Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Non YA Books

3:57:00 PM
      Now I admit, I struggled with this Top 5 Wednesday. I don't really read Non YA books unless they are for school. I did muster up a list though. So here is my Top 5 Non YA books that I have read this year so far.
 5530930
5. Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd by Holly Black, Cecil Castellucci,   M.T. Anderson, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, John Green, Tracy Lynn, Cynthia and Greg Leitich Smith, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Barry Lyga, Wendy Mass, Garth Nix, Scott Westerfield, Lisa Yee, and Sara Zarr.
Technically this is YA, but technically it isn't. Anyway it is a nice collection of nerd stories.
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
4. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling
I love Mindy Kaling so much and this book was just perfection.
7445
3. The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls
Normally I don't like books I read for school, but I actually enjoyed it.
13765729
2. Abducted by TR Ragan
I love me some mystery thrillers, especially when the main character is a bad ass.
32263
1. The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen
Not only is this a lovely murder mystery, but I really like the TV show "Rizzoli & Isles" which this book is the basis of.

So that is my Top 5 Wednesday. Here is a list of the full participants, so go check out their answers. https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

"Noggin" Review

3:44:00 PM

18049084

Book: Noggin

Author: John Corey Whaley

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition (April 8, 2014)

My Rating:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: Travis Coates has a good head…on someone else’s shoulders. A touching, hilarious, and wholly original coming-of-age story from John Corey Whaley, author of the Printz and Morris Award–winning Where Things Come Back.

Listen—Travis Coates was alive once and then he wasn’t.
Now he’s alive again.
Simple as that.

The in between part is still a little fuzzy, but Travis can tell you that, at some point or another, his head got chopped off and shoved into a freezer in Denver, Colorado. Five years later, it was reattached to some other guy’s body, and well, here he is. Despite all logic, he’s still sixteen, but everything and everyone around him has changed. That includes his bedroom, his parents, his best friend, and his girlfriend. Or maybe she’s not his girlfriend anymore? That’s a bit fuzzy too.

Looks like if the new Travis and the old Travis are ever going to find a way to exist together, there are going to be a few more scars.

Oh well, you only live twice.

      This book was hilarious. Normally I don't read book from male point of views, but this book was an exception. I really enjoyed the humor in this book. There was nothing extremely exceptional about the writing but it was still a really enjoyable book. One thing however that I really found neat was how the last words of the chapter made up the title of the next chapter.
     Now to the actual plot. It really wasn't anything that special. I'm glad Travis was able to rekindle his friendship with Kyle and help Kyle recognize his true feelings. Also I really enjoyed Hatton. Hatton was funny and despite being "not cool" he really made the best out of high school. It really bothered me how immature Travis was when it came to Cate and pining after her. As a sixteen year old myself, I am surrounded by guys my age at school and I have a twin brother. I cannot foresee a guy being that crazy over a girl. I am satisfied with the way the book ended and how Travis came to terms with everything.


Tuesday, September 23, 2014

"The Darkest Minds" Review

7:27:00 PM

10576365

Series: The Darkest Minds

Author: Alexandra Braken

Format: E-book

Page Count: 499

Publisher: Disney Hyperion (December 18, 2012)

My Review:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones.

When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. Now she’s on the run, desperate to find the one safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents.

When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.

      I'm going to warn you guys right now, THIS REVIEW IS GOING TO BE RIDDLED WITH SPOILERS, SO IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK, GO AWAY UNTIL YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK.
     Anyway, what can I say about this book?.... I absolutely loved it! It was funny, twisted, and screwed with my emotions so much. I love the world Braken set up. The government is full of flaws but at the same time all the other options are not flawless either, as is the case with the Children's League and Slip Kid. Also the world building was incredible. She made this brain disease and backed it up with such attention to detail and facts I actually believed it was a legit thing for a moment. And the relationship Ruby and Liam developed was great. She is drawn to him, yet knows she shouldn't be a good thing. When they finally do admit their feelings and kissed, I was so damn happy. On the same tocken, when Ruby takes away Liam's memories, I was screaming and ready to kill Ruby myself. But she did what was best. Now, the friendship Ruby, Liam, Chubs, and Zu had was so great. They were so in tune with one another and really went to great lengths to protect each other. Even Chubs, whose commentary was just so great, opened up to Ruby eventually warmed up to her.
      Now to the specifics:
      I loved how the book started. Right off the bat I could tell there was going to be no sugar coating in this book. Half of her class is dead which just astounded me because what author kills off elementary kids in the beginning of the book? It was perfect though because it starts the world building for this book.
       Now the government in this book... I hate them with every inch of my being. I understand that they are trying to contain a problem, but they went about it the wrong way and tried to capitalize off it which unfortunately, I feel like is something our government could do if the circumstances were right. It made me so sad and angry that the government believed it could do whatever it wanted to these scared children. For instance, they cut the wires on that one girl's braces but left the bracket on... for pete's sake the are braces; she isn't going to kill someone with them. And President Gray... don't get me started on him. I'm surprised the American people allowed him to remain in power.
     The Children's League... I admire what they tried to do, but they went about it the wrong way. And Martin... okay that guy was so creepy and messed up. I know why the government was afraid because of children like him, but I'm willing to bet he became screwed up because of his time at Thurmond.
      The whole Ruby and Liam thing... oh my god I wish I had a love like that. The way he treats her and calls her darlin... he had my hear swooning. Speaking of Liam, he was such a good guy. He had great intentions and looked at the picture which is a characteristic I really admired in him.
      Okay now on to Zu and Chubs. I love how protective Chubs was of Zu. He was like a brother to her, even if he had a funny way of showing it. I was so sad when Zu left. I understand that she found her real family and wanted to be with them, but I though the friendship she formed with the others would be stronger. Chubs, god Chubs was just so entertaining and his comments were golden. 
      Now to Clancy... I had a bad feeling about him from the beginning. I really wanted Clancy to be a good guy, but I just knew that he was too screwed up in the head to be a good guy. 

FAVORITE QUOTES:
      "The question sprung up like a lone weed; ugly and deeply rooted."   -Ruby
      "They had decided that the loss of some was worth the temporary comfort of many."   -Ruby

Overall this book was an A+ for me and I can't wait to continue on with this series.

Monday, September 15, 2014

"Alienated" Book Review

5:04:00 PM

13574417

Series: Alienated

Author: Melissa Landers

Format: E-book

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Disney Hyperion (February 4, 2014)

My Rating:  ★★★★★

SynopsisTwo years ago, the aliens made contact. Now Cara Sweeney is going to be sharing a bathroom with one of them. Handpicked to host the first-ever L'eihr exchange student, Cara thinks her future is set. Not only does she get a free ride to her dream college, she'll have inside information about the mysterious L'eihrs that every journalist would kill for. Cara's blog following is about to skyrocket. Still, Cara isn't sure what to think when she meets Aelyx. Humans and L'eihrs have nearly identical DNA, but cold, infuriatingly brilliant Aelyx couldn't seem more alien. She's certain about one thing though: no human boy is this good-looking. But when Cara's classmates get swept up by anti-L'eihr paranoia, Midtown High School suddenly isn't safe anymore. Threatening notes appear in Cara's locker, and a police officer has to escort her and Aelyx to class. Cara finds support in the last person she expected. She realizes that Aelyx isn't just her only friend; she's fallen hard for him. But Aelyx has been hiding the truth about the purpose of his exchange, and its potentially deadly consequences. Soon Cara will be in for the fight of her life--not just for herself and the boy she loves, but for the future of her planet.

      This book was something special to me. Not only way the romance and the actual plot good, but the social issues it hit was perfect. The book really highlighted the flaws of not only our society but the general idea of all societies. No society is without its flaws. I also loved how it highlighted how the government behaves and the ridiculousness religion can invoke. For instance, Aelyx uses Bible quotes to project a purpose which just goes to show that just because someone uses a quote from the Bible, doesn't mean it has any validity to it. (I mean no offense to anyone, I'm just speaking my opinion.) Anyway apart from the social aspects, the book was also phenomenal. I loved the way Cara and Aelyx's relationship progressed. At first they were pretty offstandish, but then they eventually came to love each other. The same can be said about Aelyx. He really became more "human" and I enjoyed the love and humor he started to develop. One thing I can't get over is how Tori just did a complete 180. How could a best friend completely change themselves like that?
        So overall I really did enjoy this book and I would recommend it.

Saturday, September 13, 2014

"Ugly Love" Review

7:38:00 PM

17788401

Book: Ugly Love

Author: Colleen Hoover

Format: E-book

Pages: 337

Publisher: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc

My Rating:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn't think it's love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past. 
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated. 
Promises get broken. 
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

      So I am pretty new to the New Adult genre, and I've got to say, this was a great book to start me off in the genre. The writing was gorgeous, especially when it was from Miles's point of view. The story itself was so raw and sad, but it all worked out. I felt like it really exemplified the scope of relationships.
      DO NOT READ FROM THIS POINT ONWARD IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK. SPOILERS!!!
      First off, can I just say that Miles's obsession with Rachel is just mind-blowing and enlightening. I always assumed it was just girls that went head over heels for guys, but now I know better. At the same time though, I think Miles's love for Rachel is really unhealthy. I could also tell from the beginning that Rachel and/or the baby died. It was so sad when it was revealed that the baby died. Like I was expecting the death, just not like that.
      I knew from the moment that Tate and Miles first hooked up they would fall in love. It is only natural and predictable that sex would not be enough for the two of them.
      Now Cap... normally I don't like older characters, but he was just so enjoyable. He was like the funny, witty, moral compass. I never would have figured a twenty-something year old female would find a best friend in an eighty year old man.
      In general I like Tate way more than Miles. I get why Miles behaved the way he did sometimes, but he was really just a d*ck towards Tate and I felt like he needed to get his issues together before pursuing Tate. It made me happy when Tate finally gave Miles the ultimatum between sex and more than sex because she deserved to be more than just a pleasure object.
      When the car accident happened and Tate describes their love as ugly, I was overwhelmed with glee at finally understanding the cover and the title.
       One major thing I noticed throughout the entire book is a parallel between Miles and Rachel's relationship and Miles and Tate's relationship. I really enjoy this parallel because it shows how Miles grows emotionally and learns to love.

FAVORITE QUOTES:
      "That's how it is when a person develops an attraction toward someone. He's nowhere, then suddenly he's everywhere, whether out want him to be or not."  -Tate
      "I would infiltrate  his heart and spread myself like a virus."  -Tate
      "If you love me more today than you loved me yesterday, I can't wait for tomorrow."  -Rachel
   
      Overall I enjoyed this book, it was a nice dive into the New Adult genre, and I would definitely
 recommend it.

"Losing It" Review

4:57:00 PM

16034964

Series: Losing It

Author: Cora Carmack

Format: E-book

Page Count: 280

My Rating:  ★★★★

Synopsis: Virginity.

Bliss Edwards is about to graduate from college and still has hers. Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, she decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible—a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half a brain would ever believe.

And as if that weren't embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theater professor.

She'd left him naked in her bed about eight hours earlier. . . .

      So I read this book a couple of days ago and I wasn't going to write a review but I decided, why not. It's not that I didn't like it because I did enjoy it. It's just that there was nothing that really stuck out or that was exceptional. The main character, Bliss, was pretty relatable. She is in drama and is really sarcastic, both things which I can relate too. The plot was pretty predictable, but nevertheless, enjoyable. Now I know this is a New Adult book, but at times I felt like it was a bit too explicit at unnecessary moments.
      Overall it was alright, but I will not be reading the other books in this series.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Top 5 Wednesday: Series I Won't Finish

4:27:00 PM
I typically try to finish series I start. But sometimes there are just series that are either so bad or I just don't feel like continuing. Anyway.... HERE WE GO!!! [P.S. Here is a list to the Top 5 Goodreads group: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday]
5. Vampire Academy
Before you haters come after me. I Love this series. Rose Hathaway is a boss and Dimitri is my man. However I haven't read the last two books. Why you might ask? I just don't want it to end. So I refuse to read them because in my mind that is the equivalence of the series not ending. 
4. Maximum Ride
So I enjoyed Maximum Ride in the beginning but then it just became shit when James Patterson started adding cowriters, but I still read them all. Apparently though there is another book coming out which is weird since I totally thought the series was over. I will not being reading the new book because I just can't even believe it is a thing.
3. The Rizzoli and Isles Series
The series stopped being about the main serial killer so I was done.
2. Vampire Diaries
If you all read my review on Book One, you know why I am not finishing this series. This series is shit. I refuse to recognize this series as canon.
1. The Mortal Instruments
I can see the pitchforks and fires now. I am going to be honest. I hate this series. I don't like the writing style and the plot was stupid and boring to me. I read the first three books and I will not be finishing them.

Well there you have it. Comment below on what you think of my series I won't be finishing.

Monday, September 8, 2014

"We Were Liars" Review

9:03:00 PM

We Were Liars 

Book: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Format: E-book

Page Count: 242

Publisher: Delacorte Press (May 13, 2014)

My Rating:  ★★★★

Synopsis: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

      This book was absolutely wonderful. It was so beautifully written. The prose is amazing and the plot is just mind blowing. This book messed with my psyche and psychologically messed me up so much, but I don't even care. I love it. The metaphors are so excellently written, they shock you when you first read them and you have to go back and read them a couple of times because you're like, "that couldn't have actually happened" until you analyze it and realize it is a metaphor. Just the writing itself, story aside, is amazing. Combine it with such a shifty and psychological plot and the book is the definition of perfection.
      Well that is all I can say without spoiling anything. So if you haven't read this book, PLEASE GO AWAY AND READ IT!!! You will thank me later.
       Now to the real SPOILER deal.
      Right from the start we get such beautifully written prose when Cadence is setting up the story. Like when she states that her dad shot her, I literally thought he shot her until I realized it is a metaphor.
      When we learn Gat has a girlfriend and Cadence starts acting a fool, I was so mad at Gat, I mean, what a selfish bastard. And then she goes and kisses him, like NOOOOO don't be stupid Cadence.
       Cadence's mom.... I hate her. She mistreated Cadence so badly and was really just a selfish bitch. For example when Cadence is crying over Gran, she tells Cadence, "She made me act normal. Because I was. Because I could. She told me to breathe and sit up. And I did what she asked. Again." I mean... what a heartless mother.
      Whenever Cadence was describing the metaphors, I was just so awed by how powerful and beautiful the metaphors were. Lockhart did an excellent job crafting them.
      In general, the family was terrible. But that in itself is a better of how money doesn't necessary equivalent happiness. I found it aweful how the sisters only wanted money and property and Grandad just strung them along cause he liked the feel of power.
      When Bonnie is talking about Cadence's hair and she replies with, "It's okay, I don't actually care what you think, so it's perfectly okay." That made me sooo happy. She really needed to stick up for herself.
       I absolutely loved the little stories Cadence made up about the king and the sisters. I feel like they really helped draw a picture of how aweful the rich can be if they allow money and power to get to them.
      When Cadence first started getting her memories back, I started freaking out cause I could see they were headed in a bad direction. So when she gets all her final memories back, I almost cried because I couldn't believe Mirren, Gat, and Johnny had been ghost/hallucinations or whatever the hell they were the whole time and died in the fire. That mentally f@cked me up. I still can't wrap my head around it.

FAVORITE QUOTES:
    "Silence is a protective coating over pain." -Cadence's mom
    "We should not let the family fall apart. We should not accept an evil we can change. We would stand up against it, would we not? Yes. We should. We would be heroes." -Cadence

      Overall an AMAZING book.


Friday, September 5, 2014

"Love and Other Perishable Items" Review

4:08:00 PM

13572862

Book: Love and Other Perishable Items

Author: Laura Buzo

Format: E-book

Page Count: 256

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers (December 11, 2012)

My Rating:  ★★★

Synopsis: From the moment Amelia sets eyes on Chris, she is a goner. Lost. Sunk. Head over heels infatuated with him. It's problematic, since Chris, 21, is a sophisticated university student, while Amelia, 15, is 15.

Amelia isn't stupid. She knows it's not gonna happen. So she plays it cool around Chris—at least, as cool as she can. Working checkout together at the local supermarket, they strike up a friendship: swapping life stories, bantering about everything from classic books to B movies, and cataloging the many injustices of growing up. As time goes on, Amelia's crush doesn't seem so one-sided anymore. But if Chris likes her back, what then? Can two people in such different places in life really be together?

Through a year of befuddling firsts—first love, first job, first party, and first hangover—debut author Laura Buzo shows how the things that break your heart can still crack you up.

      So I liked this book but it wasn't anything special or exceptional; I can really relate to it is all. Everyone has an unattainable crush that they know will never be theirs for a whole slew of reasons such as a large age gap, they are celebrities, different social circles, etc. That is what makes this book relatable, the concept of trying to get those who should be off limits.
      Now the story itself really wasn't that great and the plot seemed to go nowhere, but the connection to Amelia is very strong.
      One thing I enjoyed about this book is the social issues the book sheds life to, like business hierarchy and feminism.

RELATABLE QUOTES:
      "I wasn't use to boys at all, let alone grown-up ones with university essays to write and incredible charisma. So, so far out of my depth." -Amelia
      "I stare out o classroom window, wondering what he is doing. I imagine him at university, taking lecture notes, hanging out with hi friends at the uni bar, putting in his two cents' worth at the sociology seminar he loves. And, of course, talking to girls. Grown-up girls at university. Girls who can go drinking with him after class. Girl his own age who he could confidently introduce to his family and friends. Girls who know how to dress and wear makeup. Girls who have had sex. Girls w study the same texts as him. Girls who stand a chance in hell."  -Amelia
   [If that isn't relatable, I don't know what is.]
      "If it's worth doing, it's worth doing well."  -Chris

      Overall it was okay.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Top 5 Wednesday: "Top 5 Fictional Schools You'd Want to Attend"

6:07:00 PM
      Sorry it's been awhile since I have posted anything. I have been swamped with homework and school stuff. But I took time out of my busy schedule for this so enjoy!

Image result for schooled anisha lakhani
5. Langdon High School
This elite private school is from "Schooled" by Anisha Lakhani and school there sounds so glamorous and easy and I wish I had that.
852470
4. Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women
School from the "Gallagher Girls" series by Ally Carter. I mean, who doesn't want to train to be a badass spy.
7129468
3. Chadwick School
Elite school in NYC fro "The Daughters" series by Joanna Philbin. What ca I say, I've got a thing for NYC schools.
18660669
2. St. Vladimir's Academy
School from the "Vampire Academy" series by Richelle Mead. Badass vampires and Dimitri. Need I say more?
3
1. Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardy
Obviously from "Harry Potter" by JK Rowling, this school had a huge impact on my childhood and I always dreamed of being whisked away and learning magic. *Sigh* I'm still waiting for my letter.

That was all folks, I hope you enjoyed it!

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random