Saturday, February 28, 2015

February Wrap-Up

2:17:00 PM
So this month I read 15 books... Wow. I' pretty sure that's the most I have ever read in one month. I'm really proud of myself. So here's a breakdown of my month.

Physical Books Read: 10
Ebooks Read: 5

Books For Enjoyment: 9
Books For Review: 3
Books For School: 3

My Ratings:
Red Queen ★★★★★
The Darkest Part of the Forest ★★★
Red ★★★★
My Best Everything ★★
Daimon  ★★★★★
Openly Straight ★★★
Sentinel ★★★★
Brave New World ★★★★
Apollyon ★★★★★
Elixir ★★★★★
Deity ★★★★★
Ignite Me ★★★
Unravel Me ★★★★★
Desiree's Baby ★★★★
Seeker ★★

Some of these books have reviews on my blog, some of them are only on my Goodreads, while one I am waiting to put the review up closer to the release date.

How did your reading go this month?



Monday, February 23, 2015

"The Darkest Part of the Forest" Review

3:17:00 PM

20958632

Book: The Darkest Part of the Forest

Author: Holly Black

Format: Hardback

Page Count: 328

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Children can have a cruel, absolute sense of justice. Children can kill a monster and feel quite proud of themselves. A girl can look at her brother and believe they’re destined to be a knight and a bard who battle evil. She can believe she’s found the thing she’s been made for.

Hazel lives with her brother, Ben, in the strange town of Fairfold where humans and fae exist side by side. The faeries’ seemingly harmless magic attracts tourists, but Hazel knows how dangerous they can be, and she knows how to stop them. Or she did, once.

At the center of it all, there is a glass coffin in the woods. It rests right on the ground and in it sleeps a boy with horns on his head and ears as pointed as knives. Hazel and Ben were both in love with him as children. The boy has slept there for generations, never waking.

Until one day, he does…

As the world turns upside down, Hazel tries to remember her years pretending to be a knight. But swept up in new love, shifting loyalties, and the fresh sting of betrayal, will it be enough?


      Ugh, where do I begin. Let's get this out first: I love Holly Black. She has a great writing style and her last book "The Coldest Girl in Coldtown" was my favorite standalone book that I read last year. That being said, this book was a disappointment to me. I received this book the day it came out and I couldn't wait to read it. I was so excited and then I actually read this book and it didn't do anything to me. I didn't like the book, I didn't hate it. The plot was okay I guess, but it really bothered me at times. Don't get me wrong, the writing style was good, but the plot didn't captivate me. And the characters... I didn't really like the characters. I found them boring and at times extremely annoying, especially Hazel who just angered me to no end. I think part of the reason why I didn't like the book is because in general I don't like faeries.

FAVORITE QUOTE:
"Oh yes I have seen the acorn before the tree. I have seen the egg before the hen. And I will see them all again." -Random faerie

     Overall the book was "eh" at best.                                          




Saturday, February 21, 2015

"My Best Everything" Review

2:12:00 PM

20783745

Book: My Best Everything

Author: Sarah Tomp

Format: ARC

Page Count: (Final Published Hardcover, 400 pages)

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

My Rating: ★★

Synopsis: You say it was all meant to be. You and me. The way we met. Our secrets in the woods. Even the way it all exploded. It was simply a matter of fate.

Maybe if you were here to tell me again, to explain it one more time, then maybe I wouldn’t feel so uncertain. But I’m going back to the beginning on my own. To see what happened and why.

Luisa “Lulu” Mendez has just finished her final year of high school in a small Virginia town, determined to move on and leave her job at the local junkyard behind. So when her father loses her college tuition money, Lulu needs a new ticket out.

Desperate for funds, she cooks up the (definitely illegal) plan to make and sell moonshine with her friends, Roni and Bucky. Quickly realizing they’re out of their depth, Lulu turns to Mason: a local boy who’s always seemed like a dead end. As Mason guides Lulu through the secret world of moonshine, it looks like her plan might actually work. But can she leave town before she loses everything – including her heart?

The summer walks the line between toxic and intoxicating. My Best Everything is Lulu’s letter to Mason – though is it an apology, a good-bye, or a love letter?


            My thoughts on “My Best Everything”. I received this ARC on Netgalley and I was so excited to read this. I thought it was going to be a cute contemporary with a dark undertone in which a girl struggles to make ends meet in order to go to college, thus going into business with a shady guy that she eventually falls in love with. That was kind of the case.
            I’m going to be honest: this book was a disappointment and bored me. At about 60% in, I decided to skim the rest of the book. This makes me so sad because this book had so much potential. When I started the book, I really enjoyed the writing style. It was written as a letter and the syntax was beautiful. After a while though the writing style just wasn’t enough to capture my attention. Part of the problem was I didn’t connect with the characters. In order for me to really enjoy a book, I want to not only like the plot, but I need to become emotionally invested in the characters. Especially in contemporary, I want to love the characters so that every time they interact I get overwhelmed with emotions. That was not the case in this story. The two characters that were supposed to fall in love, Lulu and Mason, I didn’t care for their relationship. The first time they kissed, it was no big deal to me; I just wanted more than anything for the story to continue and be over.
            The plot had the potential to be intriguing, however it fell short. I feel like the story focused more on the moonshine than the romantic aspect. A huge reason why the plot didn’t impress me was because of Lulu. Everything that happens is entirely her fault. For an “AP Chemistry” she is awfully stupid. The whole reason why she is making moonshine is because she didn’t have money to go to college. I don’t buy it. As a senior in high school who is endeavoring in the college journey, I know for a fact that before and when you are accepted to a college, colleges force you to fill out every financial aid form under the Sun. And if she was truly an academically superior student, she would have filled out all the forms before the deadlines. So I guess the reason why the plot was shaky for me was simply because I couldn’t get over how poorly developed of a character Lulu was. The whole plot in general at times seemed completely irrelevant and pointless at times, leading to me skimming most of the book. The ending, well it was a thumbs down like the rest of the book.
            Overall this book was a letdown for me. It had so much potential but so many aspects of the story didn’t come through.

This is an honest review for an ARC on Netgalley through Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Facebook Page

12:59:00 PM
Hey guys! Here's some news. I decided to make a Facebook Page, "The Nerdgirl Review". Not really sure what I'm going to do with it quite yet, but I know I'll be posted more updated stuff on books, fandoms, etc. So if you wouldn't mind, head on over and like it! Many thanks in advance.

Facebook Link

Friday, February 20, 2015

Currently Reading: Friday February 20, 2015

2:56:00 PM
      Today I have no school because it is -30 degrees Fahrenheit outside, so I have plenty of time to read, that is if I don't get distracted by social media...
      Yesterday was also a no school day so I started an ARC of "My Best Everything" by Sarah Tomp.
20783745
      My thoughts so far... I am about 35% in and I'm really disappointed. I was really looking forward to reading this. I expected this to be a cute contemporary in which a girl struggles to make money for college while getting wrapped up with a bad boy. That is not the case. So far nothing substantial has happened and everything that has happened is her own damn fault. Hopefully this picks up pace and the contemporary aspect of the book actually comes through.
     If I finish this book sometime this weekend, I plan on reading the ARC of "Red" by  Alyxandra Harvey sent to me by Entangled Teen. Now this book seems really interesting. Here is a synopsis:
24721599

Bad girls burn hot…
Red is the color of Kia Alcott's hair.It's her temper, which blazes hot and always gets Kia into way too much trouble.And it's the color of fire. Fires that Kia can start…just by thinking about them.
When her latest “episode” gets her kicked out of school, Kia is shipped off to her grandmother, who works for the wealthy Blackwoods. It's an estate shrouded in secrets, surrounded by rules, and presided over by a family that is far from normal…including the gorgeous and insolent Ethan Blackwood.
Ethan knows far more about the dangers of the forest surrounding the estate than Kia can ever imagine. For this forest has teeth, and Ethan is charged with protecting the outside world from its vicious mysteries.
But inside, even the most vibrant shade of red doesn't stand a chance against the dark secrets of the Blackwood family…
      Seems really interesting, right? I'm excited to read this.
      If by string of luck I power through these two ARCs then I'm going to read "The Darkest Part of the Forest" by Holly Black. I've been meaning to read this for forever. What are you guys reading this weekend?

Thursday, February 19, 2015

"Openly Straight" Review

1:35:00 PM

16100972

Book: Openly Straight

Author: Bill Konigsberg

Format: E-book

Page Count: 341

Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Rafe is a normal teenager from Boulder, Colorado. He plays soccer. He's won skiing prizes. He likes to write.

And, oh yeah, he's gay. He's been out since 8th grade, and he isn't teased, and he goes to other high schools and talks about tolerance and stuff. And while that's important, all Rafe really wants is to just be a regular guy. Not that GAY guy. To have it be a part of who he is, but not the headline, every single time.

So when he transfers to an all-boys' boarding school in New England, he decides to keep his sexuality a secret -- not so much going back in the closet as starting over with a clean slate. But then he sees a classmate break down. He meets a teacher who challenges him to write his story. And most of all, he falls in love with Ben . . . who doesn't even know that love is possible.

      I honestly do not have much to say about this book. It was a nice, short, sweet contemporary that pointed and and exploited several social issues that plague modern society. I thoroughly enjoyed the (bro)romance Ben and Rafe had, however I wish the story had taken a different direction and didn't go about as it did. The ending was a bust for me, but I still liked reading it. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to read a sweet contemporary with a LGBT main character.

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

"Sentinel" Review

8:59:00 PM

Sentinel (Covenant, #5)

Series: Covenant

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 297

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

My Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: It's a beautiful day for a war.

As the mortal world slowly slips into chaos of the godly kind, Alexandria Andros must overcome a stunning defeat that has left her shaken and in doubt of their ability to end this war once and for all.

And with all the obstacles between Alex and her happily-ever-after with the swoonworthy Aiden St. Delphi, they must now trust a deadly foe as they travel deep into the Underworld to release one of the most dangerous gods of all time.

In the stunning, action-packed climax to the bestselling Covenant series, Alex must face a terrible choice: the destruction of everything and everyone she holds dear… or the end of herself.

     This was the last book in the "Covenant" series and... oh my goodness gracious this made me so damn emotional. I'm sad it ended but at the same time I'm glad it is over because that means my precious babies are finally done with all of the bullshit they had to put up with. There's not much I can say in this review that I haven't said before. I love the majority of the characters and the characters I hate, I hate with a burning passion. There were deaths, there was the addition of Perses (one of my new favorite characters) and a possible life (so glad the book didn't take that route otherwise I would not have continued reading the book despite how much I really like this series), and there was love. The good side had some gains and loses, but in the end they prevailed. They lost a lot of characters and in return they gained Perses and Seth. I am all for Perses but Seth... I'm glad he got some common sense in the end but I can never really forgive him for not thinking properly. The gods... I guess they were kind of useful in the end. Speaking of the end... originally I was so heart-broken but then things resolved and I was content. It was a bittersweet ending to what is now one of my favorite series and I am so glad I came across this series. Every time I look at this series on my shelves, a little flutter comes to my chest and I get a happy little smile on my face.

"Apollyon" Review

7:53:00 PM

9897164

Series: Covenant

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 343

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.

      First and foremost, Jennifer L. Armentrout has done it again. She is a goddess. Her books give me life. This book did not disappoint. This book was filled with action, emotions, and romance and I loved every single second of it. Seeing Alex change from a Seth obsessed girl to this strong badass Apollyon really made me appreciate character development and individuality. Being true to ourselves is what defines us a humans and we shouldn't allow anyone try to control us. Seth... don't get me started on him. How could he willingly take someone's essence away? Lucian on the other hand, I always knew he was super shady. I've always preached to the gods about this but the love Alex and Aiden have is incredible. Even in her messed up state, Aiden did everything he could for her because he loves her. Sometimes I think he loves her a little bit too much because he beats himself up all the time and has little pity parties. Ghost Caleb, Deacon, and Apollo also make this book so great. They are funny and I so wish I had them as friends. Macus also grew on me a lot. He is a lot less of a dick than I thought and it was a delight to see his personality grow. The gods...well I just enjoy most of them so much. They are basically children. SPOILER: As for Ares, well I totally called him being behind this situation. He is always trying to screw everything up.
      As far as story line goes, yes it was a tad bit predictable, but nevertheless it was still enjoyable and exciting. I feel really bad for us mortals. The world is going to shit and no human knows why. One problem I had with this book was the many times Alex and Aiden hooked up. I mean I have never been kissed or had a boyfriend or girlfriend, but seriously the amount of times they kiss and have sex is ridiculous. Are people really that horny? Do people go at it that often? Seriously Alex and Aiden are like rabbits. At first I enjoyed their little sessions but after a while I got tired of it because at times it seemed irrelevant or poorly timed.
      Overall this book was an excellent read for me. The story was gripping, the characters are the bomb, and I can't get enough of it. So sad "Sentinel" is the last book.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

"Deity" Review

6:11:00 PM

9761778

Series: Covenant

Author: Jennifer L Armentrout

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 330

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press (first published October 31st 2012)

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: "History is on repeat, and things didn't go so well the last time. "

Alexandria isn't sure she's going to make it to her eighteenth birthday--to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she's a goner... and so is Aiden. 

If that's not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time "training"--which really is just Seth's code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time--she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome. 

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she's caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed... and destroyed. 

Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate...

      I want to start off by saying that Jennifer L. Armentrout is a freaking genius and goddess. Every book I have ever read from her is pure gold. She creates such dynamic characters and gets you so wrapped up in the story.
      In this book, I love how we see all of the characters change and develop, whether it is for better or for worse. I also enjoyed how we were immersed more in the world and Greek mythology. The fact that Seth will basically drain Alex dry is a terrifying way to lose one's sense of self. At the end when she is how she is, I was aghast because it is just not her. It was intriguing to learn how the Apollyon is created from a pure and half-blood which led to the sad revelation of Alex's father. I loved being introduced to the gods, especially Apollo who is just the best ever. I was sad to see how Seth digressed as a person and how little concern he has for Alex's independence. It is sad how easily manipulated he is by Lucian, who mind you, I always knew was a shady mofo. I know some of the situation and world ending stuff is not his fault, but in the end Seth is in control of his actions, so I don't really like him as of now. Maybe he will redeem himself, maybe not. Of course, the world is falling to shambles yet Aiden and Alex still manage to have a love that I envy so much. *sigh* I really thought I was going to favor Seth over Aiden, but oh how the tides have turned.
      On a side note, how cute is Luke and Deacon?! I ship it so hard. Side side note, Caleb and the Underworld scene: enough said.

FAVORITE QUOTE:
"Emotions that are forced always end in tragedy". Damn Leon aka Apollo, that was deep.

Overall this book was literary gold and I'm ready to move on in this series and see what happens.


"Ignite Me" Review

4:45:00 PM

13188676

Series: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Format: E-book

Pages: 421

Publisher: HarperCollins; Reprint edition (February 4, 2014)

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

      So the "Shatter Me" series was quickly becoming one of my all time favorite series. The writing was absolutely beautiful and the message Tahereh conveyed and how she delivered it was amazing. Then this book happened. Don't get me wrong, I still enjoyed it, but it didn't have the same spark as the other two books. The beautiful writing and metaphors that I craved were gone and I realize that is due to Juliette changing and really developing as a character and becoming a strong person, but I still miss it. The plot of the story didn't go where I thought it was going to go. I felt like it focused too much on the budding romance between Warner and Juliette (which if you read my theory about the whole love situation in this series from my "Unravel Me" Review, I was totally right) than the message I felt like the first two books were trying to deliver about the society we live in and where it is headed. Nevertheless, I still enjoyed the book, the romance had me squealing, and I wanted to kill Adam and kiss Kenji. To be honest though, that was a bullshit ending and it still pisses me off after a week from finishing the book.

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Top 5 Wednesday: Books Set in Your Region

8:10:00 PM

So I'm from Michigan, but nothing good ever happens in Michigan, so I'm going to post the Top 5 books set in the Midwest in no particular order.

[P.S. Sorry for not posting a lot  lately. I had exams and I'm in the processing of finishing stuff up for my applications and financial aid for colleges so I've been making a lot of life altering decisions.]

5. Divergent
Chicago. Enough said.

4. The Fault in Our Stars
Indianapolis is a pretty banging city.

3. Little House on the Prairie
Farming. That is the midwest summed up.

...
I can't think of any more of the top of my head XD

Sorry for the crappy Top 5 Wednesday. I finished the "Shatter Me" series and I am working on finishing the "Covenant" series so a bunch of reviews are on the way.


Tuesday, February 3, 2015

"Unravel Me" Review

12:20:00 PM

13104080

Series: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 496

Publisher: HarperCollins (December 31, 2013)

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it's almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She's finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam's life.

      This book, this second book in the "Shatter Me" trilogy was just as good as the first one. Tahereh Mafi has a gorgeous writing style and the way she draws light on the flaws of society is amazing. The varied syntax just captures me and I couldn't stop reading. Juliette has such an interesting mind and her story is a fascinating tale. Right from the beginning the writing hooked me in. The writing was so poetic and kept building up into beautiful extended metaphors. I love how throughout the book, the writing never stopped amazing me or leaving me in pure awe.
      The whole Adam situation... I don't know how I feel about that. Honestly I think the entire love triangle itself is a bit of thinker. I feel like Juliette's love for Adam was a bit to instalove, that is just isn't possible to be that in love with someone. I think she loves the idea of him, someone so familiar from her path and someone attainable (or rather he use to be) appealing. I also think Adam might not love her for all the right reasons. I understand that she is the girl he liked from the past, but is it possible to hold on to the infatuation for so long. Does he really love the new her? Or is it once again the idea of her?
      Then there's Warner... the more I read about him, the more I like him yet at the same time hate him. He is such a complex character with deeply rooted psychological daddy issues. I'm not sure why he has such a strong desire to be with Juliette. And Juliette, I don't know about her feelings for Warner. I think he puzzles and intrigues her, she wants to fix him, and overall is just sexually attracted to him. I mean, I'm not going to lie, the physical appearance of Warner is almost enough for me to forget how twisted of a human being he is.
      It was really interesting to learn more about Kenji. I originally thought he was present for just comedic relief, but it became very clear that he is a very important character, one who knows the time and place for being serious. At times, the serious part of Kenji kind of freaked me out, but then I would realize that it was necessary for him to behave the way he does because he helps life run smoothly at Omega Point.
      The whole Anderson situation... god I hate that man. I understand why Warner is so messed up. (I also see why Warner doesn't go by his first name. I laughed so damn hard when I read what his name is.) The way that Anderson also ties in with Adam was mind-blowing. I was not expecting that, and honestly I want more backstory on that.
      Juliette really grew as a character throughout this whole story. There were times when she was a weak, scared girl, but then she learned to get her shit together because she is not the only person that matters anymore. She grew from hating her abilities with all of her soul, to mildly accepting them and realizing they are necessary for the war. I'm really interested to see where things go with her and Warner because their new "bonding" and revelations could really affect not only their lives, but the war. Also, Warner has slightly developed as a person, but doesn't think he can change, and I think that is really going to push Juliette to try to fix him.
      (Can I just say, that ending though... it messed with me. Hell, this whole book messed with my head.)

FAVORITE QUOTES:
- "Loneliness is a strong sort of thing. It creeps up on you, quiet and still, sits by your side in the dark, strokes your hair as you sleep."   That quote continues the whole page, but damn it's beautiful.
-  "It's okay to kill a man if someone else deems him unfit to live." Isn't that war? A bunch of guys determine who lives and die because they believe they are mighty enough to make that determination.
- "Just because I'm going to hell doesn't mean you'll ever deserve her." -Warner (BURRNNN!)

      Overall this book lived up to my expectations, I would totally recommend this series, and I can't wait to read the last book.

Sunday, February 1, 2015

"Riding the Odds" Review

6:38:00 PM

24467261

Book: Riding the Odds

Author: Lynda K. Scott

Format: ARC

Page Count: 368

Publisher: (February 2, 2015) Entangled

My Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Spaceship captain Tara Rowan has her secrets. One is her Rider, Zie. Zie is an organic symbiote—like a living tattoo—that enhances Tara's physical abilities, including superhuman strength and reflexes. The other is the past she's tried so hard to leave behind her. But it's not until oh-so-sexy Trace Munroe decides to blackmail Tara that she realizes her secrets aren't so secret after all...

Trace is a Holy Knight who does everything by the book. Desperate to find a missing princess, he'll do whatever it takes to rescue her and bring her kidnappers to justice. Including blackmail. Yet something about the feisty ship captain draws Trace in and stirs his desire—even if she is a wanted criminal. Because the last thing he needs is any complications...especially when he has his own secrets to hide.

“Riding the Odds” was a sci-fi romance book that had me hooked from the start. This sci-fi has remarkable world building and the concept behind the Riders—beings that are live tattoos that enhance human abilities—is so intriguing. The world kept getting more interesting with new developments and the different sci-fi elements.
The romance part of the book was equally as satisfying. Tara and Trace have such great chemistry despite their best efforts not to have it. Tara is a strong, independent woman who doesn’t let anyone push her around. Her dedication and loyalty is very aspiring because no matter how much her life is in danger, she will do is right. Trace… while his character was pretty interesting and I really shipped him with Tara, his character kind of bother me some. There are decisions he made that I didn’t entirely understand. The whole memory situation to me felt kind of irrelevant, though I understand why it was used, especially near the end when I nearly had a damn heart attack.
Overall this sci-fi romance was a highly satisfying quick read and I would totally recommend it with a solid four stars.

-I would like the thank the wonderful team from Entangled Publishing for sending me an ARC of this story. I’m so thankful for having the chance to review this book.


My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random