Thursday, December 31, 2015

TALKTIME #9: My Weird Book Buying Habit

10:00:00 AM

TALKTIME #9: MY WEIRD BOOK BUYING HABIT

      Welcome to the first Talk Time of 2016! Last year, wow that's so weird to say, I did eight talk times, which isn't that many, but hey, it's better than none. This year, I want to do more discussion type posts on my blog, so in order to accomplish this goal, I plan on doing more talk times, hopefully at least once a week, though I make no promises that I will actually follow through with that.



      So today I thought I would talk to you all about a weird book buying habit I have. There is no easy way to say this, so I guess I'll jut have to be as straightforward as I can. Sometimes when I want to read a book, I don't want to buy a physical copy of the book. Buying physical books makes me feel incredibly guilty like you have no idea. When I look at all the physical books on my bookshelf, I feel a mixture of pride and also a twang of sadness. I think about what all the money I spent on the books could have been spent on instead. This guilt is only intensified when I look at the books I hate. I hate not liking the books I own after reading them. It makes me feel like I wasted not only my time but my money. As a result of this, I'm weary of buying physical books without reading them first.



     Most of the time, when I first read a book, I either read the ebook from my library or buy the Kindle version. After I've read the book an I really like it, as in it is now a favorite book and I love it with all of my heart, I buy a physical copy of the book to put on my bookshelves.



     Now when it comes to series, this scenario varies. Sometimes after enjoying the first book I will buy all the books in the series, other times, I will just buy the first book as a reminder of my love for the series. In really rare cases, I will read each book of the series one at a time and buy the physical book after reading each book. 



      So that is my weird book buying habit. Does anyone else have a habit like this? What are your weird book buying habits?

Sunday, December 27, 2015

I'm Looking For Book Blogger Friends

12:00:00 PM
So I have come to the conclusion that I need more book blogger friends. I feel so left out when I see all these close blogger friends and I'm just sitting in the corner watching from afar. Maybe it's because I'm REALLY bad at making friends in real life. I mean, I have one real friend; that's it.

So I have decided to take an initiative to actively search for people I can talk about books and other things with. To help you guys decide whether or not I am worthy of such friendship, I will tell y'all a little bit about me.

Name: Sierra (I totally understand if none of you knew my real name before this post)

Age: 18 (That's right, I can legally vote... as soon as I turn in my voter's registration papers)

Location: United States (I go to a university in Ohio but I'm from Michigan)

Favorite Genres: Young adult (kind of. I have a love hate relationship with it), dystopia, mystery, contemporary sci-fi/fantasy

Favorite Books: Lord of the Rings, Covenant Series, Lux Series, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, Maybe Someday, A Court of Thorns and Roses, The Princess Diaries, Harry Potter, 1984, etc. etc. etc.

Favorite Movies: Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, The Princess Diaries, Marvel Movies, The Parent Trap, Star Trek, so on and so forth

Favorite TV Shows: Supernatural, Sherlock, Vampire Diaries (Seasons 1-6, I stopped watching the current season because I hate the direction the show is going), Teen Wolf, Grey's Anatomy, Doctor Who (everything before the newest doctor, I haven't bothered to catch up to him), Chicago Fire, almost anything on the National Geographic or History Channel, and much more

Favorite Food: Burgers, pizza, french fries, sweet potatoes, crab, lobster, SOUP, this list could go on for decades

Dream Vacation Spot: Greece

Where I Would Like to Live Someday: NYC

What I am Looking For: Someone who I can talk to about books of course, and if they are willing, other things to fangirl over

So now that you guys know a little bit about me, I'd like to get to know some info about y'all, even if you don't really want to be my book blogger friend (which I think you should. I've been told my commentary is pretty golden). Also, thank you all for dealing with my neediness. This might not seem like it means much, but it really does mean a lot to me.


"The Girl Who Was Supposed to Die" Lil' Review

10:00:00 AM

16059396

Book: The Girl Who Was Supposed to Die

Author: April Henry

Publisher: Henry, Holt, and Co.

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: “Take her out back and finish her off.”

She doesn’t know who she is. She doesn’t know where she is, or why. All she knows when she comes to in a ransacked cabin is that there are two men arguing over whether or not to kill her.

And that she must run.

In her riveting style, April Henry crafts a nail-biting thriller involving murder, identity theft, and biological warfare. Follow Cady and Ty (her accidental savior turned companion), as they race against the clock to stay alive.

So I bought myself this book from BookOutlet because it seemed interesting and had a really good rating. Overall, it was a letdown and not at all what I thought the book would be like. I expected a lot more action and more originality. It felt so cliche and typical. Nothing about it was really special and basically everything could be predicted. Also, the situation seemed highly unlikely and just utterly impossible to believe. There is no way in hell that some guy would just go with the fact that people are trying to kill you and help you through thick and thin. I wish the whole biological warfare had been played out more and that there was more action and emotion put into the story. Overall it just felt really cookie cutter. Also the fact that the book ended with the two character kissing kind of made me angry too. Probably the best thing about this book was I was able to read it really quickly in less than a day.

Saturday, December 26, 2015

"My True Love Gave to Me" Review

12:23:00 PM

20309175

Book: My True Love Gave to Me

Author: Various

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year's there's something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love. 

      To be honest, I came into this book with very low expectations. I had heard primarily negative/okay reviews for this book and by the time I started it, I really didn't want to read it, but alas, I pushed myself through it. There were a few good stories, but overall they were not that good.

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell | 2.5/5 Stars
This was such a disappointment for a Rainbow Rowell story. I really liked Fangirl as well as Eleanor and Park so I went into this one thinking I would like it a well. Honestly, it was hard to follow and I didn't care for the characters or situation. This story was almost like a getting out of the friend-zone story and it was not my cup of tea.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link | 2/5 Stars
I don't even know what to think of this story. Most of the time I didn't know what was going on and whether this was real or a dream or something. The ending was so just unbelievable and just weird.

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena | 3/5 Stars
This could have been a good story but it was just odd to me. The whole story just didn't grab my interest and the main characters were kinda blah.

Polaris is Where You'll Find Me by Jenny Han | 3/5 Stars
I have decided that Jenny Han is not my cup of tea and "To All the Boys I've Ever Loved Before" is an anomly and the only book I like from her. This main character was childish and immature just like all of Jenny Han's other characters, and this frustrates. Also the story didn't really make sense. There is no way in hell Santa is adopting some random kid left in his sleigh.

It's a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins | 5/5 Stars
Ahhh, now this, this was a great story. Stephanie Perkins did not disappoint. This is what I wish all the other stories could have been like. I loved the dynamics between the two main love interests and just the sexual buildup was perfect. Also the dialogue between them was on point. This is the type of story you want to read during the holidays.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan | 2/5 Stars
This was just blah really didn't make any sense. I skimmed through it.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black | 2.5/5 Stars
I love Holly Black and this was just a letdown. The magic and story were just meh and it felt really unrealistic and kind of immature.

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth by Gayle Foreman | 4/5 Stars
This was a short, sweet little story. My main problem is who in their right mind would get into a car with a random strange and within hours of knowing that person invite them to your dorm and make out with them? Maybe I just don't trust people like other college students.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire | 5/5 Stars
This was a fantastic story. I have never read anything by this author, but now I plan on doing so. I loved the dynamics and conversations between the main love interests as well as the character development of the main guy. Also the pastor dad was pretty cool and I loved how the religious girl was able to look at the faults in her own religion and recognize them instead of pretending they don't exist. I also really liked the writing style

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White | 4.5/5 Stars
This was extremely cute, though hella unrealistic. Despite this, the main love guy was to die for. I mean he is weird and lovable, the perfect combination. While I didn't really care that much for the actual plot, it was still cute.

Star of Bethlelem by Ally Carter | 2/5 Stars
I'm sorry, I love Ally Carter's spy books, but this was just the most unrealistic load of bullshit. People don't randomly just change places in the middle of the airport and then go with the flow. And the romance was so forced and not at all enjoyable. Honestly, I didn't even give a rat's ass about any of the characters.

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Lani Taylor | 1/5 Stars
I tried to read this all the way, but it was just too damn hard to understand what was going on that I gave up. I didn't like the writing style or basically anything about the story.



Thursday, December 24, 2015

My 2016 Bookish Goals

3:25:00 PM
Somehow 2015 has already almost come and gone. Soon 2016 will be here, and that's kind of terrifying. In 2015, I graduated high school and completed my first semester of college. In 2016, I will finish my first year of college and finish half of my second year. I don't remember time moving this fast in the past.



In 2015, I had my one year book blog anniversary, and honestly, I didn't think this would last one year. The fact that it has, drives me to want to do even more things with this outlet. I have so many plans, but you know, college is still a part of my life, so I need to be a little more realistic.

So today, I'm going to outline some of my basic plans for the upcoming year.



Reading Goals

  • Read 100 books- My reading goal for 2016 is the same as it was for 2015, simply because I don't think I can do anymore than with college, work, and research. Also, this summer I might be doing an internship, so I might not even really have time to read during the summer which is when I usually get the most reading done.
  • Read at least once a week- I know this seems like a pretty easy goal, but with my busy life, I sometimes forget to read.
  • Try to read a book within a month of buying it- There are some books on my shelf that I have had for awhile and still haven't read, so to prevent this from happening more often, I'm going to try to read the book within a month of buying it.
  • Read more adult books- Lately, young adult novels just haven't been cutting it, and to be honest, they are kinda pissing me off. I don't if it's because I have read too many or if I'm just growing out of this genre.
Books I Absolutely Need to Read
  • You by Caroline Kepnes- I started this book in August 2015 and stopped reading it when I started college.
  • Sphinx's Princess by Esther Friesner- Same as the book above
  • Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson- I caved and bought this last month, so I need to read it.
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell- I bought this for my birthday. My birthday was November 6th. I need to read this soon cause it's been over a month.
Blog Goals
  • Post at least twice a week- To be honest, sometimes I forget I have this blog or I become so busy that I can't even think about putting aside time to blog. So I'm gonna aim to blog twice a week, probably Tuesday and Thursday, because those are my least busy days this upcoming semester.
  • Bring back Talk Time- For those of you who don't know, Talk Time was a discussion based post that I did for a grand total of eight times before I stopped in October because I forgot to do them. So I'm probably going to schedule more of these because I love discussion based posts because I feel like I really get to talk with you guys.
  • Post my review within a week of finishing the book- I'm usually pretty good about putting a review up right away, but there are some books where I just don't feel like putting up a review or a wait a hella long time before doing so.
  • Do more posts outside of reviews- If you look at my blog, most of the posts are reviews, which isn't a bad thing because this is a book review blog, but I feel like I need to shake things up more.
  • Do less blog tour stuff- I used to do a lot of blog tour stuff for PR companies, but I've been trimming it down because it just doesn't appeal to me as much anymore.
  • Only get ARCs that I really want- In the beginning I thought get ARCs was so cool and so I tried to get them at every chance, but now I realize that they really aren't that important, and most times I don't even enjoy them that much.
  • Make more contacts in the publishing business- As of late in the year, I've been doing a pretty good job of doing this and I want to continue to foster a good relationship between me and publishing companies.
  • Discover more book blogs to follow and comment on- I need to find more blogs to follow and comment on because I feel like I'm not fully connected with the book blog world.
  • Make more book blogger friends- I really love talking to book bloggers, not only about books but anything really. They are such a great community and I feel like I'm not as tight with people like I've seen some people. So please please please, be my friend! I promise I don't bite.

So those are my goals for 2016. I know it is a lot, but they are really important to me and I really want to accomplish it. What are some of your goals? I would love to hear from all of you.  

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

"Deathcat Sally" by P.S. Brooks GUEST AUTHOR POST + Illustrations

10:00:00 AM

28167738

Book: Deathcat Sally

Author: P.S. Brooks

Publisher: Pegasus Elliot Mackenzie

Page Count: 387 (Paperback)

Synopsis: After seventeen-year-old Sally Rancher knocks over a cat named Zachary, it's only the start of her nightmare.

Trying to help, Sally is hit by a truck. Waking from a coma, she sees that half of Zachary's spirit is fused to her shoulder and he can talk. Able to communicate with animals, Sally finds when she falls asleep or becomes unconscious, both Zachary and her are pulled into No Man's Land – a dark, spine-chilling realm filled with vengeful animal spirits.

As No Man's Land becomes ever more twisted and terrifying, Sally and Zachary become pivotal in solving a mystery that concerns not only them, but all life on the planet.

If only Zachary could keep his mouth shut for more than five seconds, they might have some chance.

Who… or what… is responsible?


GUEST AUTHOR POST


My name is Patrick S. Brooks and I am a children’s illustrator. I’d like to give some background information about my YA novel ‘Deathcat Sally’:

I’ve been drawing since I was a child and studied Art to degree level. In September 2010, I suffered from a nerve injury in my neck which affected my right shoulder, arm and hand. Unable to use my left hand effectively, I could not illustrate. I was prescribed different medications, saw physiotherapists and chiropractors, but remained in agony. I spent time volunteering at the local RSPCA looking after cats for some distraction. On 7th January 2011, I had a particularly lucid dream of a female teacher who knocked over a cat, suffered serious injuries in her upper body after a road accident, and then found that the cat’s talking spirit was fused to her shoulder.

Inspired by the vivid and unusual dream, I started writing and the characters of Sally and Zachary gradually took shape. The moment I began typing Zachary’s dialogue, it almost seemed to write itself. Scenes of their first speaking encounters played through my mind and I found myself enjoying the clash of personalities. I explored the reasons why they were bound together and why they kept being pulled into ‘No Man’s Land’ – a realm of lost animal spirits. The cast of characters grew and eventually (through numerous writers’ groups, proofreaders and editors) the 89,000 word manuscript was finalised in 2015.

The book deals with mental health issues and also insomnia. Some of the book is allegorical – when my nerve injury did not heal and I was left with the prospect of not being able to illustrate again, I had to re-evaluate everything: my beliefs, my life goals and how I was going to adjust. Family loss and the concept of an afterlife is also a theme. While writing this novel, my father died from lung cancer, my grandmother died from septicaemia, and my mother was diagnosed with lymphoma and underwent chemotherapy. Through the most difficult times, I focused on completing this book and much of it was cathartic. Other themes include animal welfare and conservation – both of which are very important to me.

I hope that a broad spectrum of readers will enjoy the book – from young adults upwards. I particularly liked horror films and novels as an older child, but parts of the story could be too dark/intense for readers under 12. As some of the themes are animal welfare and conservation, I would like to think it could raise awareness in young people of these issues. My intent was never to write a lecture or have a forceful agenda, but try to allow readers to see the world from the viewpoint of other creatures, and have them form their own conclusions. It could be a while before I make any kind of personal profit from book royalties, but if I do, I would like to donate to charities I feel strongly about. Initially I have become a sponsor for Cats Protection and would primarily like to continue to support them and raise awareness of their work to others.

It’s taken several years of physiotherapy, chiropractors, the correct combination of neuropathic medications and painkillers to allow me to be able to illustrate again. Despite everything that has happened and is still occurring, I am happy with how the book has turned out. I remain as creative and positive as I can, and most of my children’s illustrations focus on light and the wonder of life around us. Whatever opinion you form about my novel, I hope you will at least understand why I wrote it and what my intentions were. Thank you for taking the time to read this and I really hope you enjoy Deathcat Sally. It is a very personal story, which is in a way a warped snapshot of a tumultuous time in my life.

Author Info

P.S. Brooks is an author and illustrator based in Yorkshire, England. Deathcat Sally is his debut novel - a young adult fantasy/horror. For more information about the themes and ideas of the book, please visit www.psbrooks.com.

Brooks enjoys writing both young adult and adult fantasy as well as science fiction, and is interested in exploring different genres. A graduate in Fine Art, he illustrates in a variety of styles and media, from children's to concept art. He has worked in video games and is inspired by film, spirituality, dreams and nature.


Illustrations
     

Friday, December 18, 2015

"The Girl on the Train" Review

10:00:00 AM

22557272

Book: The Girl on the Train

Author: Paula Hawkins

Publisher: Riverhead Books

My Rating: ★★★1/2

Synopsis: A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

      So this was my university's book club's book of the month for December, although I wasn't actually able to attend the book club meeting because my exams finished early so I booked it (see what I did there???) home as soon as I could the day before the meeting. Nevertheless, I still read the book because there was so much hype surrounding it in the booktube and blogging worlds that it was only about time that I picked it up.

      Honestly, I am disappointed. It wasn't what I thought it was going to be, which was good in some aspects, but not so great in other aspects. I literally guessed who the cheater/murderer was from the very beginning. There was one second where I thought I was wrong, but that quickly went away. I'm starting to notice that more and more often nothing surprises me anymore. I don't know if that means I just have great instincts on me or if I have read way to many books resulting in nothing really impressing or surprising me anymore.

      One thing did surprise me however, and that was the multiple POVs; I didn't realize that was going to be in this book. If I'm being frank, I didn't really like any of the characters. Rachel was a wuss who needed to get her act together and was being unreasonable for no damn reason. Maybe I'm a heartless bitch, but not being able to get pregnant and having your husband leave you shouldn't be the end of the world. You should not let it compromise how you live your life. Maybe I'm just stronger than she is, but she was pathetic until the end, which is the only time when I really started to like her because she was getting her shit together. Anna... Anna was a crazy mother and wife. There is nothing more to say about her. She obviously has some extreme self-esteem issues with the way she behaved. And also, there was one moment where I really hated her because she said she loved being a mistress and missed it. It makes me sick that there are people like this in the world. Why do they feel the need to screw up other peoples' lives? There are PLENTY of other fish in the sea. As for Megan... she clearly had a lot of issues and made the worse possible life choices.

      When it came to the actual writing, nothing about it was really special or captivating. It didn't draw me in and make me want to continue reading. Honestly, this book took me forever to read not just because of school but it was a type of book where when I set it down, I didn't feel guilty for not reading it. Also, although it was set in London, it didn't really feel like it. I felt like this could have taken place anywhere.

      Overall, the book was okay. I liked it. I didn't love it, I didn't hate it, just liked it. And that seems t be my issue with a lot of books lately; I'm just liking them. Maybe I need to spread my wings and read some new stuff. I don't know. I think you guys should give it a shot because I feel like you maybe won't be as critical as me and guessing the killer will be a little harder than it was for me.

Thursday, December 17, 2015

"Thief of Lies" Book Blitz

8:00:00 AM
Displaying ThiefOfLies-ExcerptTourBanner.jpgDisplaying ThiefOfLies-ExcerptTourBanner.jpg

Title: Thief of Lies (Library Jumpers, #1)

Release Date:  1/5/16

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Author: Brenda Drake

Synopsis: Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, suddenly disappears. While examining the book of world libraries he abandoned, Gia unwittingly speaks the key that sucks her and her friends into a photograph and transports them into a Paris library, where Arik and his Sentinels—magical knights charged with protecting humans from the creatures traveling across the gateway books—rescue them from a demonic hound.

Jumping into some of the world's most beautiful libraries would be a dream come true for Gia, if she weren’t busy resisting her heart or dodging an exiled wizard seeking revenge on both the Mystik and human worlds. Add a French flirt obsessed with Arik and a fling with a young wizard, and Gia must choose between her heart and her head, between Arik's world and her own, before both are destroyed.


EXCERPT
I pressed the screen, and it went dark. “How do we know he’s not being forced to say this?”
“The password, May Agnes guide you,” Lei replied. “She’s the patron saint of Asile.”
Agnes? That was the silver woman’s name that formed from my globe. Did the saints have something to do with the Chiavi?
I faced Ricardo. “How did you know I was here?”
“The werehounds tracked your scent from a shirt Katy…excuse me, your nana…gave us.”
“Can your pack help us save Couve?” Arik asked him.
“They will, but Gia must go with me.” He noticed the protest forming on my lips. “Merlin said no exceptions. I’m to get you to the shelter.”
From the corridor came yells, scuffles, and the continual wail of the warning siren.
“I can’t go with you,” I said. “I have to fight with them.”
“She can’t fight with us,” Lei said, glancing at the door. “She almost killed Kale.”
I turned to Sinead. “You know what I can do.”
Sinead gave me a pity smile. “Yes, but you have no control over it. Let Ricardo take you to your father and friends.”
I thought of Kale lying motionless, near death, and I hated that she was right. As much as I wanted to stay, I might be more hindrance than help. I caved. “Okay,” I said, defeated. Lei flew out of the room with the Laniars on her heels.
Sinead hugged me, then rushed after them. Arik moved over to me and cupped my face gently in his hands. His eyes held the intensity that always drew me to him.
I swallowed my breath in anticipation. All the sounds around us went silent.
He bent and lightly brushed my lips with a kiss. His lips were soft and oh, so tender. Butterflies swooped and curled inside me, and it felt like the ground disappeared from beneath my feet. He pulled back a little and said, “Regardless of the fact that you’re a royal pain in the arse, I fancy you. Listen to Ricardo and don’t do anything rash.”
He gave me another kiss and rushed out the door. My heart twisted in my chest as he disappeared. I touched my mouth and exhaled. He liked me. It was against the laws, but he told me he fancied me. Maybe we had no future, but we had now.
“What a sweet display,” Ricardo said, dragging me out of my haze. “I’m not one for rules or laws, but I’d be careful there. The punishment would be much worse for him than you.”
“Why?” I stared at the door as if I’d see Arik there.
“He’s a leader. He knows better.” Ricardo headed to the window. “Are you ready to fly?”
“Did you say fly?”

About the Author
Brenda Drake, the youngest of three children, grew up an Air Force brat and the continual new kid at school. Her fondest memories growing up is of her eccentric, Irish grandmother’s animated tales, which gave her a strong love for storytelling. So it was only fitting that she would choose to write stories with a bend toward the fantastical. When Brenda’s not writing or doing the social media thing, she’s haunting libraries, bookstores, and coffee shops or reading someplace quiet and not at all exotic (much to her disappointment).

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

"The Crow Box " by Nikki Rae COVER REVEAL

8:00:00 AM
Book: The Crow Box (The Shadow & Ink Series, Book One)

Author: Nikki Rae

Release Date: January 25, 2016

Synopsis: The small wooden box is dirty, the size of a human fist, and sealed with wax. When Corbin takes it upon herself to clean it and break the seal, a voice she has tried to ignore gathers strength. Shadows play on the walls at night, and with a family history of mental illness, Corbin fears the worst. But the voice tells her it is real. That its name is Six and it will prove it in time. 

Drawn to this mysterious entity, Corbin isn't sure what to believe and the line between reality and her imagination blurs more every day.

Some doors should not be opened; can this one be closed?

Displaying The crow box cover 1.png
Displaying The crow box cover 1.png

*Real talk though, this cover is AMAZING!!!!!*
Displaying The crow box cover 1.png

Thursday, December 3, 2015

November 2015 Wrap Up

10:00:00 AM
I cannot believe that it is already December. This year has gone by incredibly fast. It feels like yesterday I was just graduating high school, and now I'm finishing up my first semester of college! :O It's kinda scary to be honest. I feel like life is moving by so fast, which is a good thing in one sense because I'm one step closer to becoming an orthopedic surgeon, something that I know will make me incredibly happy, yet at the same time it is scary being thrown until adulthood. At the beginning of this month I turned 18, so legally I am an adult, but I don't feel like an adult. There are times I wish life would speed up, but there are also moments where I just want it to slow down, almost freeze, and let me just read and soak in the world.


Reading wise, November was not a good month, and that is perfectly okay. College, as the usual excuse, was part of the excuse, but not all of it. I promised to read a lot over Thanksgiving Break, but my best friend in the entire world, Neesha, rode all the way to where I am in a Greyhound bus in order to stay with my for the break here at college. That is dedication. So you best believe I spent ever second she was here enjoying time with her. I got a little bit of reading done while she was here cause she likes to read too, but we spend time doing more things, like exploring downtown and of course going to Barnes & Noble.


This next I will more than likely get absolutely no writing done because final exams are next week, but after next week, I am going to read so much, you best believe it. Next Friday I go home for Winter Break and I basically get a month of to read. I plan on using this time to fulfill my Goodreads goal of 100 books and to start and maybe finish some series I'm interested in reading.


Sorry this post is so long and has a lot of writing. To all of you who actually read it all, thank you so much. It really means the world to me to know that there are people out there who care enough to listen to me ramble on the Internet. So without further ado, I bring you my wrap up.

Total Books Read: 3

Physical books: 1
Ebooks: 2

Books for Review: 2
Books for School: 0
Books for Pleasure: 1

Books for Review:
Placebo Junkies ★★★★ |review|
Rules of Seduction ★★★1/2 |review|

Books for Pleasure:
Soundless (read for 4CornersBC) ★★|book talk|

Favorite Book:
Without a doubt, Placebo Junkies. I really enjoyed this book. The writing style, the main character, the twists, humor, messages, contrast between light and twisted, all of it. It was truly a good read that I think you all should pick up.


Least Favorite Book:
Soundless by Richelle Mead was horrible. Absolute shit. I'm thoroughly disappointed in Richelle Mead. I am so disgusted with this book that I'm not even going to write a review. If you want to hear my thoughts, you have to watch the book talk.


How was November for you guys? Get a lot of reading done? Little bit? Did you participate in NanoWrimo? (I tried, failed, but got some writing done, which I can live with) I want to hear all about your month.

*P.S. I just want to let you guys know I am always hear to talk, whether it be by email, Twitter, Goodreads, etc. I know how important it is to have someone to talk to, to want feel like you belong, so feel free to always contact me.*


Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Audiobooks

10:00:00 AM
So I haven't really listened to many audiobooks. I only really listened to them during winter and summer breaks when I was feeling super lazy. So this list is gonna be real short.

5-2. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling


So I have listened to all but the last couple of Harry Potter books and I love them. I like them all equally, but I have to say, I love the ending of The Prisoner of Azkaban when it comes to the audiobook ending, though Goblet of Fire will forever be my favorite book in the series.

1. Avalon High by Meg Cabot


I don't know what it is about this book and audiobook, but I can read and listen to it over and over again. I think there was a period where I listened to the audiobook like three times in a row during one break. I don't know, I really love this audiobook. The narrator does an excellent job, I feel like I'm in the story, it's exciting, the list goes on and on. This audiobook is amazing.

Honorable Mention


The Princess Diaries audiobooks are pretty damn good too. 

Monday, November 30, 2015

"Velicious: Part Two" Release Day Blitz + GIVEAWAY

8:00:00 AM
Velicious Blog Tour Banner
VELICIOUS PART TWO
Publication Date: December 7th, 2015
Genres: Paranormal Romance
* Velicious Part Two cannot be read as a stand alone.
 
 
amazon

payhip button001
 
Justice Labelle has lost too much in this war of monster and men, and it needs to stop now. After her run in with Erin, which left her lying in a hospital bed, black and bloody blue, Justice is no longer going to sit by and simply accept the twisted hand, that has been dealt. Especially since she now has superhuman powers, all thanks to her being a Doll. Her one and only passion– To get through College and practice law at a top tier firm, is fading from her grasp and its all because of Calvin, Dante, Vampyres and the Government. In fact the government has more secrets than kids have candy… And they’re all just as deadly as the enemies they hunt. But you know what? Justice has come up with her own master plan and heaven help the Vampyre, monster or human that gets in her way!  
add to goodreads[5]
002
 
Promo VelPrt2

Amazon: US| UK|CAN

 

PROMO CODE:

PROMOVELTWO2DAYS

 

VELICIOUS PART ONE FREE!

PROMO CODE:

PROMOVELONE15

CLICK HERE TO RECEIVE YOUR COPY

giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway
   
Image13
Shelique Lize is an awesome mother of two beautiful baby girls, and a wife to the luckiest man on the planet. It took her five years to write Velicious Part One but once her first daughter was born, she decided to revisit the world that she had created. Falling in love with her characters all over again, she wanted to finish their story. Velicious Part Two was written in half the time.
Shelique loves anything to do with the paranormal world. She’s a proud Canadian but dislikes winter. She prefers watching the snow falling beautifully from inside a warm home. The movie Grease is her all time favorite movie. She thinks everyone should still watch Disney movies. Sailor Moon is her favorite anime. Currently she likes to listen to The Weeknd and Lana Del Rey, and she’s pretty open to every other genre of music.
Shelique likes to surround herself with positivity and she enjoys a good meditation. Photography, a Shopaholic, and she’s an Aries.
   

WEBSITEGOODREADS DIAMONDARES

 
Image14

Thursday, November 26, 2015

"Starlight" Excerpt

11:40:00 AM

26470531

Book: Starlight

Author: William Stacey

Page Count: 530

Publisher: Bastard Sword Press

Release Date: August 20, 2015

Synopsis: A secret power. The revival of magic. An ancient evil stirs. 

Twenty-year-old university dropout Cassie Rogan has returned to her small British Columbia home. Tortured by an accident that killed her parents, she drifts, failing life at every turn. When an impossibly localized lightning storm hits the surrounding forest, Cassie discovers her supernatural side. 

After centuries of atrophy, the forces of magic are flowing back into our world, and Cassie can wield arcane powers. Her life seems destined to turn around, until the downside of magic brings everything to a screeching halt. Horrifying mythical beasts now prowl the northern wilderness—including the Basilisk—an enormous eight-legged lizard that can turn its prey to stone. 

Recruited by a secretive agency, Cassie must quickly master her powers to protect mankind. As she develops her skills, a dark power secretly watches from the shadows. The Fae Seelie (a.k.a. the Dark Elves)—humanity's ancient enemy—have returned to settle the score. 

Excerpt
Breathless with anticipation, her pulse racing, Cassie stood with the others in two tightly packed lines facing the entrance to the Jump Tube. Clyde stood next to her, rubbing himself against her leg, shivering and whining in fear. Paco never used a leash, so only Cassie’s reassuring presence kept the dog in place. If he bolted, this mission was going to be over before it began. Reaching down, she stroked his head, telling him everything was going to be all right—telling herself the same.
All of the remaining members of Task Force Devil were with her, a total of twelve soldiers led by Buck and Alex. Cassie stood just behind Elizabeth, so close she was breathing down her neck, as was Clara behind Cassie. She felt like a sardine—or, dressed in battle armor, like a turtle-sardine. Every time she moved, the bottom of the armor caught the skin of her abdomen and pinched it against her belt. Wearing all this kit sucked; being hot and uncomfortable sucked; having to pee sucked. But it was almost time to move. Their GPNVGs lenses were flipped up, but Dr. Simmons had warned them it would be dark when they arrived. No one knew what to expect on the other side, but the Jump Tube always opened in the exact same spot, and no one, including Dr. Simmons, could say why.
Am I really about to travel to another world? Cassie exhaled heavily and rolled her shoulders. It couldn’t possibly be worse than flying.
From her position, she strained to see what was going on. She could just see over Elizabeth’s shoulder, but she was too short to see past the soldier standing in front of Elizabeth. Something was going on. She could hear it, feel it. Energy arced and crackled in front of them as the technicians activated the Gateway Machine. Ahead of her, the Jump Tube now crackled with bolts of electricity, literally snapping in the air. She could smell the ozone burning. God, it’s hot here.
“Get ready,” Buck yelled from up front. “The field is almost strong enough.”
Clyde whined louder, agitated, rubbing so hard against Cassie she thought he might knock her out of line. Clara put her hands on the back of Cassie’s shoulders and told her to do the same to Elizabeth. All down the line, each soldier reached up and grabbed the shoulders of the person in front of them. When Elizabeth touched the shoulders of the soldier in front of her, Cassie saw she held her rosary beads in one hand. She had been praying.
At that moment, the tube flared up, illuminating the cavern in a rapturous blue glow. Just for a second, Cassie saw past the soldiers in front of her. The end of the tube showed the briefest glimmer of a dark jungle with stars shining down from a night sky—and two moons!
This is real. This is happening.
“Move, move, move!” yelled Buck as he ran forward into the Jump Tube. At the same time, all of the soldiers, like a single entity, surged forward. Alex, in the rear, made sure everyone was moving. Elizabeth, not hesitating at all, rushed forward with the others. Surprising herself, Cassie followed right along, glued to Elizabeth’s back. Clyde ran right beside her.
Oh shit, oh shit! This is way worse than flying.
Moments later, she was within the Jump Tube, feeling both exhilarated and terrified. The air throbbed with electrical current and mana—so much mana. Then she realized Elizabeth and the other soldiers in front of her were gone, and she was at the edge of the tube, an alien world opening up before her. Clyde leaped forward, jumping into the darkness, but Cassie hesitated, suddenly frozen with terror, unable to go through with it. Clara, her hands on Cassie’s shoulders, shoved her. Cassie tumbled forward.
Into another world.


Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Books I'm Thankful For

5:42:00 PM
I am so thankful for books. Seriously. Reading helps me keep my sanity. When I really just don't want to be a part of this world, or I want to get loss in another world and be someone else, anyone but who I am, a read. Reading has shaped who I am today.


5. Lux and Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Theses series are funny with badass, sarcastic female characters. When I read these books, I am so happy. I wish I could be strong yet funny as hell like Alex and Katy.


4. The Princess Diaries Series and Avalon High by Meg Cabot
Meg Cabot's books really helped me out while growing up. They taught me it is okay to be different and you don't need to change who you are. I always reread these books if I ever feel like I'm not sure who I am.


3. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
Even though I just discovered this book this year, it has a special place in my heart. I don't know what it is about this story, but it makes me so emotional, and sometimes I need that. Sometimes I need to feel human. Sometimes I need to read something that has a lot of hurt in it but ends up alright in the end because that is what gives me hope.


2. Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan
I am so thankful I discovered these books because if I hadn't I would not be the avid reader I am today. These books taught me to love reading and that there are worlds out there that although they might not be real, reading about them makes them feel real.


1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
This is probably one everyone's list, but it deserves to be. Rowling created a world that makes everyone feel at home, a place where being different wins in the end. This series is my rock and time and time again I come back to it. This series makes me feel special in ways I cannot explain. This series brings about emotions that sometimes I don't have. Whenever I read these books, I feel normal, human. And the magic, oh the magic. This book takes to a better, magical place. I cannot tell you how much I wish magic were real. To have that energy flow through you would be incredible. 

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random