Saturday, December 13, 2014

"World After" Review

4:30:00 PM

12983100

Series: Penryn & The End of Days

Author: Susan Ee

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 320

Publisher:  Skyscape (November 19, 2013)

My Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what's left of the modern world. When a group of people capture Penryn's sister Paige, thinking she's a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.
Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels' secret plans, where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can't rejoin the angels, can't take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?
   
      Just like the first book, I loved "World After" Penryn was a badass and Raffe was enjoyable per usual. I really didn't enjoy the beginning of the book. It seemed slow to me and because it lacked Raffe I didn't enjoy it. As soon as he came back into the picture, I was happy. For instance, the scene where he carries her while they were flying.... [Be still my beating heart.] I kind of figured Penryn and Paige would develop into more important characters and gain "powers". (I'm 100% Penryn is a prophet of some sort or a warrior.) I really don't like Paige though. She just seems to make everything more difficult. The mom... I kind of enjoy her. She is almost like comedic relief in a sick, twisted way. Per usual, the humans pissed me off. Their lack of loyalty and human like characteristics puzzled me. I really want to know what the end game for the angels is. Why did they start the Apocalypse? Why is Judgement Day so important?
      My favorite moment in this book was watching the couch scene from Raffe/the sword's point of view. My heart swooned so much.

FAVORITE QUOTE:
"Don't talk. You'll just spoil my fantasy of rescuing an innocent damsel in distress as soon as you open your mouth." -Raffe

      Overall the book made me happy and gave me so many feels. I'm pumped for the next one.

Sunday, November 30, 2014

"Angelfall" by Susan Ee

8:04:00 PM

15863832

Series: Penryn & the End of Days

Author: Susan Ee

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Skyscape (August 28, 2012)

Page Count: 283

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: It's been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels' stronghold in San Francisco where she'll risk everything to rescue her sister and he'll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

     This book was on sale in Amazon.com so I decided, why not buy it. My best friend enjoyed it, so I figured I had a chance of enjoying it. Boy did I enjoy it. Anything that deals with angels and the supernatural is great in my book. Add a hint of romance and it is excellent. This book was spellbinding and suspenseful; I couldn't put it down. I read the entire book in one sitting. Penryn is a truly strong and loyal character, something I could never be. Raffe... god I love that guy. He is sarcastic, sassy, intelligent, and hot, absolutely everything I look for an a male character. Also the fact that he is an agnostic angel just tops the whole cake. The conversations between them were great and I enjoyed their chemistry. Now the actual world is a little mysterious with the whole angel fall thing. No one is really sure why the angels are there and I can't wait to learn more about the situation. Onto Paige and the Mom. I guess because I'm not close to my family, I didn't really understand how Penryn could put everything on the line for them. After what happened to Paige, I definitely wouldn't have kept her around. The mom... the mom is an interesting character. I would like to learn more about her and the role she plays in everything because she seems like she is going to be very important. Now the angels... I really don't like the angels, except Raffe, especially after what they did to Raffe. I also really hate Boden. I can't believe how sexist and disgusting he is and the way the camp allows him to behave like that. It is truly revolting. Obi... I honestly don't know if I like him yet as a character, and the twins, well they are cunning and amusing bastards.
SPOILERS
      The end scenes between Raffe and Penryn are my everything. The way he called her beautiful, and then they kissed, and when she was paralyzed the way he got angry and took care of her... ajdfjafi I'm sorry but I just need them to be together.
       I also totally called Raffe being Rapheal. I knew he had to be an archangel. I guess I've watched too much "Supernatural" because I knew the angels and how they would act before they even appeared. 
      I hope the angels all day after taking Raffe's wings and giving him demonic ones. Hopefully he gets his original ones back.
FAVORITE QUOTES:
"Your sense of judgment could use a dash of common sense." -Raffe 

      In general this book made me REALLY happy, I'm excited to read the second book, and if Raffe and Penryn don't get together, I will riot.

Thursday, November 27, 2014

"Shatter Me" Review

3:54:00 PM

13455782

Series: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Format: Paperback

Publisher: HarperCollins (October 2, 2012)

Page Count: 368

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I'm more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

      At first, I didn't want to read this book. But then Whitney from Whitty Novels raves about the "Shatter Me" series all the time so I decided, why not give it a go. Oh my gosh, so worth it. This book is fantastic. Tahereh Mafi creates an realistic and very believable dystopian society. A key theme throughout the book is the act of everything "shattering" and the world feeling like ice. Tahereh beautifully crafts these elements into the story in a way that really grasps your attention. Not only is the story building on point, but the writing style is beautiful. She uses similes and metaphors to beautifully convey everything. My one little problem is that she doesn't write out her numbers, but I guess that is my inner AP Language student freaking out. Man has basically messed up the Earth so much that this group called The Reestablishment is trying to fix it. Well they find this girl, Juliette who's been locked up in an asylum for awhile and who's touch can kill and they want to use her. Juliet is a character I feel really connected to. She's shy and loves to read just like me, however, when the going gets rough, she becomes a tough badass. While her love for Adam is great, I just a little hard to believe they have both loved each other so much since they were little. Then we have Warner... I have conflicted feelings about Warner. I enjoy his character and the sexy evilness he brings to the story, but goddamn he is one crazy mofo. Seriously, his obsession with Juliet is out of this world. I absolutely loved James, and Winston and Kinji. They are funny and refreshing comedic relief. Omega Point seems like it is going to be an interesting new setting.
SPOILERS   
      So when Adam first came into the picture, I thought he was a huge douchebag the way he treated Juliet, though we later learn he did that on purpose, which I can forgive him for. And when I found him and Juliet could touch I was mindblown and so happy. When I found out Juliet and Warner could touch, I was scared for her, yet excited. My feelings for those two are complicated. When they kissed, I was happy yet at the same time I was disgusted... I don't know who to ship.

FAVORITE QUOTE:
"Raindrops are the only reminder that clouds have a heartbeat. That I have one, too."

     Overall, I enjoyed this book so much, it is definitely one of my favorites from this year, and I can't wait to continue reading this series.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

"Never Fade" Review

7:07:00 PM

16150830

Series: The Darkest Minds

Author: Alexandra Braken

Format: Hardback

Publisher: Disney Hyperion (October 15, 2013)

Page Count: 507

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: Ruby never asked for the abilities that almost cost her her life. Now she must call upon them on a daily basis, leading dangerous missions to bring down a corrupt government and breaking into the minds of her enemies. Other kids in the Children''s League call Ruby "Leader", but she knows what she really is: a monster. When Ruby is entrusted with an explosive secret, she must embark on her most dangerous mission yet: leaving the Children''s League behind. Crucial information about the disease that killed most of America''s children—and turned Ruby and the others who lived into feared and hated outcasts—has survived every attempt to destroy it. But the truth is only saved in one place: a flashdrive in the hands of Liam Stewart, the boy Ruby once believed was her future—and who now wouldn''t recognize her. As Ruby sets out across a desperate, lawless country to find Liam—and answers about the catastrophe that has ripped both her life and America apart—she is torn between old friends and the promise she made to serve the League. Ruby will do anything to protect the people she loves. But what if winning the war means losing herself?

      The Darkest Minds is quickly becoming one of my favorite book series. Alexandra Braken has created such an amazing world that really highlights the faults of society and the American government system. This second book made me fall in love with Ruby all over again and the love between Ruby and Liam. They have been through so much, yet they continue to remain strong for themselves and for all of those around them. Ruby as a character also developed a lot from the first book. She is a very strong and independent person who has to make so many difficult decisions, but she takes it all in strides.
SPOILERS
      Starting off, I was really disappointed with Ruby joining the Children's League and wiping Liam's memory. Everything became okay though when Liam got his memories back and I realized the intentions of the Children's League weren't so bad. I was glad that this allowed us to be introduced to her new gang of friends and Cole. Cole seems like a really interesting character with pent up anger. I really like Cole and it confused me so much cause I could see him and Ruby being a thing but I also like Ruby and Liam together.... Oh my conflicted shipper heart. Also the fact that he is a Red just blows my mind. Vida... I hated her with all of my guts in the beginning but she grew on me. Jude... god I loved that innocent and quirky kid. It pained me when he died. However, we saw the old gang including Chubs come back and that made me happy.
      I was so glad to see Rob get killed off. They way he treated and killed those kids was sickening. I cannot believe adults would behave like that towards the children. It is not the children's fault that they are the way they are. And Clancy... oh I'm am so angry he lived. That little shit ruined everything.
      Now that ending, I was so pissed President Gray didn't die and that he bombed LA. That just screwed up everything.
FAVORITE QUOTES:
-"He can have my past, but he's not going to change my future."
-"Oh, I'm sorry apparently the middle of my sentence interrupt the beginning of yours. Do continue."
   
      Overall this book was great, it kept me on my toes, and I can't wait to read the final book.

"The Blood of Olympus" Review

5:36:00 PM

18705209

      Sorry that it has been forever since I have posted anything. School started up and it is my senior year of high school so I have to put my all into this first semester. Anyway, to the review!

Series: The Heroes of Olympus

Author: Rick Riordan

Format: Ebook

Publisher: Disney Hyperion (October 7, 2014)

Page Count: 502

My Rating: ★★★★★

Publisher: Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it "might" be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

So this book... I just can't even. Percy Jackson has been a part of my life since elementary school and I can't believe it is all over. The only nonspoiler thing I can say about this book is that I am happy that everyone is happy and I am sad it is all over.
      THE REST OF THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS BOOK, GET A LIFE AND GO DO SO NOW!
      Starting off, the humor and sarcasm in this book was just so rich and enjoyable. I swear Uncle Rick is the sassiest man on Earth and he just shows it through his characters.
       So we start off with Jason's point of view, and I'm going to be perfectly honest, I'm not a big fan of Jason. He just, I don't know he doesn't sit well with me. He is like the new kid on the block that you don't want to befriend because you hate change. However, I did appreciate the humor he radiated in such a bad situation. When his mom's spirit appeared, I thought for sure he was going to screw everything up, but he didn't and I'm proud of him for that. When he got stabbed, I knew he wasn't going to die because Uncle Rick would never kill and character off so quickly in the beginning. And when Annabeth brought up Luke right after Jason was stabbed... I was just so overwhelmed by feels.
      After Jason's point of view we moved on to Reyna's. Reyna... before this book I hated her with every fiber of my being. But by the end of the book, I loved her so much for how she treated Nico and I respected her. While we are in Reyna's point of view, we learn about all the shit Octavian was up to. Now the only person I hated more than Reyna was Octavian. Seriously, I have never hated a character so much. He is so stupid and I was so damn happy when he died.
      We then moved on to Leo, my baby, one of my favorite characters. No matter what is going on with him, he always maintains such a light-hearted attitude and keeps a nice facade. And the sarcasm that he has is different from the other characters' and I really enjoy it. Leo also always receives the short end of the stick so when he turned out okay in the end, I was jumping for joy.
     On a side note, I loved the pop culture references like to Doctor Who and The Hunger Games. Got to love them.
      Next on the list of point of views was Nico. Nico... Nico is so precious to me. He has been through so much shit and I just love him. In Nico's chapters, Uncle Rick finally references Grover Underwood which made me happy because I wondered for the longest time where that kid went. When Nico brought up Cupid revealing Nico's gayness for Percy, my heart broke a little because it was very obvious that ship would never happen. I'm glad he ended up with Will in the end. Let me just tell you, I ship Will and Nico so much. The chemistry between them was perfect.
      Moving on to Piper... I don't like Piper. Even after reading this book I still don't like her. I have no idea why I don't like Piper, I just don't. Same with Annabeth; I could never get around to liking her. I think it is because when I was a lot younger reading the books, I had a massive crush on Percy, so Annabeth was basically ruining my fictitious ship with him.
      So the book alternated between these people's point of views and stuff happened. When Gaea was released, I was scared shitless, but I knew she wouldn't last long. The fact that the team knocked her and Octavian out at the same time made everything better. And when the gods and the demigods fought the giants together... I thought I was dreaming because it was so epic that I could not fathom that actually happening. At the end of the book, Percy had Annabeth, Hazel had Frank, Jason had Piper, Leo had Calypso, and Nico had Will. I was so happy because all of my people were happy.
      Now the end of the book... Excuse me, but what kind of end to the series was that? I love Leo and all and I'm happy for him, but that was such a cliffhanger ending. The fact that I will never know what happened after that kills me. Oh well, looks like I'll just have to go find some good fanfiction.

P.S. Sorry for my ramblings.      

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Top 5 Wednesday: Terrible Covers

3:59:00 PM
      So I narrowed down to terrible covers from books I've read this year because I could literally write a ten page essay of terrible covers. Here we go!
Insatiable by Meg Cabot
5. Insatiable
This cover is just so awkward and ugly.
Obsidian by Jennifer L. ArmentroutOpposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout
4. The Lux Series
Now this series has had a cover change shown above. The original covers were god awful, and the new cover changes were better, but not by much.
The Awakening by L.J. Smith
3. The Vampire Diaries
So ugly. Just so ugly. Just like the plot....
3393124
2. Maximum Ride
No. Just No.
643283818660669
1. Vampire Academy Series
I love this series, but those covers though... they were bad before the cover change and they were bad after the cover change. I refused to read the books for the longest time because the covers were a turn off.
      I hope you guys enjoyed this Top 5 Wednesday. Check out other peoples' top five terrible book covers. https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Non YA Books

3:57:00 PM
      Now I admit, I struggled with this Top 5 Wednesday. I don't really read Non YA books unless they are for school. I did muster up a list though. So here is my Top 5 Non YA books that I have read this year so far.
 5530930
5. Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd by Holly Black, Cecil Castellucci,   M.T. Anderson, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, John Green, Tracy Lynn, Cynthia and Greg Leitich Smith, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Barry Lyga, Wendy Mass, Garth Nix, Scott Westerfield, Lisa Yee, and Sara Zarr.
Technically this is YA, but technically it isn't. Anyway it is a nice collection of nerd stories.
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
4. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling
I love Mindy Kaling so much and this book was just perfection.
7445
3. The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls
Normally I don't like books I read for school, but I actually enjoyed it.
13765729
2. Abducted by TR Ragan
I love me some mystery thrillers, especially when the main character is a bad ass.
32263
1. The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen
Not only is this a lovely murder mystery, but I really like the TV show "Rizzoli & Isles" which this book is the basis of.

So that is my Top 5 Wednesday. Here is a list of the full participants, so go check out their answers. https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday

"Noggin" Review

3:44:00 PM

18049084

Book: Noggin

Author: John Corey Whaley

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition (April 8, 2014)

My Rating:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: Travis Coates has a good head…on someone else’s shoulders. A touching, hilarious, and wholly original coming-of-age story from John Corey Whaley, author of the Printz and Morris Award–winning Where Things Come Back.

Listen—Travis Coates was alive once and then he wasn’t.
Now he’s alive again.
Simple as that.

The in between part is still a little fuzzy, but Travis can tell you that, at some point or another, his head got chopped off and shoved into a freezer in Denver, Colorado. Five years later, it was reattached to some other guy’s body, and well, here he is. Despite all logic, he’s still sixteen, but everything and everyone around him has changed. That includes his bedroom, his parents, his best friend, and his girlfriend. Or maybe she’s not his girlfriend anymore? That’s a bit fuzzy too.

Looks like if the new Travis and the old Travis are ever going to find a way to exist together, there are going to be a few more scars.

Oh well, you only live twice.

      This book was hilarious. Normally I don't read book from male point of views, but this book was an exception. I really enjoyed the humor in this book. There was nothing extremely exceptional about the writing but it was still a really enjoyable book. One thing however that I really found neat was how the last words of the chapter made up the title of the next chapter.
     Now to the actual plot. It really wasn't anything that special. I'm glad Travis was able to rekindle his friendship with Kyle and help Kyle recognize his true feelings. Also I really enjoyed Hatton. Hatton was funny and despite being "not cool" he really made the best out of high school. It really bothered me how immature Travis was when it came to Cate and pining after her. As a sixteen year old myself, I am surrounded by guys my age at school and I have a twin brother. I cannot foresee a guy being that crazy over a girl. I am satisfied with the way the book ended and how Travis came to terms with everything.


Tuesday, September 23, 2014

"The Darkest Minds" Review

7:27:00 PM

10576365

Series: The Darkest Minds

Author: Alexandra Braken

Format: E-book

Page Count: 499

Publisher: Disney Hyperion (December 18, 2012)

My Review:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones.

When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. Now she’s on the run, desperate to find the one safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents.

When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.

      I'm going to warn you guys right now, THIS REVIEW IS GOING TO BE RIDDLED WITH SPOILERS, SO IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK, GO AWAY UNTIL YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK.
     Anyway, what can I say about this book?.... I absolutely loved it! It was funny, twisted, and screwed with my emotions so much. I love the world Braken set up. The government is full of flaws but at the same time all the other options are not flawless either, as is the case with the Children's League and Slip Kid. Also the world building was incredible. She made this brain disease and backed it up with such attention to detail and facts I actually believed it was a legit thing for a moment. And the relationship Ruby and Liam developed was great. She is drawn to him, yet knows she shouldn't be a good thing. When they finally do admit their feelings and kissed, I was so damn happy. On the same tocken, when Ruby takes away Liam's memories, I was screaming and ready to kill Ruby myself. But she did what was best. Now, the friendship Ruby, Liam, Chubs, and Zu had was so great. They were so in tune with one another and really went to great lengths to protect each other. Even Chubs, whose commentary was just so great, opened up to Ruby eventually warmed up to her.
      Now to the specifics:
      I loved how the book started. Right off the bat I could tell there was going to be no sugar coating in this book. Half of her class is dead which just astounded me because what author kills off elementary kids in the beginning of the book? It was perfect though because it starts the world building for this book.
       Now the government in this book... I hate them with every inch of my being. I understand that they are trying to contain a problem, but they went about it the wrong way and tried to capitalize off it which unfortunately, I feel like is something our government could do if the circumstances were right. It made me so sad and angry that the government believed it could do whatever it wanted to these scared children. For instance, they cut the wires on that one girl's braces but left the bracket on... for pete's sake the are braces; she isn't going to kill someone with them. And President Gray... don't get me started on him. I'm surprised the American people allowed him to remain in power.
     The Children's League... I admire what they tried to do, but they went about it the wrong way. And Martin... okay that guy was so creepy and messed up. I know why the government was afraid because of children like him, but I'm willing to bet he became screwed up because of his time at Thurmond.
      The whole Ruby and Liam thing... oh my god I wish I had a love like that. The way he treats her and calls her darlin... he had my hear swooning. Speaking of Liam, he was such a good guy. He had great intentions and looked at the picture which is a characteristic I really admired in him.
      Okay now on to Zu and Chubs. I love how protective Chubs was of Zu. He was like a brother to her, even if he had a funny way of showing it. I was so sad when Zu left. I understand that she found her real family and wanted to be with them, but I though the friendship she formed with the others would be stronger. Chubs, god Chubs was just so entertaining and his comments were golden. 
      Now to Clancy... I had a bad feeling about him from the beginning. I really wanted Clancy to be a good guy, but I just knew that he was too screwed up in the head to be a good guy. 

FAVORITE QUOTES:
      "The question sprung up like a lone weed; ugly and deeply rooted."   -Ruby
      "They had decided that the loss of some was worth the temporary comfort of many."   -Ruby

Overall this book was an A+ for me and I can't wait to continue on with this series.

Monday, September 15, 2014

"Alienated" Book Review

5:04:00 PM

13574417

Series: Alienated

Author: Melissa Landers

Format: E-book

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Disney Hyperion (February 4, 2014)

My Rating:  ★★★★★

SynopsisTwo years ago, the aliens made contact. Now Cara Sweeney is going to be sharing a bathroom with one of them. Handpicked to host the first-ever L'eihr exchange student, Cara thinks her future is set. Not only does she get a free ride to her dream college, she'll have inside information about the mysterious L'eihrs that every journalist would kill for. Cara's blog following is about to skyrocket. Still, Cara isn't sure what to think when she meets Aelyx. Humans and L'eihrs have nearly identical DNA, but cold, infuriatingly brilliant Aelyx couldn't seem more alien. She's certain about one thing though: no human boy is this good-looking. But when Cara's classmates get swept up by anti-L'eihr paranoia, Midtown High School suddenly isn't safe anymore. Threatening notes appear in Cara's locker, and a police officer has to escort her and Aelyx to class. Cara finds support in the last person she expected. She realizes that Aelyx isn't just her only friend; she's fallen hard for him. But Aelyx has been hiding the truth about the purpose of his exchange, and its potentially deadly consequences. Soon Cara will be in for the fight of her life--not just for herself and the boy she loves, but for the future of her planet.

      This book was something special to me. Not only way the romance and the actual plot good, but the social issues it hit was perfect. The book really highlighted the flaws of not only our society but the general idea of all societies. No society is without its flaws. I also loved how it highlighted how the government behaves and the ridiculousness religion can invoke. For instance, Aelyx uses Bible quotes to project a purpose which just goes to show that just because someone uses a quote from the Bible, doesn't mean it has any validity to it. (I mean no offense to anyone, I'm just speaking my opinion.) Anyway apart from the social aspects, the book was also phenomenal. I loved the way Cara and Aelyx's relationship progressed. At first they were pretty offstandish, but then they eventually came to love each other. The same can be said about Aelyx. He really became more "human" and I enjoyed the love and humor he started to develop. One thing I can't get over is how Tori just did a complete 180. How could a best friend completely change themselves like that?
        So overall I really did enjoy this book and I would recommend it.

Saturday, September 13, 2014

"Ugly Love" Review

7:38:00 PM

17788401

Book: Ugly Love

Author: Colleen Hoover

Format: E-book

Pages: 337

Publisher: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc

My Rating:  ★★★★★

Synopsis: When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn't think it's love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past. 
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated. 
Promises get broken. 
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

      So I am pretty new to the New Adult genre, and I've got to say, this was a great book to start me off in the genre. The writing was gorgeous, especially when it was from Miles's point of view. The story itself was so raw and sad, but it all worked out. I felt like it really exemplified the scope of relationships.
      DO NOT READ FROM THIS POINT ONWARD IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK. SPOILERS!!!
      First off, can I just say that Miles's obsession with Rachel is just mind-blowing and enlightening. I always assumed it was just girls that went head over heels for guys, but now I know better. At the same time though, I think Miles's love for Rachel is really unhealthy. I could also tell from the beginning that Rachel and/or the baby died. It was so sad when it was revealed that the baby died. Like I was expecting the death, just not like that.
      I knew from the moment that Tate and Miles first hooked up they would fall in love. It is only natural and predictable that sex would not be enough for the two of them.
      Now Cap... normally I don't like older characters, but he was just so enjoyable. He was like the funny, witty, moral compass. I never would have figured a twenty-something year old female would find a best friend in an eighty year old man.
      In general I like Tate way more than Miles. I get why Miles behaved the way he did sometimes, but he was really just a d*ck towards Tate and I felt like he needed to get his issues together before pursuing Tate. It made me happy when Tate finally gave Miles the ultimatum between sex and more than sex because she deserved to be more than just a pleasure object.
      When the car accident happened and Tate describes their love as ugly, I was overwhelmed with glee at finally understanding the cover and the title.
       One major thing I noticed throughout the entire book is a parallel between Miles and Rachel's relationship and Miles and Tate's relationship. I really enjoy this parallel because it shows how Miles grows emotionally and learns to love.

FAVORITE QUOTES:
      "That's how it is when a person develops an attraction toward someone. He's nowhere, then suddenly he's everywhere, whether out want him to be or not."  -Tate
      "I would infiltrate  his heart and spread myself like a virus."  -Tate
      "If you love me more today than you loved me yesterday, I can't wait for tomorrow."  -Rachel
   
      Overall I enjoyed this book, it was a nice dive into the New Adult genre, and I would definitely
 recommend it.

"Losing It" Review

4:57:00 PM

16034964

Series: Losing It

Author: Cora Carmack

Format: E-book

Page Count: 280

My Rating:  ★★★★

Synopsis: Virginity.

Bliss Edwards is about to graduate from college and still has hers. Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, she decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible—a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half a brain would ever believe.

And as if that weren't embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theater professor.

She'd left him naked in her bed about eight hours earlier. . . .

      So I read this book a couple of days ago and I wasn't going to write a review but I decided, why not. It's not that I didn't like it because I did enjoy it. It's just that there was nothing that really stuck out or that was exceptional. The main character, Bliss, was pretty relatable. She is in drama and is really sarcastic, both things which I can relate too. The plot was pretty predictable, but nevertheless, enjoyable. Now I know this is a New Adult book, but at times I felt like it was a bit too explicit at unnecessary moments.
      Overall it was alright, but I will not be reading the other books in this series.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Top 5 Wednesday: Series I Won't Finish

4:27:00 PM
I typically try to finish series I start. But sometimes there are just series that are either so bad or I just don't feel like continuing. Anyway.... HERE WE GO!!! [P.S. Here is a list to the Top 5 Goodreads group: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday]
5. Vampire Academy
Before you haters come after me. I Love this series. Rose Hathaway is a boss and Dimitri is my man. However I haven't read the last two books. Why you might ask? I just don't want it to end. So I refuse to read them because in my mind that is the equivalence of the series not ending. 
4. Maximum Ride
So I enjoyed Maximum Ride in the beginning but then it just became shit when James Patterson started adding cowriters, but I still read them all. Apparently though there is another book coming out which is weird since I totally thought the series was over. I will not being reading the new book because I just can't even believe it is a thing.
3. The Rizzoli and Isles Series
The series stopped being about the main serial killer so I was done.
2. Vampire Diaries
If you all read my review on Book One, you know why I am not finishing this series. This series is shit. I refuse to recognize this series as canon.
1. The Mortal Instruments
I can see the pitchforks and fires now. I am going to be honest. I hate this series. I don't like the writing style and the plot was stupid and boring to me. I read the first three books and I will not be finishing them.

Well there you have it. Comment below on what you think of my series I won't be finishing.

Monday, September 8, 2014

"We Were Liars" Review

9:03:00 PM

We Were Liars 

Book: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Format: E-book

Page Count: 242

Publisher: Delacorte Press (May 13, 2014)

My Rating:  ★★★★

Synopsis: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

      This book was absolutely wonderful. It was so beautifully written. The prose is amazing and the plot is just mind blowing. This book messed with my psyche and psychologically messed me up so much, but I don't even care. I love it. The metaphors are so excellently written, they shock you when you first read them and you have to go back and read them a couple of times because you're like, "that couldn't have actually happened" until you analyze it and realize it is a metaphor. Just the writing itself, story aside, is amazing. Combine it with such a shifty and psychological plot and the book is the definition of perfection.
      Well that is all I can say without spoiling anything. So if you haven't read this book, PLEASE GO AWAY AND READ IT!!! You will thank me later.
       Now to the real SPOILER deal.
      Right from the start we get such beautifully written prose when Cadence is setting up the story. Like when she states that her dad shot her, I literally thought he shot her until I realized it is a metaphor.
      When we learn Gat has a girlfriend and Cadence starts acting a fool, I was so mad at Gat, I mean, what a selfish bastard. And then she goes and kisses him, like NOOOOO don't be stupid Cadence.
       Cadence's mom.... I hate her. She mistreated Cadence so badly and was really just a selfish bitch. For example when Cadence is crying over Gran, she tells Cadence, "She made me act normal. Because I was. Because I could. She told me to breathe and sit up. And I did what she asked. Again." I mean... what a heartless mother.
      Whenever Cadence was describing the metaphors, I was just so awed by how powerful and beautiful the metaphors were. Lockhart did an excellent job crafting them.
      In general, the family was terrible. But that in itself is a better of how money doesn't necessary equivalent happiness. I found it aweful how the sisters only wanted money and property and Grandad just strung them along cause he liked the feel of power.
      When Bonnie is talking about Cadence's hair and she replies with, "It's okay, I don't actually care what you think, so it's perfectly okay." That made me sooo happy. She really needed to stick up for herself.
       I absolutely loved the little stories Cadence made up about the king and the sisters. I feel like they really helped draw a picture of how aweful the rich can be if they allow money and power to get to them.
      When Cadence first started getting her memories back, I started freaking out cause I could see they were headed in a bad direction. So when she gets all her final memories back, I almost cried because I couldn't believe Mirren, Gat, and Johnny had been ghost/hallucinations or whatever the hell they were the whole time and died in the fire. That mentally f@cked me up. I still can't wrap my head around it.

FAVORITE QUOTES:
    "Silence is a protective coating over pain." -Cadence's mom
    "We should not let the family fall apart. We should not accept an evil we can change. We would stand up against it, would we not? Yes. We should. We would be heroes." -Cadence

      Overall an AMAZING book.


My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random