Saturday, November 14, 2015

"Rules of Seduction" Review


24852080

Book: Rules of Seduction

Author: Jenna Mullins

Format: ebook

Publisher: Paper Latern Lit

My Rating: ★★★1/2

Synopsis: The first rule of seduction is: don’t fall in love. 

Fresh out of college, Dani Young heads for the LA sun to chase her dream of becoming a screenwriter-director. So when her former BFF turned actress Elise offers Dani the opportunity to work on the hit teen show Vamp Camp, Dani can’t refuse, even if it comes at a price: Elise wants Dani to seduce her boyfriend, Vamp Camp superstar Tate Lawrence. Turns out Elise has some major trust issues, and needs Dani to test Tate’s faith. The only rule: don’t fall in love with him.

Sure, Dani doesn’t mind occasionally glimpsing Tate’s megawatt smile…or accidentally-on-purpose brushing up against his perfect torso…but she’s no fool. There’s no way she’d ever fall for a shallow celebrity and no way one would fall for her, a lanky movie nerd. 

But amidst vampire-crazed fans, a conniving fellow intern, and a devilishly handsome showrunner, Dani feels like all the rules she used to know have disappeared, except for one: Love doesn’t play by the rules.

Part The Devil Wears Prada, part How To Lose a Guy in Ten Days, this story of friendship and romance is sure to appeal to fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jennifer E. Smith, and Anna Todd.

      I was approached by Paper Latern Lit to review this book, and although I have been pretty busy with college, I decided to give this book a chance because the premise of the book looked interesting and it has been a while since I have read what is marketed as a new adult book. (Although this book is marketed as a new adult book, it really has more of a young adult feel. I don't there is anything in it all all that makes it feel like it could be a young adult book.)

      I quite enjoyed the main character, Dani, because she is a fresh out of college woman trying to make it big as a screenwriter/director. I think the main reason why this appealed to me so much is because my best friend in the entire world is going to college to become a director and I myself am interested in screenwriter, though I am not going to college to become one and will probably never actually become one. My screenwriting career began and ended in high school. But that's not that point. She has ambitions and dreams that she works so hard for. In the beginning you see how much she is really trying to pave her screenplay forward, yet at the same time, her idea is clearly too cliche and forced, and she realizes that in the end, which makes me really happy.

      When it comes to the whole romance bit of the book and seduction, I think it is clearly obvious based off the rules of young adult/new adult how this is going to end. It was still entertaining to read the bits in between, though I will admit, there were times when I felt what was going on was irrelevant and the beginning was a tad boring.

      Overall, it was a light, quick read with a feel good air to it. It's the type of contemporary that although doesn't really have anything unique going for it, you still want to read it.


*Thank you Paper Latern Lit for sending me a copy of this book. It is much appreciated! 

2 comments:

Please leave a comment down below because I would love to hear your thoughts. To ensure you see my reply, make sure to click "Notify Me".

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random