Tuesday, June 30, 2015

June 2015 Wrap Up

4:35:00 PM
Hey you guys. I can't believe that it is already the end of June. I feel like I have accomplished next to nothing this summer so far. I expected to read so much this month, but I became busy and a massive reading slump came over me. In 54 days I move to my college... *cue emotional breakdown* Onward to the wrap up!

Total Books: 7

Physical Books: 0
Ebooks: 7

Books for Review: 4
Books for Pleasure: 3
Books for School: 0

Books for Review:
Manga Classics: Les Miserables ★★★★
Break Your Heart |review| ★★1/2
Dismissed |review| ★★★
No More Confessions |review| ★★★3/4

Books for Pleasure:
Maybe Someday |review| ★★★★★
Confessions of an Angry Girl ★★★★
Confessions of an Almost Girlfriend ★★★★

Favorite Book: Maybe Someday (like I said in my review, this might be my favorite book of the year)

How did you guys do this month? What were your favorite reads?

Saturday, June 27, 2015

TALKTIME #3: Why I Never Ever Pre-Order Books

4:16:00 PM
TALKTIME #3: WHY I NEVER EVER PRE-ORDER BOOKS


      I have never pre-ordered a book before and I plan on keeping it that way. Pre-ordering a book is a thought that has never crossed my mind before, even for a book I know I will buy or really interests me. Why?
     First, the entire pre-order thing seems off to me. I don't want to pay for a book that I won't be getting for awhile. I would rather pay for a book and know that it is on its way soon. 
     Second, I need time to know if the book is even worth a dime of my money or if I should get it from the library first, and then if it really is all that and a bag of chips, I will buy it. That's why I usually buy books after I have already read them because I don't want to buy a book that I end up hating and want off my shelf. I also like to wait a little bit to see how receptive the book is on Goodreads, Booktube, etc... Hype generally doesn't get to me, but if I can see the book I want to get is doing well then I will be more inclined to buy it.
     Finally, there is no book I want so badly that I need to have it the day it comes out at my house. I don't care what book it is, I am okay waiting to get it. I won't even pre-order a Kindle book because I know the day it comes out I can just buy it normally. I don't need to have it sent to my device at midnight because I know I won't be reading it at midnight.
     What about you guys? Do you pre-order books? What are your thoughts on the process?

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

"No More Confessions" Blog Tour and Review + Giveaway

8:00:00 AM








No More Confessions (Confessions #3)
Louise Rozett
Release Date: 01/25/15
Summary from Goodreads:
For Rose Zarelli, freshman year was about controlling her rage. Sophomore year was about finding her voice. With all that behind her, junior year should be a breeze, right? Nope. When a horrific video surfaces, Rose needs the one person she wants to be done with, the person who has broken her heart twice—Jamie Forta. But as the intensity between them heats up, Rose realizes she isn’t the only one who needs help. The thing is, Jamie doesn’t see it that way—and that could cost them both everything.

***

ROSE ZARELLI is done confessing because confessions are for people who have done something wrong. And I haven't done anything wrong. Here, I'll prove it to you.

1) After my mother got that call, I “borrowed” her car. (Because you can’t steal your mother’s car, can you?) I don’t really remember driving downtown, but I do remember...

2) ...getting past the bouncer at Dizzy’s (I mean, it’s his job to spot a fake ID, so that’s on him)...

3) ...and then later, telling my mother the truth about the bar but lying about how I got in. (A truth totally cancels out a lie, right?) After all, what’s a little duplicity when finding Jamie Forta is the only thing that’s going to keep you from losing what’s left of your mind?

See? Junior year is off to a great start.

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links:
AmazonBarnes & Noble

Review
      I felt like this book was a lot different than the first book, in some ways good, in others, bad. Rose has definitely changed a lot since the first book. I feel like her personality sort of did a 180, which was good and bad. She no longer obsessed completely over her dad's death, however she began obsessing over more trivial things that she swore in the first book she wouldn't, like sex. I think that really just shows the development and change everyone goes through in high school and the rest of their life.
      I really enjoyed the social themes displayed throughout this book, from feminism to alcoholism and PTSD and mental health. Louise Rozett did a great job of expressing these issues, the impact they have on those who are affected by it and those around them, and the changes that are needed throughout life.
      I feel like Rose grew in this book, yet at the same time digressed. She became obsessed with singing and Jamie, which I can understand, however I feel like it diverged from where the first two books were. 
      In the first two books, Rose is focusing on PSAT and the chapters begin with vocab words as well as her commentary. I loved how the chapters started off like that. It showed her commitment to school and her way of staying connected with her father. In this book, there is next to no mention of academics at all, which really disappointed me. I was looking forward to hearing her talk about the PSAT and SAT as well as how her love of vocab that stemmed from her father finally came to use.
      I am not sure if this is the final book of the series like the name suggests, but it worked as a final book. I think the ending wrapped things about well and left the reader with just enough. Things did not go quite how I expected them to go in this book, but overall I was satisfied with it.  

My Rating: 3.75 Stars

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Links to Book One:
GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & Noble

Links to Book Two:
GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & Noble

About the AuthorLouise Rozett is an author, a playwright, and a recovering performer. She made her YA debut with Confessions of an Angry Girl, followed by Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend, both published by HarlequinTEEN. The next book in the series, No More Confessions, is due out January 2015. She lives with her 120-pound Bernese Mountain dog Lester (named after Lester Freamon from THE WIRE, of course) in sunny Los Angeles, and pines for New York City. Visit www.Louiserozett.com for more info. 

Author Links:
WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

Book Tour Organized by:
YA Bound Book Tours

Monday, June 22, 2015

TALKTIME #2: Why Buying Books Makes Me Feel Guilty

5:51:00 PM
TALKTIME #2: WHY BUYING BOOKS MAKES ME FEEL GUILTY



      This past weekend I had my graduation open house. As most of you know, people generally give the graduates money at open houses. Needless to say I did get money. The money is for college, however one person gave me one of those MasterCard gift cards with $100 on it and my parents told me to go ahead and spend it on what I want. Needless to say I immediately went to go buy books.
       For the first time I bought books on BookOutlet. It is definitely different than buying books from Amazon, my usual online source for books. I bought four books for a grand total of $22. I was ecstatic to get so many books for such a cheap price. This excitement soon went away though.
      Buying books makes me feel extremely guilty. This has always been a problem of mine. The only time I haven't bought more than one book at once is when I'm buying books for school. I cannot simply buy one book; I have to buy at least three without feeling guilty. However, the guilt of buying books soon hits me.
      I do not buy physical books that often. Books in general actually. The closest and only bookstore in my county is thirty minutes away so I don't usually buy books from there. My next source of buying books is Amazon. I feel so guilty buying books on Amazon because I will buy like 8 books and spend $80 in less than 30 minutes. That is why I usually limit myself to buying either Kindle books or using my library's online ebook library.
     I am not rich. Far from it. I am going from a high school student to a broke college student this fall. The majority of my money for as long as I can remember has always been applied to school and will continue to be applied to school. I only buy books after holidays such as my birthday and Christmas, however I feel guilty doing this because both celebrations are a month apart so I usually splurge.
      I do not have a large collection of books. I see so many book hauls on bookstragram and booktube that just blow my mine. I cannot fathom that people have that much money to just spend on books every month. Doing a haul is a rare occurrence to me.  
      What I'm trying to get at is buying books makes me feel guilty because I know that is money that can be better used for a better purpose, such as school. It would be nice if in the far future when I am a loaded doctor to buy books whenever I want and a whatever quantity, but for at least the next 15 years, that is not going to happen. And I am okay with that. I do not need to own a lot of books. To me the actual experience of reading is more important than owning books.
      What about you guys? Do you get guilty buying books? Or do you not even think about it? 

Saturday, June 20, 2015

Friday, June 19, 2015

Friday Reads: June 19, 2015

1:27:00 PM

Hey guys! It has been a very long time since I have done a Friday Reads. Hopefully I can get back into the habit of doing it because I love talking about what I am currently reading and I want to learn about what you guys are reading. Onward!


This weekend I am reading "No More Confessions" by Louise Rozett.



18277996 

For Rose Zarelli, freshman year was about controlling her rage. Sophomore year was about finding her voice. With all that behind her, junior year should be a breeze, right? Nope. When a horrific video surfaces, Rose needs the one person she wants to be done with, the person who has broken her heart twice—Jamie Forta. But as the intensity between them heats up, Rose realizes she isn’t the only one who needs help. The thing is, Jamie doesn’t see it that way—and that could cost them both everything.

Back cover copy:
ROSE ZARELLI is done confessing because ​confessions are for people who have done something wrong. ​And I haven't done anything wrong. Here, I'll prove it to you.
1) After my mother got that call, I “borrowed” her car. (Because you can’t steal your mother’s car, can you?) I don’t really remember driving downtown, but I do remember...
2) …getting past the bouncer at Dizzy’s (I mean, it’s his job to spot a fake ID, so that’s on him)…
​3) …and then later, telling my mother the truth about the bar but lying about how I got in. (A truth totally cancels out a lie, right?)
After all, what’s a little duplicity when finding Jamie Forta is the only thing that’s going to keep you from losing what’s left of your mind?
See? Junior year is off to a great start.

This is the third book in the "Confessions" series. I read the first book a couple of years ago but didn't continue the series. However, I was given a review copy for the third book for an upcoming blog tour so I reread the first two books in the series this week and plan on starting the third one today or Sunday, depending on how busy I am because tomorrow is my open house.

So what are you guys currently reading? Comment below!

Thursday, June 18, 2015

TALKTIME #1: Speaking to Air- A Quiet Audience

4:11:00 PM
TALKTIME #1: SPEAKING TO AIR- A QUIET AUDIENCE


      Welcome to TalkTime! This is a segment I started to not only express my bookish thoughts but also to spur discussion between me and you guys. 
       The idea came to me last night while I was watching some Booktube videos. Christina Marie from Lulo Fangirl was discussing people's intentions when it comes to booktube and blogging and the audience they build up. It got me thinking... why don't I have an audience. I post reviews, blitz, etc. and I look forward to comments and discussions to come from them, but I get nothing. Well not nothing. Every once and a blue moon someone will post a comment, but not often. So I thought, what am I doing wrong? Am I not posting enough? Do people not like my content? I get views but I don't get followers.
      After lots of refection and inner debate I decided to make a discussion component to my blog. I really hopes this spurs some reactions from you guys and y'all will start reacting with me more often.

******

      I am not a popular blogger. I know that. I don't have a lot of people following me. At this point, I am okay with that. I have been blogging for less than a year. In my head when I first started this blog I imagined having a ton of followers who love my content and want to talk to me, but it's clear that isn't happening. 
      The majority of the time I feel like I am broadcasting this blog to empty space, or a very quiet audience. I ask questions at the end of my reviews or top 5 wednesdays, however responses aren't given back. It makes me think, are people actually reading my blog. Or do they come and go? Are they just here for the release day blitzes? 
      It is my hope to begin having more comments. I know that sounds really needy and self-centered but I made this blog to not only promote my love for books but to discuss it. How can I have a discussion if no one is talking back? I look at other blogs with tons of comments and I want a follower relationship like that. I want a blog that people feel comfortable to express their opinions on.
      Well that is it for now. I will end this TalkTime with a question and I hope I get at least one response. Do you ever feel like you are speaking to air? 

Introducing... me!

2:32:00 PM
So it occurred to me while I was going through my past posts that I never formally introduced myself. I made an "About Me" page assuming that everyone would go look at that to find out information about me and that a post would be pointless because it would eventually be buried by other posts. Despite this all, I have decided to make a proper introduction.



Hello and welcome to The Nerdgirl Review! My name is Sierra. I am 17 years old and will be starting my freshmen year of college this fall to  study biomedical engineering. I know, not at all literature related but this subject really interests me and my end goal is to become an orthopedic surgeon however if I can I would like to write or edit on the side.

What else... I have a twin brother. He doesn't like to read. Like at all. However my younger brother despite being an extreme jock loves to read fantasy which makes me happy.

When I'm not reading I like to pass the time on Netflix or on Tumblr, which is my obsession.

Reading wise I absolutely love young adult, especially dystopian, paranormal/urban fantasy, and contemporary.

I'm not sure what else to say... If you want to know more about me, feel free to ask. And guys it would mean the world to me if you commented back or just shot an email or message my way. Sometimes I feel like I am talking to no one.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Books I Read in One Sitting

2:56:00 PM
This week's Top 5 Wednesday is the Top 5 books I read in one sitting. Now there are actually a lot of books I have read in one sitting because I am a quick reader, however these are the ones that stick out in my mind
Top 5 Books I Read in One Sitting

5. Burn for Burn
17334509
I remember I read this in one sitting because I was waiting for something interesting to happen and the story to pick up and when I realized that wasn't going to happen I zoomed through it.

4. The Rise and Fall of the Theater Geek
16069019
I sped through this contemporary like no one's business.

3. Everything, Everything
18692431
There was so much hype around this book that when I got the ARC I read through it at the speed of light because I wanted to like it as much as everyone else and talk it about.

2. Red
24721599
This book was an extremely quick read that I read in like two hours.

1. Penryn and the End of Days
I read Angelfall, Worl After, and End of Days each in one sitting when I read them because they are so addicting and I wanted to know what happens and because Raffe is my main man and Penryn is a badass.

What books did you guys eat up? Check out the Goodreads group to see what they all thought.

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

"Scorched" by Jennifer L. Armentrout Release Day Blitz

9:00:00 AM
Scorched RWB banner

We are absolutely thrilled to bring you the Release Week Blitz for Jennifer L. Armentrout's SCORCHED!! SCORCHED is a standalone New Adult Contemporary Romance and is a part of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Frigid Series. And be sure to grab FRIGID, the first standalone in this amazing series!!

    Scorched - Cover

Amazon Paperback ** Amazon Kindle ** Barnes and Noble **iBooks

Excerpt


Tanner

              Aw, shit.

              I watched Andrea walk into the living room, the normal twitch of her hips absent. No one swayed ass like Andrea, and seeing it gone from her step was answer enough. Our normal whatever-the-fuck-it-was between us had gone further than I intended. No doubt what I’d said had cut her, but shit, it was no different than any other day.

              My hand tightened on the neck of the bottle. For the life of me, I had no idea what the hell Andrea Walters’s problem was. Honestly. No fucking clue. One minute, sweet and sugary words parted those pouty pink lips of hers. Next second, she was a fire-breathing dragon from hell—a hot, fire-breathing dragon, but still. Her moods flipped more quickly than cups did during a game of flip cup.

              Maybe it was because she was a redhead?

              I smirked.

              She’d always been this way with me, and the most fucked-up think about it, there was a part of me that actually looked forward to whatever was going to come out of her mouth. Twisted as fuck. It was like a game between us, to see who could hit the hardest without lifting a finger. If nothing else, it was damn entertaining—or at least, it had been until now. Now, I wasn’t too sure about it.

              Those pretty doe eyes of hers had looked suspiciously damp right before she’d looked away, and yeah…that didn’t sit right with me.

              Kyler shot me a look as he walked past me and grabbed a beer out of the fridge, but I watched Andrea sit on the edge of the couch, her posture unnaturally rigid.

              Sydney leaned against the arm. “We’re thinking about leaving early in the morning, around six.”

              My gaze flicked to Andrea, expecting her to make some kind of crack about not getting up that early, but she was abnormally quiet. My spine stiffened.

              “That should put us at the cabin between nine and ten in the morning, depending on traffic.” Kyler stood beside me as he screwed off the cap. “Then we’ll be heading back the following Monday.”

              “Sounds good to me.” I didn’t take my eyes off Andrea as she fiddled with a strap on her sandals, slipping them onto her feet.

              Sydney glanced at me, smiling softly. “You’re definitely off from the fire department?”

              I nodded. Kyler had mentioned weeks ago about wanting to hit up the cabin before everyone headed back to class, and I’d requested the time off then. Which had meant I’d pulled a lot of doubles, but I hadn’t minded it. Wasn’t too different from the twelve-hour shifts we worked in the first place, and I’d only be there until February of next year, and then I was off to the academy. Not that I was in any hurry to leave the fire department, but being a cop was in my blood. Except I wanted to be a good cop. I’d probably still volunteer at the fire hall once I knew what kind of schedule I was looking at on the force.

              “It makes sense if we drive up together.” Sydney toyed with a strand of her hair. “Kyler and I can pick you two up.”

              Andrea had twisted toward Sydney and started to protest the whole idea of taking one car. I zoned out, staring at her as the bottle of beer dangled from the tips of my fingers.

              Damn…she was a cute girl. Nah, she was more than cute, and it wasn’t like this was the first time I’d noticed that. From the first time I’d seen her at the bar with Sydney, she’d done more than just poke my interest. Hell, anyone with eyes knew she was a very pretty girl. Lush lips. Freckled cheeks and thick, dark eyelashes. Come to think of it, she reminded me of a girl I’d had a crush on in middle school. Hell, couldn’t remember that chick’s name, but she’d had freckles and red hair. I think I used to pull on her braids or some annoying shit like that. My lips tipped up in a small grin as I lifted the bottle to my mouth. Andrea was a motherfucking firecracker, though, not the kind of girl who was easily tamed.

              Hell, not the kind of girl you even wanted to tame.


  Side view of Caucasian young woman flipping hair into air.  

SCORCHED Synopsis: Sometimes life leaves a mark… Most days, Andrea doesn’t know whether she wants to kiss Tanner or punch him in the gut. He is seriously hot, with legit bedroom eyes and that firefighter body of his, but he’s a major player, and they can’t get along for more than a handful of minutes. Until now. Tanner knows he and Andrea have had an epic love/hate relationship for as long as he can remember, but he wants more love than hate from her. He wants her. Now. Tomorrow. But the more he gets to know her, the more it becomes obvious that Andrea has a problem. She’s teetering on the edge and every time he tries to catch her, she slips through his fingers. Andrea’s life is spiraling out of control, and it doesn’t matter that Tanner wants to save her, because when everything falls apart and she’s speeding toward rock bottom, only she can save herself. Sometimes life makes you work for that happily ever after…   

Praise for SCORCHED: “Armentrout’s latest new adult offering tackles substance abuse and mental illness — and, thankfully, the love of a good man is not going to be what heals this heroine.” – RT Book Review

Portrait of a pretty teenage girl with redhaircovering her face with her hands

 And don’t miss the first standalone book in the series…

Frigid

FRIGID

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks

  Scorched RDL Teaser 2 

Author Photo  
About Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads


Scorched - Available Now button     InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New  

Monday, June 15, 2015

"Dismissed" Review

2:22:00 PM

25440825

Book: Dismissed

Author: Kirsty McManus

Format: ARC

Page Count: 166

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: The second Lizzie White lays eyes on her new English teacher Brandon Thomas, she is hooked. Brandon is young, cool and sexy - and nothing like the other teachers at her school. But of course he is forbidden from fraternising with the students or forming any sort out of outside hours relationship. And combined with the fact that Lizzie's best friend Taylor declared her feelings for Brandon first (and has therefore claimed theoretical ownership), Lizzie decides it's all too hard and focuses on a budding relationship with fellow student and class clown Gabe instead. But then Jason shows up. Jason is Brandon's trouble-making twin brother who seems to have no qualms about flirting with students or leaving a trail of broken hearts wherever he goes. Before she knows it, Lizzie is dragged into a confusing world of blurred lines and lustful thoughts, where loyalties are tested and true feelings are explored.

      This is the second forbidden teacher romance I have read within a two day span. The first one was a disappoint so I came in with pretty low expectations. Fortunately I liked this one better than the first one, unfortunately I didn't like it that much.
      I think a large problem I had with the story was I hated all of the characters and I did not ship any of the couples together. The twins that the girls pined after to me really weren't anything special. Personally I was kind of repulsed by their physical descriptions. And the girls... they were quite annoying and I was not a fan of them.
      One thing I liked was Lizzie's clear character development. She became a stronger character and didn't allow herself to controlled as much as in the beginning. That being said, she was still not quite in her wits.
       Also one thing I was not prepared for was the book being set in Australia. I was a bit unfamiliar with some of the terms they used and the way their education system was set up.
      Overall the book was okay, but it didn't really appeal to me. It might be better suited for those from Australia who are in their preteens/early teens into contemporaries.

Sunday, June 14, 2015

"Maybe Someday" Mini-Review

1:49:00 PM

17788403

Book: Maybe Someday

Author: Colleen Hoover

Format: Ebook

Page Count: 385

Publisher: Atria Books

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can't take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

A passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance, Maybe Someday will immerse readers in Sydney’s tumultuous world from the very first page.

      Sorry I have been slacking on this blog lately. I haven't been in the blogging mood lately. I just got out of my reading slump so I am slowly getting back into this.
      I am only doing a mini-review for this because I don't know how to make a full review for this book that describes all of my feelings towards it. This was the first time I pulled an allnighter to read a book. It was so worth it.
     This is without a doubt my favorite Colleen Hoover book now and my favorite New Adult Book. Screw "Ugly Love", "Maybe Someday" takes first place. I love this book so much. I felt such a wide arrange of emotions reading this book and I loved every second of it. I loved the writing, the plot, the characters, everything about it. I seriously didn't have any problems with this book at at all. This book to me is sheer perfection. It just might be my favorite book I have read this year so far, knocking away "A Court of Thorns and Roses". This is the type of book I know I will reread over and over again because everything about it just speaks to me.
      If you haven't read it yet, I highly recommend it. You will not regret it!

Thursday, June 11, 2015

"Break Your Heart" Review

2:09:00 PM

22891496

Book: Break Your Heart

Author: Rhonda Helms

Format: ARC

Page Count: (Final Paperback) 240

Publisher: Kensington

My Rating: ★★1/2

Synopsis: Fearless and flirtatious, Megan Porter isn't your typical math major. On the fast track to graduating with honors, a spot in her school's masters program is nearly guaranteed. But her senior year is quickly turned upside-down by her new thesis advisor, cryptography professor Dr. Nick Muramoto. Young, effortlessly good-looking, and intellectual, he's far more intriguing than the immature jocks Megan usually goes for. And as she decodes the hidden messages he leaves in the margins of her assignments and in their emails, she realizes this might be more than a schoolgirl crush--especially after they share a passionate kiss...

Soon Nick and Megan grow closer, and their different worlds begin to merge. But if their relationship is discovered, Nick's career could be over. With Megan's parents close to campus on business, hiding their love becomes an even greater challenge. Yet keeping secrets will lead Megan to discover hers is just one piece in a much larger puzzle--next to her mother's stash of painkillers--that may put her carefully laid plans for the future in jeopardy.

      I will start this review by simply stating the facts: I did not like this book. I didn't hate it. I didn't like it. I simply did not like it.
      I did not like the relationship in the least bit. This relationship was extremely unhealthy on all levels. The main character Megan comes across as a strong and independent character which I did allow, however she allowed this one man to basically take hold of her life. She says that she is attracted to him in every way, especially, but that is complete and under bull. Their attraction is mainly physical despite what they try to say.
      Their physical attraction was not enough for me to ship them at all. On the contrary it made me cringe a lot because so much of the focus of their relationship was physical. I skimmed through the sex scenes because they were so cheesy and territorial in an unhealthy.
      Megan had the potential for me to like her. She was a strong, female, African American character with strong feminist ideals. She was also super stupid and extremely fixated on men. I wanted to like her but in the end her faults outweighed her positive characteristics.
        The professor Megan fixated on, Nick, I never liked. I liked the fact that he is a minority (Asian) and that's about it. He was dumb to allow a relationship between them to occur and he was a very controlling figure and quite selfish. I never once really felt like his attraction towards her wasn't purely physical.
      Overall this New Adult book was not the book for me.
I was provided a copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley for an honest review.

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Top 5 Books With Multiple POVs

9:00:00 AM
So I usually dislike books with multiple point of views. I don't know personally I like a single first person point of view. However there are some books that I am okay with multiple point of views. Here are those top 5.
Top 5 Books With Multiple POVs

5. The Truth About Jack
25206913
This was a cute contemporary and I rather enjoyed both characters' POVs. They were very different people and had different POVs on life in general.

4. Confess
22609310
This was my second Colleen Hoover book so I came in expecting two point of views. I liked both of the POVs though I feel like Owen was pretty creepy to be honest.

3. Ugly Love
17788401
This was my first Colleen Hoover book and it was the first time I actually enjoyed two point of views.

2. The Help
4667024
This book was my everything.

1. Heroes of Olympus Series
I didn't think I would like to read this series in multiple POVs after having read "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" but I ended up really enjoying having different POVs to read. Except Piper. And Annabeth. Cause I hate them. As well as Jason. He can leave too. But Leo and Nico are my babies that I will protect at all costs.

So what books did you enjoy with multiple point of views? You can check out other peoples' thoughts here: https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/12033225-june-topics-2015

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

My 100th Post Giveaway

12:07:00 AM
So my review to "Confess" was my 100th post!!! I never imagined I would have 100 posts on my blog in less than a year of starting it. In honor of this I am hosting a giveaway.

I will be giving away a copy of "Outlander" by Diana Gabaldon, "Burn for Burn" by Jenny Han, and "Only Everything" by Kieran Scott.

This giveaway is open to the US only. Sorry! I am a broke college student. I can't pay for international shipping.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 8, 2015

"Confess" Review

10:25:00 PM

22667115

Book: Confess

Author: Colleen Hoover

Format: Ebook

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Atria Books

My Rating: ★★★★ 3/4

Synopsis: Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

     So I read this book about a week ago but I am now just getting to posting a review... Whoops. Sorry. I have just been in the biggest reading/blogging slump ever. Figures I would be after reading 15 books in May, which I did not anticipate reading so many in the month I took AP exams. Anyway, on to the review.
     This was my second Colleen Hooever book, the first being "Ugly Love". I LOOVEEED "Ugly Love" so I had high hopes for this book. Let me tell you. Those expectations were met. I enjoyed both Auburn and Owen's POVs and storylines, though I had some "Ugly Love" vibes going on throughout the story.
     In the very beginning I was so confused on how the first chapter had anything to do with the rest of the book once I got like three chapters in. However I got near the end and my mind was blown. Colleen Hoover did such an amazing job connecting everything in the book together and bringing the story full circle.
     I will be completely honest with you all: I thought the story was very instalove. After reading the entire book I can understand some aspects of the instalove, especially from Owen's side, but in other parts I was just so confused. Like do people really have sex with people they have interacted with for less than a week? Is having sex with a hot guy really that mind blowing that you will ignore everything else about the situation.
      Besides the few mind-blowing points of the story there was nothing particularly that special about it. It was pretty predicable in Colleen Hoover fashion and the writing wasn't anything super special. Nevertheless I really enjoyed it. I don't really read a lot of New Adult but Colleen Hoover has really guided my way into this genre. I think I might try reading her other books now. I'm thinking of reading "Maybe Never" (I think that is what it is called, correct me if I am wrong) next.

Have you guys read "Confess"? If so what are your thoughts?

*P.S. I hated Trey with a burning passion and hope he rots in hell along with his mother.

Friday, June 5, 2015

"Modern Monsters" Blog Tour

7:30:00 AM

Modern Monsters
Release Date: 06/02/15
Entangled Teen

Summary from Goodreads:
Vic Howard never wanted to go to the party. He’s the Invisible Guy at school, a special kind of hell for quiet, nice guys. But because his best friend is as popular as Vic is ignored, he went...

And wished he hadn’t.


Because something happened to a girl that night. Something terrible, unimaginable, and Callie Wheeler’s life will never be the same. Plus, now Callie has told the police that Vic did it. Suddenly, Invisible Vic is painfully visible, on trial both literally, with the police, and figuratively, with the angry and judgmental kids at school. As the whispers and violence escalate, he becomes determined to clear his name, even if it means an uneasy alliance with Callie’s best friend, the beautiful but aloof Autumn Dixon.


But as Autumn and Vic slowly peel back the layers of what happened that night, they realize that while the truth can set him free, it can also shatter everything he thought he knew about his life...


Buy Links:
AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo BooksiBooks

Guest Post
Pulling from Personal Experience
 A common question I’ve gotten is “Which of your characters are you most like?” and my answer has  always  been  the  same:  Vincent  from Suicide Watch.  Not  because  our  personalities  are  the same,  but  because  writing  Vince—all  of Suicide Watch,  for  that  matter—was  a  very  difficult, therapeutic  experience  for  me  in  getting out a lot of toxic thoughts and  feelings I went through when I was his age. I’ve suffered from anxiety and depression for as long as I can remember, so when these traits show up in my characters...it may not always be intentional in my part, but it is some of me shining through in my stories. 

And  yes,  as  a  writer,  I  think  certain  plot  points  come about  as  a  result  of  experiences.  While discussing topics for blog tour posts, one of the lovely ladies at Entangled said, “I also know you worked in a  mortuary as a teenager so did  you ever pull  from anything that  you encountered  in the mortuary?” I don’t know how she remembered that about me, but bless her. 

Because,  yes,  as  a  teenager,  one  of  my  first  jobs  was as  a  receptionist  in  a  mortuary.  And  it was...definitely  an  experience  the  few  months  I  was  there.  I  got  to  learn  about  the  process  of embalming, I often went on deliveries to take bodies to the airport that were being flown out of state  to  their  families,  I  went  on  pick-ups  with  some  of  the  other  employees  to  pick  up  bodies from hospitals... 

Yeah, good time. Let me tell you, mortuary workers have the darkest, driest senses of humor of anyone you’ll ever meet. 

But the  point  I  was  getting  to  is  that  I  also  witnessed  a lot  of  loss  and  grief  working  there.  No customer  walks  into  a  mortuary  with  a  smile  on  their  face,  though  some  of  them  try.  Either they’re  coming  in  because  they’re  old  and/or  ill  and  want  to  discuss  a  pre-plan—where  they make their funeral arrangements and pay for it before they pass so their family doesn’t have to—or they’re coming in because they’ve lost someone important. 


It was hard, and your heart aches for these people. I witnessed a lot of tears, and a lot of different ways  of  expressing  grief.  Some  people  completely   fell apart  and  couldn’t  even   hold   a conversation. Others were still in shock, moving about the process mechanically. Others still you could tell were coasting along on adrenaline and would seem fine one second, and breakdown in the next.

This kind of ties into another post I did about different people handling situations like this. For as sad as it was, it did come across as interesting to me, being on the outside looking in at families handling  such  a  big  thing  like  death.  Sometimes  I  think  that  job  might  have  been  what  really interested me in learning more about psychology.

I didn’t mean for this post to be such a downer. Can I leave off with a funny mortuary story? One of  the  other  receptionists  was very skittish  around  the  bodies  and  refused  to  go  anywhere  near them. Two of the guys—sons of the mortuary owner—decided it would be fun to play a prank on her. One of them  laid on a gurney with a  sheet over  him while the other went into the office to ask Receptionist to come help him bring in some flowers delivered for a service.  I’m sure you can imagine the scream she let out when walking by a “body” and it reached out to grab her.

...Okay, so it wasn’t very funny for her.

We won’t go into some of the jokes they played on me.

I told you mortuary people have a dark sense of humor.

About the Author
"I like unicorns and cats and games...and stuff..." - quality author quote by Kelley

Kelley York was born in central California, where she still resides with her lovely wife, step-daughter, and way too many cats, while fantasizing about moving to England or Ireland. (Or, really, anyplace secluded.) She has a fascination with bells and animals and Disney. Her life goal is to find a real unicorn. Or to at least write about them. She occupies her spare time with video games,designing covers, playing on Tumblr, and watching anime.

Kelley is a sucker for dark fiction. She loves writing twisted characters, tragic happenings, and bittersweet endings that leave you wondering and crying. She strives to make character development take center stage in her books because the bounds of a person's character and the workings of their mind are limitless.
Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz Organized by:

Thursday, June 4, 2015

"Days Like This" Release Day Blitz + Giveaway

7:00:00 AM

Days Like This
Release Date: 06/02/15
Bookish Group Press
New Adult

Summary from Goodreads:
Sometimes the only thing standing between fear and hope is yourself.

Almost a year ago, nineteen-year-old Cassie Harlen had a lot to deal with. A stack of college acceptance letters waiting for answers, a proposal from the boy next door, and a mother whose most recent bipolar episode left Cassie hurt and confused. Tired of cleaning up the messes caused by her mother's disorder, of resenting her mother for not being there, and scared of being trapped by an inevitable future—which included marrying Graham Tucker—Cassie did the only thing she could think of to keep from ending up like her mother: she left.

Graham never knew why Cassie walked away. He woke up one morning and she was gone—along with the life that he’d created around her. After eleven months, Graham has a new plan for his future. One that doesn't involve Cassie Harlen.

When Cassie's mom nearly burns down her house, Cassie’s forced to return home. Back to a mother she’s tried to ignore and the guy she’s been unable to forget. Graham doesn't know how he's going to spend the whole summer living next door to the person who broke his heart without letting those old feelings push through to the surface.

Neither does Cassie.


Buy Links:
AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo BooksiBooksOne More Page (Signed Copies)

Playlist for DAYS LIKE THIS: 
Sweet Emotion - Aerosmith 
Angel - Fleetwood Mac 
Never Going Back Again - Fleetwood Mac 
Tiny Dancer - Elton John 
Comfortably Numb - Pink Floyd 
Moaning Low - Billie Holliday 
Gentle On My Mind - Dean Martin
 All I Could Do Is Cry - Etta James 
You Go to My Head – Frank Sinatra 
And it Spread - The Avett Brothers 
River - Joni Mitchell                 
You and I - Johnnyswim 
It Ain't Me Babe - Johnny/June Cash 
You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go - Bob Dylan 
The One You Should’ve Let Go – The Lone Bellow 
The Morning Comes - Delta Rae 
Every Night – Imagine Dragons

About the Author
Danielle Ellison spent most of her childhood reading instead of learning math. It's probably the reason she can't divide without a calculator and has spent her life seeking the next adventure. It's also probably the reason she's had so many different zip codes and jobs. 

When she’s not writing, Danielle is probably  eating cookies, fighting her nomadic urges, watching too much TV, or dreaming of the day when she can be British. She has settled in Northern Virginia, for now, but you can always find her on twitter @DanielleEWrites.

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz Organized by:

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random