, but I just couldn't care. I felt like the entire situation was her own damn fault. I pushed through the book and nothing moved me. I found myself bored mainly until about 50% and I decided to skim the rest of the book. I guess maybe the situation just didn't speak to my coupled with my hatred for verse, but I just didn't like this book.

"Love Story" Incredibly Short Mini-Review

10:00:00 AM

9470371

Book: Love Story

Author: Jennifer Echols

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 243

Publisher: MTV Books

My Rating: ★★

Synopsis: She's writing about him. He's writing about her. And everybody is reading between the lines.. 

For Erin Blackwell, majoring in creative writing at the New York City college of her dreams is more than a chance to fulfill her ambitions--it's her ticket away from the tragic memories that shadow her family's racehorse farm in Kentucky. But when she refuses to major in business and take over the farm herself someday, her grandmother gives Erin's college tuition and promised inheritance to their maddeningly handsome stable boy, Hunter Allen. Now Erin has to win an internship and work late nights at a coffee shop to make her own dreams a reality. She should despise Hunter . . . so why does he sneak into her thoughts as the hero of her latest writing assignment?

Then, on the day she's sharing that assignment with her class, Hunter walks in. He's joining her class. And after he reads about himself in her story, her private fantasies about him must be painfully clear. She only hopes to persuade him not to reveal her secret to everyone else. But Hunter devises his own creative revenge, writing sexy stories that drive the whole class wild with curiosity and fill Erin's heart with longing. Now she's not just imagining what might have been. She's writing a whole new ending for her romance with Hunter. . . . except this story could come true.

     This will be a super short review. I picked up this book for the IgnitedReads book club and had high hopes. Nope nope nope. I hated this book. I didn't like or identify with the main characters. I didn't ship the romance. The romance honestly was sucky. The plot... I didn't like where it went and it felt pointless to me. The last section of the book felt completely different than the rest of the book and kind of canceled everything else that happened. Overall this book was a huge NOPE for me.

"Black Five" by J. Lynn Bailey Cover Reveal

9:00:00 AM
Black Five
Release Date: 11/17/15
Poorhouse Publishing
400 pages

Summary from Goodreads:
No one ever accused Penelope Jackson of being normal, nor did they suspect the dark secret she kept. A dangerous web of deceit and secrecy unravels when news of a stranger’s death puts Penn on a collision course with the very person she’s been hiding from her whole life. Her fragile world is shaken to its core with the sudden arrival of Vacavious and she soon discovers the bizarre and magical world surrounding her seemingly ordinary life.



No one is who they claim to be, including those closest to Penn. A mysterious security detail emerges from the shadows scrambling to protect her as powerful forces await the fall of her protective veil on her eighteenth birthday. 



Penn prepares to fight against unseen evils before it’s too late. The world of Nighmerianotte and its population depends on her survival, for she is the Sanguine, the Black Five.


About the Author
I'm a mother of two beautiful children and a wife to an adorably supportive husband. Seriously, he's adorable and tall. Really tall; he's my high school sweetheart. I'm also a mother of two fur children who are extremely needy, Leo and Vinni.

I live with my family in a small town tucked away in the redwood forest located on California's northern coast. 

I'm quite boring. But in case you're wondering, you can see what my loves, my loathes and things you may not know about me by clicking the menu above.

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

Cover Reveal Organized by:

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random